We are living in an incredibly exciting time
An interview with Eliseo Rodriguez



Eliseo Rodriguez is passionately interested in new technologies, both in his free time and professionally. As Head of Connectivity at the Swiss telecommunications provider Sunrise, his most important task is to make sure Sunrise Business customers benefit from the fascinating possibilities offered by the latest developments right down the line. That is because there are currently many rapid developments concerning location networking.

 

When were you engaged for the first time with networking and what memories do you have from it?

My first experiences in telecommunications and connectivity were with TDM technology (Time Division Multiplexing) and SDH (Synchronous Digital Hierarchy) and ATM technology. ATM is in the meantime in fact completely outdated. Connectivity speeds were much lower than today and the transport was based on static channels that connected point-to-point locations.

We all thought traffic between two points happened in predefined, static, and pre-reserved containers. That is not the case anymore.

Which technologies were in use and what has changed since then?

The migration to packet based networking (switched IP) changed the landscape of solutions available for connectivity, and new technologies took the center stage: IP Routing, MPLS, MPLS-TP and others. In parallel the speed that was made available to the end user increased dramatically with new technologies that evolved and continue to evolve which allow high speed connectivity over copper: ADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+, VDSL, VDSL2, G.Fast; and network architectures that have enabled fiber glass infrastructure becoming available to end users: FTTB, FTTS, FTTH.

An additional technology that has changed the telecom world dramatically is of course mobile. Due to the improvements in available bandwidth and capabilities, this technology plays an increasingly important role within the range of possibilities available for connectivity. 5G will further change this landscape and may even fundamentally change the way we perceive mobile interconnectivity.

When did you specialize in networking and why?

I entered the world of telecommunications in 1999, and it has been an exciting ride. I had the chance to be involved in the development of various products used for networking and access, for example MPLS-TP, ADSL2, and FTTH. This gave me the chance to work closely with telco operators as well as large Enterprise customers building their own private networks.

I have experienced and embraced the development of the technologies that keep us connected and also seen how it has changed our lives. In the last 10 years, the possibilities in telecommunications have exploded – and I only expect them to develop faster and faster. The only constant is change. Because I am also a technology fan, the rapid pace of technologies in this market has kept things super interesting.

Why have I stayed a fan? I just think it is an exciting time to be in the telco world, there is something new everyday, and as far as I can see, it is not about to stop, rather it is just starting.

What fascinates you personally about networking possibilities and evolution?

At the moment the range of new technologies available and their development is truly exciting: the decentralization of services to the cloud, software defined networks, and the dramatic increase of technologies that will bring ultra-high speed of connectivity to end users, plus the increasing role of wireless. They will change the way we work, live and enjoy ourselves.

What does it mean for the Sunrise customers? What keeps you occupied at the moment?

At the moment we are in a process of transformation that is critical to keep providing to our customers leading edge technology and best of breed products. We have enlarged our product portfolio with cloud-based services and managed services, which are also integrated, into our processes, and this integration will provide customers with a much faster and much agile way to interact with Sunrise. In addition, SDWAN based services become available as an option to our customers.

We are also leveraging the best mobile network in Switzerland to create new and innovative solutions and creating complementary services for our customers.

What is your vision of the future as far as Connectivity is concerned? Where is it going? What comes after the Cloud?

Cloud based services are already here, and they are here to stay; many more services will migrate to the Cloud. Where do we go from here? Clearly wireless connectivity will become an increasingly important element in the set of options for connectivity. Fiber will continue to be squeezed and more bandwidth will become available to end user. This will enable services like virtual reality, hologram based services, Ultra High definition TV, real time augmented reality, and others still being developed.

But, speed is not all. What will benefit the customers the most in the future will be to have a network that is fully flexible and which automatically adapts to the real time needs of the customers. A network where the customer can decide speed, priorities, and services in real time; and even better, a network that will adapt automatically to customer needs.

Eliseo Rodriguez, Head of Connectivity Products for Business Clients
5G "for people"
Play video

Sunrise has the first 5G antenna in Switzerland
You might also be interested in:
OPTIMALLY CONNECTED Business IP VPN

For secure, private networking of your company locations. A flexible managed service tailored to your individual needs.

FLEXIBLE CONNECTIVITY Business Ethernet Services

The advantages and simplicity of layer 2 net-working according to the guidelines of the Metro Ethernet Forum.

CONNECTIVITY Solutions for location networking

Flexibility to meet all changing needs

Wir leben in einer unglaublich aufregenden Zeit
Ein Interview mit Eliseo Rodriguez



Eliseo Rodriguez brennt für neue Technologien - in seiner Freizeit und beruflich. Als Head of Connectivity beim Schweizer Telekommunikationsanbieter Sunrise ist seine wichtigste Aufgabe: Sich darum kümmern, dass Sunrise­ Businesskunden von den faszinierenden Möglichkeiten neuester Entwicklungen auf der ganzen Linie profitieren. Denn gerade beim Thema Standortvernetzung tut sich derzeit rasant viel.


Wann kamen Sie erstmals mit dem Thema Vernetzung in Berührung und welche Erinnerungen verbinden Sie damit?

Meine ersten Erfahrungen in den Bereichen Telekommunikation und Verbindungstechnik drehten sich um die Technologien TDM (Time Division Multiplexing), SDH (Synchronous Digital Hierarchy) und ATM. Letztere ist inzwischen allerdings völlig überholt. Die Geschwindigkeiten waren noch deutlich niedriger als heute und die Datenübertragung basierte vor allem auf statischen Punkt-zu-Punkt-Verkehrskanälen.

Damals dachten wir alle, dass der Datenverkehr zwischen zwei Punkten in vordefinierten, statischen und vorreservierten Containern vonstatten geht. Das ist nun nicht mehr der Fall.

Welche Technologien waren im Einsatz und was hat sich seitdem verändert?

Die Migration auf paketvermittelte Netze (Switched IP) hat die Landschaft der verfügbaren Konnektivitätslösungen verändert und neue Technologien sind in den Vordergrund gerückt: IP Routing, MPLS, MPLS-TP und weitere. Gleichzeitig haben die für den Endkunden verfügbaren Geschwindigkeiten mit der fortlaufenden Entwicklung neuer Technologien drastisch zugenommen. Eine wichtige Neuerung waren Highspeed-Verbindungen über Kupferkabel, wie ADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+, VDSL, VDSL2 und G.Fast, sowie Glasfasernetzarchitekturen für Endkunden, wie FTTB, FTTS und FTTH.

Eine weitere Innovation, die die Telekommunikationswelt grundlegend verändert hat, ist die Mobiltechnologie. Aufgrund der Verbesserungen bei Bandbreiten und Kapazitäten spielt diese Technologie eine zunehmend wichtige Rolle im Hinblick auf die verfügbaren Anschlussmöglichkeiten. Die 5G-Technologie wird diese Landschaft weiter verändern, möglicherweise sogar unser komplettes bisheriges Verständnis von mobiler Vernetzbarkeit.

Wann haben Sie sich auf Netzwerktechnologie spezialisiert und warum?

Ich bewege mich seit 1999 in der Welt der Telekommunikation und es ist eine extrem interessante Reise. Ich hatte die Chance, an der Entwicklung verschiedener Produkte für Netzwerk- und Zugangstechnik, wie MPLS-TP, ADSL2 und FTTH, mitzuwirken. Dabei konnte ich eng mit Telekommunikationsanbietern sowie grossen Firmenkunden zusammenarbeiten, um diese beim Aufbau privater Netzwerke zu unterstützen.

Ich habe die Entwicklung der Technologien, die uns miteinander vernetzen, persönlich miterlebt und begleitet und auch beobachtet, wie sie unser Leben verändert haben. In den letzten zehn Jahren sind die Möglichkeiten in der Telekommunikation geradezu explodiert – und dürften sich nach meiner Einschätzung immer schneller weiterentwickeln. Die einzige Konstante ist die Veränderung. Da ich auch ein Fan von Technologien bin, empfinde ich die rasante Geschwindigkeit in diesem Markt als äusserst spannend.

Warum ich Fan geblieben bin? Ich finde die Welt der Telekommunikation im Moment einfach unheimlich aufregend. Tagtäglich gibt es neue Entwicklungen, die, soweit ich das beurteilen kann, nicht demnächst enden, sondern gerade erst begonnen haben.

Was fasziniert Sie persönlich an den Möglichkeiten und der Evolution der Netzwerktechnik?

Wir befinden uns gerade in einem Transformationsprozess, der sehr wichtig ist, um unseren Kunden auch in Zukunft führende Technologien und optimale Produkte bieten zu können. Wir haben unser Produktportfolio um cloudbasierte Dienstleistungen und Managed Services erweitert, die auch in unsere eigene Prozesse integriert sind. Diese Integration bietet Kunden viel schnellere und flexiblere Möglichkeiten zur Interaktion mit Sunrise. Darüber hinaus werden unsere Kunden optional von SDWAN-basierten Diensten profitieren.

Ausserdem nutzen wir das beste Mobilnetz in der Schweiz, um neue und innovative Lösungen zu schaffen und ergänzende Dienstleistungen für unsere Kunden zu entwickeln.

Welche Zukunftsvision haben Sie im Hinblick auf Verbindungstechnologien? Wohin bewegt sich die Branche?
Was kommt nach der Cloud?

Cloudbasierte Dienste sind bereits fest etabliert und werden es auch bleiben. Auch viele weitere Dienstleistungen werden sich in die Cloud verlagern. Wohin geht die Reise von hier? Die Drahtloskommunikation wird bei den Möglichkeiten zur Vernetzung eine immer wichtigere Rolle spielen. Die Glasfasertechnologie wird weiter ausgebaut und der Endkunde wird von immer grösseren Bandbreiten profitieren. Dies ermöglicht Dienste wie Virtual Reality, hologrammbasierte Services, Ultra High Definition TV, Augmented Reality in Echtzeit sowie weitere, die sich noch in der Entwicklung befinden.

Aber Geschwindigkeit ist nicht alles. Wovon die Kunden in der Zukunft am meisten profitieren werden, ist ein komplett flexibles Netz, das sich automatisch an die Echtzeitanforderungen der Kunden anpasst. Ein Netz, in dem der Kunde Geschwindigkeit, Prioritäten und Dienste in Echtzeit selbst festlegen kann, und noch besser: ein Netz, das sich automatisch den Bedürfnissen der Kunden anpasst.

Eliseo Rodriguez, Head of Connectivity Products for Business Clients
5G "for people"
Video abspielen

Sunrise nimmt erste 5G Antenne in Betrieb
Was Sie auch interessieren könnte:
OPTIMAL VERBUNDEN Business IP VPN

Die sichere, private Vernetzung Ihrer Firmenstandorte. Ein managed Service, flexibel auf Ihre individuellen Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten.

Flexible Konnektivität Business Ethernet Service

Die Vorteile und Einfachheit einer Layer 2 Vernetzung nach den Empfehlungen der Metro Ethernet Forums.

CONNECTIVITY Lösungen für Standortvernetzung

Flexibilität, um sämtliche Bedürfnisse zu erfüllen