Climate & Environmental Targets

Sunrise sets climate targets for the end of 2022 for both direct and selected indirect climate emissions, and in doing so wants to meet its own responsibility in the area of climate protection.

By switching to 100% renewable electricity in 2016, it has already been possible to make significant savings (approx. 600t CO2 annually) in direct climate emissions (Scope 2).  Now Sunrise would like to go one step further and save a total of 20% (308tCO2) of direct CO2 emissions from 2019 by the end of 2022. This is to be achieved largely through the increased inclusion of e-mobility in the company fleet and the optimization of mobility solutions. The proportion of electric vehicles in the company fleet shall reach 40% by the end of 2022.

In addition, Sunrise wants to save 20% of emissions from commuting by employees and 10% of emissions from business flights by the end of 2022 through a state of the art and innovative mobility and flexible working model.

 
 
Targets

Reduction by end of 2022

Base year 2019 

Direct emissions (Scope 1 & 2) 

Reduction by end of 2022

Base year 2019 

20% reduction of direct CO2 emissions (308t CO2) 
Indirect emissions (Scope 3) 

Reduction by end of 2022

Base year 2019 

20% reduction of CO2 emissions from commuting behaviour of employees (527t CO2)

10% reduction of emissions from business flights (85t CO2)

By defining energy efficiency objectives, Sunrise seeks to make its environmental protection efforts measurable and assessable. The goal is to increase energy efficiency by at least 13.5% (based on 2012 levels) by 2022 as part of the Company’s voluntary efficiency agreement with the Swiss Federal Government. Sunrise has already increased its energy efficiency by 14% in 2019 and will therefore surpass the original target set in 2012.

Klima- & Umweltziele

Sunrise setzt sich Klimaziele für Ende 2022 bei den direkten sowie bei ausgewählten indirekten Klimaemissionen und möchte so der eigenen Verantwortung im Bereich Klimaschutz nachkommen.

Durch den Umstieg auf 100% erneuerbaren Strom im Jahr 2016 konnten bereits massgeblich (ca. 600t CO2 jährlich) Emissionen bei den direkten Klimaemissionen (Scope 2) eingespart werden. Nun möchte Sunrise einen Schritt weiter gehen und bis Ende 2022 insgesamt 20% (308tCO2) der direkten CO2 Emissionen aus dem Jahr 2019 einsparen. Dies soll grösstenteils durch den verstärkten Einbezug von E-Mobilität bei der Betriebsflotte sowie der Optimierung von Mobilitätslösungen erfolgen. Der Anteil der Elektrofahrzeuge in der Betriebsflotte soll dabei bis Ende 2022 40% betragen.

Im Weiteren will Sunrise bis Ende 2022 durch ein modernes und innovatives Mobilitäts-, und flexibles Arbeitsmodell auch insgesamt 20% der Emissionen aus dem Pendlerverhalten der Mitarbeiter, sowie 10% der Emissionen der Geschäftsflüge einsparen.

 
 
Ziele 

Reduktion bis Ende 2022

Basisjahr 2019 

Direkte Emissionen (Scope 1 & 2) 

Reduktion bis Ende 2022

Basisjahr 2019 

20% Reduktion der direkten CO2 Emissionen (308t CO2) 
Indirekte Emissionen (Scope 3) 

Reduktion bis Ende 2022

Basisjahr 2019 

20% Reduktion der CO2 Emissionen aus Pendelverhalten der Mitarbeiter (527t CO2)

10% Reduktion der Emissionen aus Geschäftsflügen (85t CO2) 

Sunrise hat sich auch Umweltziele im Bereich Energieeffizienz gesetzt.  Dabei wird das Ziel verfolgt, die Energieeffizienz im Rahmen der freiwilligen Vereinbarung zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz mit der Schweizer Bundesregierung bis 2022 um mindestens 13,5% (basierend auf den Werten von 2012) zu steigern. Angesichts der Tatsache, dass Sunrise ihre Energieeffizienz im Jahr 2019 bereits um mehr als 14% gesteigert hat, wird sie das ursprüngliche, 2012 festgelegte Ziel übertreffen.