Involvement

In recognition of the valuable contribution and commitment from its employees, in 2020 Sunrise implemented a one-off employee share participation plan (ESPP). This gave all employees the opportunity to become shareholders and co-owners of Sunrise, to share in the success of the company, and to be entitled to dividends and voting rights. By participating in the ESPP, employees either received 15 Sunrise shares for free (option A) or could choose to invest between CHF 1500.– and CHF 12,500.– in Sunrise shares and benefit from a 50% discount on the share purchase price (option B). These Sunrise shares are blocked for a period of three years on allocation and can be neither sold nor transferred during this period.

Employee involvement
As a responsible employer, Sunrise maintains an open and constructive dialogue with representatives of the employee-elected Staff Committee. The Executive Leadership Team and the Employee Relations Manager update Staff Committee members monthly on the company’s development, particularly with regard to any decisions that might impact the workforce. The Staff Committee is also frequently involved in HR department projects as an active participant representing the workforce. The Staff Committee also addresses other topics including issues such as the workplace environment and employee assistance in the event of bilateral conflicts. The Staff Committee collects information from employees and consults with the ELT accordingly. In the event of a reorganization, merger, acquisition or large-scale redundancy program, close collaboration between the Staff Committee and the ELT is essential. The nine members of the Staff Committee are elected for a three-year term, with the current term ending in December 2020.

Employee Survey
In 2019, HR introduced two new employee surveys: “Great Place To Work” and “PulseCheck”

Great Place to Work
The international research and consulting institute Great Place to Work® certified Sunrise as an outstanding employer in August 2019.

The Great Place to Work® certification is based on an anonymous survey of all employees as well as an analysis of the HR and management perspectives. To receive the Great Place to Work® certification, companies must score at least 70% on the evaluation criteria for both parts. This is not just the first time that Sunrise has taken part in the certification program, but Sunrise is also the first Swiss telecommunications company to be awarded this title.
 
Sunrise staff gave their employer top ratings in all five categories: trust, respect, fairness, pride, and team spirit. With an above-average participation rate of 82%, Sunrise achieved a particularly impressive result in the category “Pride”: 88% of employees are proud to work for Sunrise. In total, 87% think that Sunrise is a “Great Place to Work®”. The survey also highlights areas that still need improvement, such as developing the potential and skills of Sunrise employees. Follow-up actions are being implemented across all business units to create an even more attractive workplace.

It should be emphasized in particular that the overall results for the demographic variables indicate a good approach to diversity & inclusion. There are no significant or general differences between the variables of gender, age, tenure, hierarchy, front-back office roles, or education. There are no significant gender-specific differences, particularly in the overall “trust index” of 79%:
 

 

Sunrise PulseCheck Engagement Survey
Sunrise management is keen to collect employee feedback on a regular basis. To this end, Sunrise has carried out regular employee surveys since 2011. In the second half of November 2019, Sunrise replaced the so-called Sunrise Spirit survey (hosted by Gallup) with the PulseCheck survey (hosted by Honestly). PulseCheck is an online survey consisting of a short questionnaire that provides feedback about Sunrise as an employer, its management, and Sunrise as a workplace.

Starting from 2020, the PulseCheck survey is being carried out quarterly in order to match the fast pace of the industry and within Sunrise in particular.

From November 2019 to June 2020, both the participation and the eNPS have increased continuously:

 
When  Participation eNPS 
November  2019 Participation76%  eNPS 56  
March 2020  Participation83,6%  eNPS 68 
June 2020  Participation85,6%  eNPS 70

Beteiligung

Als Anerkennung für den wertvollen Beitrag und das Engagement der Mitarbeitenden platzierte Sunrise 2020 einen einmaligen Mitarbeitenden-Aktienbeteiligungsplan (ESPP). Damit erhielten alle Mitarbeitenden die Möglichkeit, Aktionäre und Miteigentümer von Sunrise zu werden, am Erfolg des Unternehmens teilzuhaben und Dividenden- und Stimmrecht berechtigt zu sein. Mit der Teilnahme am ESPP erhielten die Mitarbeitenden entweder 15 Sunrise-Aktien gratis (Option A) oder investierten einen Betrag zwischen CHF 1'500 und CHF 12'500 in Sunrise-Aktien und profitierten von einem 50%igen Rabatt auf den Aktienkaufpreis (Option B). Diese Sunrise-Aktien wurden bei der Zuteilung für einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren gesperrt und können während dieser Zeit weder verkauft oder übertragen werden. 

Mitwirkung der Mitarbeitenden
Als verantwortungsvolle Arbeitgeberin pflegt Sunrise mit den durch die Mitarbeitenden gewählten Vertretern des Staff Committee einen offenen und konstruktiven Dialog. Monatlich informiert das Executive Leadership Team und der Employee Relations Manager die Delegierten des Staff Committee über den Geschäftsgang und die Entwicklung, insbesondere über strategische Entscheide, die sich auf das Personal auswirken könnten. Das Staff Committee wird zudem oft in Projekten der Personalabteilung als Vetretung der Belegschaft zur aktiven Mitwirkung beigezogen. Das Staff Committee befasst sich ausserdem mit Themen wie der Arbeitsplatzumgebung sowie der Mitarbeiterunterstützung im Falle von bilateralen Konflikten. Das Staff Committee sammelt Informationen von den Mitarbeitenden und berät sich entsprechend mit dem ELT. Sollte es zu einer Reorganisation, einer Fusion, einer Übernahme oder zu Massenentlassungen kommen, ist eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Staff Committee und dem ELT unerlässlich. Die neun Mitglieder des Staff Committee werden für eine Amtszeit von drei Jahren gewählt, wobei die derzeitige Amtsperiode aufgrund einer ausserordentlichen Verlängerung der Amtszeit im Dezember 2020 endet.

Mitarbeitendebefragung
Im Jahr 2019 hat die Personalabteilung zwei neue Mitarbeitendebefragungen eingeführt: Great Place To Work und PulseCheck

Great Place to Work
Das internationale Forschungs- und Beratungsinstitut Great Place to Work® zertifizierte Sunrise im August 2019 als ausgezeichneten Arbeitgeber.

Die Zertifizierung Great Place to Work® basiert einerseits auf der anonymen Befragung aller Mitarbeitenden und andererseits auf der Analyse der HR- und Management-Perspektive. Unternehmen, die bei der Auswertung der Kriterien beider Teile mindestens 70% erreichen, werden als Great Place to Work® zertifiziert. Sunrise hat zum ersten Mal am Zertifizierungsprogramm teilgenommen und wird als erstes Telco-Unternehmen der Schweiz ausgezeichnet.
 
Die Sunrise Mitarbeitenden haben ihre Arbeitgeberin in allen fünf Themenfeldern – Glaubwürdigkeit, Respekt, Fairness, Stolz und Teamgeist – mit Bestnoten bewertet. Mit einer überdurchschnittlichen Teilnahmequote von 82% erreicht Sunrise insbesondere beim Thema Stolz ein ausgezeichnetes Ergebnis: 88% der Mitarbeitenden sind stolz darauf, für Sunrise zu arbeiten. Insgesamt halten 87% der Befragten Sunrise für einen «Great Place to Work®». In der Befragung werden aber auch die Bereiche hervorgehoben, in denen noch Verbesserungsbedarf besteht, wie z. B. die Entwicklung der Potenziale und Fähigkeiten der Sunrise-Mitarbeitenden.

In allen Geschäftsbereichen werden darauf aufbauende Massnahmen ergriffen, um die Attraktivität des Arbeitsplatzes weiter zu steigern. Hervorzuheben ist insbesondere, dass die Gesamtergebnisse für die demographischen Variablen auf einen guten Diversity & Inclusion-Ansatz hindeuten. Es gibt keine signifikanten oder allgemeinen Unterschiede zwischen den Variablen Geschlecht, Alter, Amtszeit, Hierarchie, Front-, Back Office oder Bildung. So zeigen sich insbesondere beim gesamthaften „Trust-Index“ von 79% keine signifikanten geschlechtsspezifischen Unterschiede:

 
 

Sunrise-Engagement-Befragung PulseCheck
Das Sunrise Management holt sich regelmässig Rückmeldungen der Mitarbeitenden ein. Daher führt Sunrise bereits seit 2011 regelmässig Mitarbeiterbefragungen durch. Dabei wurde in der zweiten Novemberhälfte 2019 die sogenannte Sunrise Spirit-Umfrage (durchgeführt von Gallup) durch die PulseCheck-Umfrage (mit dem Provider Honestly) ersetzt. PulseCheck ist eine Online-Befragung mit einem kurzen Fragebogen, der Fragen über Sunrise als Arbeitgeber, die Führungskräfte und Sunrise als Arbeitsplatz enthält.

Die PulseCheck-Umfrage wird ab dem Jahr 2020 quartalsweise durchgeführt, um dem hohen Tempo in der Branche und Sunrise im Besonderen Rechnung zu tragen.

Dabei sind von November 2019 bis Juni 2020 sowohl die Beteiligung als auch der eNPS kontinuierlich gestiegen: 

 
Wann  Beteiligung  eNPS 
November  2019 Beteiligung 76%  eNPS 56  
März 2020  Beteiligung 83,6%  eNPS 68 
Juni 2020  Beteiligung 85,6%  eNPS 70