Logistics with 5G – as reliable
as if you delivered it yourself

In supply chain management, security always comes first. Security on all transportation routes, and security regarding shipment-related dates and freight integrity. To satisfy this need, 5G is the number one technological choice. It allows us to seamlessly monitor and control every vehicle carrying freight along set antenna routes – culminating in the self-driving vehicle. For example, trucks can be pooled into convoys and controlled jointly by following the platooning principle. This only works with ultra-low latency, however, since the response time has to be reduced to milliseconds to prevent collisions. Also, automatic controls or operators require real-time location information, which, in turn, will result in more and more precise shipment tracking.

Transmitting and assessing large quantities of data from a variety of machines is an inherent part of the operations performed at logistics centers and transshipment facilities at ports. Time is money in this context. To speed up the data transfer, the existing network is "cut into slices" for everyone. These "network slices" address the specific requirements of one type of use case, such as the loading of cranes. If the economical and thus targeted distribution of goods is at stake, the network must operate quickly and without any failures. This is only possible with the speed and latency a 5G network provides.

Many connections play a role here, including everything from the expansion of local logistics at large transshipment hubs to the logistical connection to the recipient via drones. Just-in-time and automated deliveries can only be achieved reliably with the unbeatable advantages of 5G.

The logistics industry in particular will benefit from the Sunrise "Wired-o-wireless transformation" initiative, as most participants in delivery and distribution processes are generally not tied to specific locations. In addition, a lot of the associated data – for example shipment tracking information – needs to be processed more or less instantly. This in turn requires additional bandwidth with low latency and the accommodation of a larger number of users in a single mobile network cell without any need for landline network services.

In this regard, 5G can offer major benefits to logistics companies when it's accompanied by much faster and much more flexible and cost-effective connections to connectivity services, such as Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) VPNs. This will lead to the creation of a platform for all kinds of business applications, such as unified communications, video, data, and the Internet. The data used on such platforms is protected against access by external parties, even though it's not encrypted. That's because all data is transmitted within a special segment of the provider's own access network, which means it's logically separated from the rest of the network. This is very important in terms of security when a large number of logistics companies operate simultaneously at a highly frequented transshipment site.
 

Use Cases – 5G in real life

Here we are showing you potential applications and scenarios that will convey what 5G will mean for us – in a realistic and practice-oriented way. Join us on our discovery tour!

5G – implementing the world of tomorrow together

We are happy to advise you personally for your optimal business solution.
 

*Note: All fields on this form are required fields

Logistik mit 5G –
so zuverlässig, als hätten Sie es selbst gebracht

 

Im Supply Chain Management steht Sicherheit immer an erster Stelle. Sicherheit auf allen Transportwegen sowie Sicherheit bei Termin und Unversehrtheit der Fracht. Dafür ist 5G die Technik erster Wahl. Damit kann jedes Fahrzeug, das Fracht befördert entlang gesetzter Antennenstrecken lückenlos überwacht und gesteuert werden – bis hin zum autonomen Fahren. Beispielsweise können LKW nach dem Platooning-Prinzip in Konvois zusammengefasst gesteuert werden. Das funktioniert allerdings nur bei minimaler Latenz. Denn um Kollisionen zu vermeiden, muss die Reaktionszeit auf Millisekunden reduziert werden. Dazu brauchen eine automatisierte Steuerung oder ein Operator Standortinformationen in Echtzeit. Was wiederum zu einem immer exakteren Tracking der Lieferung führt.

In Logistikzentren und Umschlagshäfen müssen naturgemäss grosse Datenmenge unterschiedlicher Maschinen bewegt und ausgewertet werden. Hier ist Zeit Geld. Um den Datentransfer zu beschleunigen, wird das vorhandene Netzwerk für alle in «Scheiben geschnitten». Diese «Network Slices» adressieren die spezifischen Anforderungen eines Typs von Anwendungsfällen, wie beispielsweise Verladekräne. Geht es um eine wirtschaftlich effiziente und damit um eine zielgerichtete Verteilung von Gütern, muss das Netz ohne Ausfälle schnell funktionieren. Das ist nur mit der Geschwindigkeit und Latenz eines 5G-Netztes machbar.

Dabei kommen viele Verbindungen ins Spiel. Von der Erweiterung der lokalen Logistik in grossen Umschlagzentren bis hin zur logistischen Anbindung an den Empfänger via Drohne. Eine Lieferung «Just-in-Time» und automatisiert ist zuverlässig nur mit den unschlagbaren Vorteilen von 5G möglich.

Hier profitiert besonders die Logistik-Branche von der Sunrise-Initiative „Wired to Wireless Transformation". Schliesslich sind die meisten Teilnehmer an Liefer- und Verteilungsprozessen standortungebunden. Zudem laufen viele Daten auf, die zeitnah verarbeitet werden müssen, wie beispielsweise bei einer Sendungsverfolgung. Dazu müssen die grosse Bandbreite mit der geringen Latenz und einer höheren Anzahl von Nutzern in einer Mobilfunkzelle kabellos verfügbar sein, also unabhängig von Festnetzservices. 5G wird dann zum echten Vorteil für Logistiker, wenn die damit verbundene, wesentlich schnellere, flexiblere und kostengünstigere Verbindung mit Vernetzungsservices wie Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS)-VPN einhergeht. Dieses Verfahren bietet eine Plattform für sämtliche Unternehmensanwendungen wie Unified Communications, Video, Data und Internet. Die Daten sind dabei – ohne Verschlüsselung – vor einem Zugriff von aussen geschützt. Denn sie werden in einem eigenen Bereich im Zugangsnetz des Anbieters übertragen, und sind so vom restlichen Netz logisch getrennt. Das wird dann sicherheitsrelevant, wenn viele Logistiker an einem stark frequentierten Umschlagsplatz gleichzeitig tätig sind.

 

 

Use Cases – 5G in der Praxis

Hier finden Sie die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten und Einsatzszenarios, die Ihnen verdeutlichen, was uns 5G bringen wird – lebensnah und praxisorientiert. Kommen Sie mit uns auf Entdeckungsreise!

5G – gemeinsam die Welt von morgen umsetzen

Gern beraten wir Sie persönlich für Ihre optimale Business-Lösung.

*Hinweis: Alle Felder des Formulars sind Pflichtfelder