Mobile communications are changing our world
An interview with Claudio Beltrametti



Without a mobile phone, Claudio Beltrametti would probably have slept through the birth of his first son. His family of five means everything to him. It’s no wonder then that as the head of the mobile and B2B divisions at telecommunications provider Sunrise, he makes it his personal goal to continuously improve mobile phone technology in Switzerland. Especially with 5G and the Internet of Things, he sees enormous potential for mobile technology in the business segment.

Mr. Beltrametti, is it true you would have slept through your first son’s birth had it not been for your mobile phone?

Our son was in a hurry to come out, and he took my wife and me a bit by surprise. Thanks to our mobile network, my wife was able to wake me up, and I had the chance to hold my little boy that night. That was so important for me. Despite my whole fascination with technology and digitalization, it’s still my family, my wife and three kids, that matters most. Spending time with my loved ones, seeing my kids grow up and trying to instill good values in them is the most important thing for me ever.

Speaking of growing up, do you remember your first mobile phone?

Yes, I do remember, actually – even though from today’s perspective it feels like ancient history. It was a Sony Ericsson T68i. However, the first one that I regularly used was a Nokia 2110. They gave me one during my internship, since we had to be reachable at all times for service and on-call duty. At the time, text messaging was the new form of personal communications and it was really taking off. Oh, and there were the first car phones then, too. My dad had one. It was as big as a suitcase, and it was totally fascinating for us kids, of course. Then everything started to become smaller. The smaller the better! 

Is that what fascinates you the most about mobile technology?

Exactly, the constant change and progress. Mobile technology doesn’t stand still – it’s always offering something new. Number one, it’s a huge opportunity. It gives us completely new ways to work anytime and anywhere. Being able to hold a video conference on a mountaintop, share information with people all around the world in real time, see each other’s screens, who would have thought that was possible just a few years ago? Of course, we run the risk of totally throwing off our work-life balance, of forgetting that there is actually life after work, that it’s necessary to disconnect every now and then. As a father, that’s very important for me as well.

How then will mobile technology change our world and the way we work in the future? As a mobile communications expert, you must have a vision for the future.

Right now, 5G is offering many new and exciting opportunities for business customers. We also have a few market-ready technologies and capabilities for the Internet of Things (IoT). We’ll certainly be seeing some very exciting things being implemented over the coming years in that area. What that means for our jobs and our lives in the long term, no one can say yet. What is certain is that this interconnectedness will lead to some drastic changes – at work and at home. In any case, I’m excited and looking forward to it, even if everyone might not see it that way.

 
 
 

How is Sunrise driving the mobile future?

As the head of B2B Product and Marketing in our Mobile division, it’s my job to continuously drive advancements in technology. This means not only improving our existing services more and more, but also continuously bringing new services to the market. My team is responsible for both. We have the best mobile phone network in Switzerland. On that basis, we also have the most opportunities to integrate new technologies into our offerings and make them available to our business customers in the best way possible. That pays off in terms of pricing as well. From traditional mobile rates to special offers for the employees of our customers and related roaming services, as well as Mobile as a Service (MaaS) with convenient Enterprise Service Management or Enterprise Mobility Management (EMM) and, of course, M2M and IoT. We’re working hard in all these areas.

 

 

Claudio Beltrametti, Head of Mobile
5G "for people"
Play video

Sunrise has the first 5G antenna in Switzerland
Mobile products for businesses
ONE PROVIDER FOR ALL YOUR NEEDS Startup & Entrepreneurs

Our unbeatable special offer for all newly established companies.

UP TO 50 USERS SME standard solutions

Standardized products for small and medium-sized companies.

MORE THAN 50 USER Medium-size and large companies

Custom communications solutions for medium-size and large companies in Switzerland.

Mobilfunk verändert unser Leben
Ein Interview mit Claudio Beltrametti



Die Geburt seines ersten Sohnes hätte Claudio Beltrametti ohne Mobiltelefon wohl verschlafen. Dabei ist seine fünfköpfige Familie das Grösste für ihn. Kein Wunder ist es dem Leiter des Bereichs Mobile und des B2B-Geschäfts beim Telekommunikationsanbieter Sunrise ein persönliches Anliegen, den Schweizer Mobilfunk stetig technologisch voranzutreiben. Vor allem mit 5G und auch dem Internet der Dinge (IoT) sieht er im Businessbereich mobil grosses Potenzial.

Herr Beltrametti, warum hätten Sie denn ohne Mobilfunk die Geburt Ihres ersten Sohnes verschlafen?
Unser Sohn hatte es eilig und meine Frau und mich ein wenig überrumpelt. Dank unserem Mobilfunknetz konnte mich meine Frau aber informieren und ich durfte so mitten in der Nacht meinen Kleinen in die Arme nehmen. Das war sehr wichtig für mich. Denn bei aller Faszination für Technik und die Digitalisierung steht meine Familie mit meiner Frau und meinen drei Kindern zuoberst. Zeit mit meinen Liebsten zu verbringen, zu sehen wie die Kinder aufwachsen und versuchen ihnen gute Werte mitzugeben ist für mich das Grösste.

Apropos aufwachsen, können Sie sich denn noch an Ihr erstes Handy erinnern?
Ja tatsächlich, ich erinnere mich – auch wenn sich das aus heutiger Sicht wie eine urzeitliche Erfahrung anfühlt: Es war ein Sony Ericsson T68i. Das erste, das ich allerdings regelmässig verwendet habe, war ein Nokia 2110. Das wurde mir von meinem Lehrbetrieb zur Verfügung gestellt, weil wir für unsere Service- und Picketdienste immer erreichbar sein mussten. Privat war SMS dazumal die neue Art zu kommunizieren und der absolute Renner. Ach ja und da waren dann auch noch die ersten „Autotelefone“. Mein Vater hatte eines. Das war so gross wie ein Koffer, für uns als Kinder natürlich sehr faszinierend. Dann musste ja erst einmal alles kleiner werden. Je kleiner je besser!  

Ist es das, was sie an der mobilen Technologie so fasziniert?
Genau, der stetige Wandel und der Fortschritt. Die mobile Technologie bleibt nicht stehen und bringt immer wieder Neues mit sich. Zum einen ist das eine Riesenchance. Das bietet ganz neue Möglichkeiten, wir können immer und überall arbeiten. Von einem Berggipfel eine Videokonferenz führen und in Echtzeit mit Leuten auf der ganzen Welt Daten austauschen, unsere Screens teilen, wer hätte das vor ein paar Jahren noch für möglich gehalten? Allerdings: es besteht natürlich auch die Gefahr, dass die Work-Life-Balance aus dem Lot gerät, dass man vergisst, dass es auch ein Leben nach der Arbeit gibt, dass es notwendig ist, auch mal abzuschalten. Das ist mir als Familienvater natürlich auch sehr wichtig.

Wie wird der Mobilfunk denn zukünftig unser Leben und unser Arbeiten verändern? Als Mobilfunkexperte haben Sie hier sicherlich eine Zukunftsvision…
5G wird gerade für Geschäftskunden ganz viele neue und spannende Möglichkeiten bieten. Auch für das Internet der Dinge (IoT) haben wir mittlerweile Technologien und Möglichkeiten, die marktreif sind. Da werden in den nächsten Jahren bestimmt viele spannende Themen umgesetzt. Was das für unser Arbeiten und Leben auf lange Sicht bedeutet, kann derzeit keiner voraussagen. Klar ist aber in jedem Fall: Durch die Vernetzung werden schon einige Dinge sehr verändern - beruflich und privat. Ich jedenfalls bin gespannt und freue mich darauf, auch wenn das wahrscheinlich nicht jeder so sieht.

Wie bringt denn Sunrise die mobile Zukunft auf den Weg?
Als Leiter des B2B- Produkt & Marketing im Bereich Mobile ist es meine Aufgabe, die technische Entwicklung stetig voranzutreiben. Das heisst zum einen, dass wir bestehende Dienste weiter und weiter verbessern und zum anderen, dass wir auch immer wieder ganz neue Services auf den Markt bringen. Beides verantwortet mein Team. Wir haben das beste Mobilfunknetz in der Schweiz. Auf Basis dessen, haben wir also auch die besten Möglichkeiten, neue Technologien in unsere Angebote zu integrieren und sie für unsere Geschäftskunden bestmöglich verfügbar zu machen. Das macht sich auch preislich bezahlt. Von klassischen Mobiltarifen, über Mitarbeiterangebote für die Mitarbeiter unserer Kunden, dazugehörende Roaming Services, aber auch Mobile as Service (MaaS) mit komfortablem Enterprise Service Management oder auch Enterprise Mobility Management (EMM) und natülich auch M2M und IoT.. An all diesen Themen sind wir dran.

Claudio Beltrametti, Head of Mobile
5G "for people"
Video abspielen

Sunrise nimmt erste 5G Antenne in Betrieb
Mobile Produkte für Unternehmen
50% Rabatt Mobil für Startups

Ohne Mindestvertragslaufzeit – jederzeit Abo wechseln!

BIS 50 ABOS Mobilabos für KMU

Mobile Lösungen für KMU – ohne Mindestvertragslaufzeit, jederzeit Tarif wechseln

Ab 50 Abos Mobilabos für Unternehmen

Unsere Pauschaltarife fürs Telefonieren und Surfen im In- und Ausland ab 50 Mobilabos