Training & Development

Sunrise promotes a culture of excellence and strives to continuously improve the services it offers to its customers. The annual goal-setting and evaluation process is an essential results-oriented performance and development tool. Sunrise focuses on business strategy, corporate values and clear management principles to provide guidance and fulfill the company’s commitment to its customers. As part of this, Sunrise encourages management and employees to have regular conversations about personal development.

The Sunrise Personnel and Organizational Development program supports the ongoing development of Sunrise leadership and employees in response to the everchanging challenges they face and environment they work in. Sunrise invests a lot in internal and external training and coaching. Having the right skills in making presentations, negotiations, sales, and technical specialisms is very important as a foundation and in continuing employee professional development. Many topics have been digitalized and are available to employees around the clock through a modern learning management system. Employees should not only have access to a knowledge database but also be intrinsically motivated to learn.

Sunrise also offers special programs for management. For example, so-called team pit stops provide the manager and the team with valuable insights on how management and staff work together. The overall goal is to strengthen cooperation and improve the manager’s leadership skills. Here, too, Sunrise relies on its approach to learning to engage with a topic online and then develop it further through face-to-face training. Enhancing professional presentation skills, improving resilience, leading virtual teams, and communication at the management level form part of the general offering.

In order to be even better prepared for continuous change, Sunrise also decided to invest part of its budget in tailored professional development measures for employees and teams. To further develop its internal workforce and identify employees with high potential (as leaders or experts), Sunrise examined the entire workforce (covering all roles and levels). More than 100 employees were identified as “Top Talents”. Together with their supervisors and HR, each Top Talent designed their own customized development plan and future career trajectory.
 

Internal Training Courses 2019  Number of participants Training hours 
Online Class  Number of participants1'992  Training hours 792 
Test  Number of participants595  Training hours 79 
Video  Number of participants218  Training hours 
Classroom  Number of participants593  Training hours 17'079 
Total  Number of participants3'398  Training hours 17'950 

With 1'700 Sunrise employees, this means an average of over 10 hours of internal training per employee! 

Highest percentage of apprentices among all major telecommunication providers

As a highly engaged and well-known participant in the Swiss apprenticeship market, Sunrise puts great effort into training up-and-coming professionals. Sunrise employs a total of 143 apprentices working towards their Swiss Certificate of Competence (EFZ) qualifications in areas such as retail, customer relations, IT, mediamatics, and sales. In total, apprentices comprise 8.9% of the total full-time workforce, meaning that Sunrise has the highest proportion of apprentices out of all major telecommunication providers.
 
Sunrise considers this part of its societal responsibility while also understanding the importance of systematically developing its own pool of young talent. The retention rate also shows that Sunrise offers its graduate apprentices career prospects beyond their apprenticeships.

All 39 apprentices who completed their apprenticeship in 2019 passed, without exception. Two of the 39 apprentices stood out as the year's best due to their outstanding performance.

Schulung & Entwicklung

Sunrise fördert eine Kultur der Exzellenz und ist bestrebt, die ihren Kunden angebotenen Dienstleistungen laufend zu verbessern. Der jährliche Zielsetzungs- und Evaluierungsprozess ist ein eminent wichtiges, ergebnisorientiertes Führungsinstrument. Dabei legt Sunrise den Schwerpunkt auf die Geschäftsstrategie, die Unternehmenswerte und klare Managementprinzipien, um Orientierung zu bieten und dem Versprechen des Unternehmens an seine Kunden gerecht zu werden. Im Zuge dessen regt Sunrise Führungskräfte und Mitarbeitende zu einem regelmässigen Austausch über die persönliche Entwicklung an.
Im Rahmen ihres Personal- und Organisationsentwicklungsprogramms unterstützt Sunrise Führungskräfte und Mitarbeitende in ihrer kontinuierlichen Entwicklung auch im Zusammenhang mit den sich ständig ändernden Herausforderungen und Rahmenbedingungen.

Sunrise investiert viel in interne und externe Trainings und Coachings. Auftrittskompetenz, Gesprächsführung, Sales- und Fachskills werden als Grundlage und in der kontinuierlichen Weiterentwicklung für Mitarbeiter gross geschrieben. Viele Themen werden digitalisiert und stehen den Mitarbeitenden in einem modernen Learning Management System rund um die Uhr zur Verfügung. Die Mitarbeitenden sollen nicht nur Zugang auf eine Wissensdatenbank haben sondern eben auch intrin-sisch motiviert werden zu lernen.

Sunrise bietet darüber hinaus spezielle Programme für Führungskräfte an. So eröffnen sogenannte Boxenstopps dem Vorgesetzten und dem Team wertvolle Einblicke in das Zusammenspiel von Ma-nagement und Mitarbeitenden. Das übergeordnete Ziel ist die Stärkung der Zusammenarbeit und die Verbesserung der Führungskompetenz des Managers. Auch hier setzen wir auf den Sunrise Lernapproach sich im Selbststudium online in ein Thema einzulesen und danach in Face to Face Trainings weiter zu vertiefen. Auftrittskompetenz, Resilienz, führen von virtuellen Teams oder aber die Kommunikation auf der Führungsebene gehören dabei zu den Standardangeboten.

Um noch besser auf den kontinuierlichen Wandel vorbereitet zu sein, beschloss Sunrise zudem, Budget in massgeschneiderte Entwicklungsmassnahmen für Mitarbeitende und Teams zu investieren. Um die betriebseigene Belegschaft weiterzuentwickeln und Mitarbeitende mit hohem Potenzial zu identifizieren (als Führungskräfte oder Experten), hat Sunrise die gesamte Belegschaft (über alle Funktionen und Ebenen hinweg) überprüft. Dabei wurden über 100 Mitarbeitende als Top-Talente identifiziert. Gemeinsam mit dem Vorgesetzten und der Personalabteilung entwickelte jedes Top-Talent einen massgeschneiderten Entwicklungsplan und einen Karrierepfad für die Zukunft.

 
Interne Trainings 2019  Anzahl Kursteilnehmer  Trainingsstunden 
Online Class  Anzahl Kursteilnehmer 1'992  Trainingsstunden 792 
Test  Anzahl Kursteilnehmer 595  Trainingsstunden 79 
Video  Anzahl Kursteilnehmer 218  Trainingsstunden 
Classroom  Anzahl Kursteilnehmer 593  Trainingsstunden 17'079 
Total  Anzahl Kursteilnehmer 3'398  Trainingsstunden 17'950 

Bei 1'700 Sunrise Mitarbeitende bedeutet dies durchschnittlich über 10 Stunden interne Weiterbildung pro Mitarbeitende! 

Höchste Lernendequote unter allen grossen Telekommunikationsanbietern
Als engagierter und verantwortungsvoller Akteur im Schweizer Berufsbildungsmarkt unternimmt Sunrise grosse Anstrengungen, um zukünftige Fachkräfte auszubilden. Sunrise beschäftigt insgesamt 143 Lernende in den Berufen Detailhandelsfachleute EFZ, Fachleute Kundendialog EFZ, Informatiker EFZ, Mediamatiker EFZ und Kaufleute EFZ. Insgesamt machen die Lernenden 8.9% des gesamten Vollzeit-Personalbestands aus – Damit verfügt Sunrise über die höchste Lehrlingsquote aller grossen Telekommunikationsanbieter.

Sunrise betrachtet dies als Teil ihrer Verantwortung gegenüber der Gesellschaft, ist sich gleichzeitig aber auch der Bedeutung bewusst, die der systematische Aufbau eines Pools von jungen Talenten für das Unternehmen selbst hat. So zeigt auch die Übernahmequote, dass Sunrise ihren Lehrabgängern eine Perspektive für nach der Lehre bieten.

Alle 39 Lernenden, die ihre Ausbildung 2019 abgeschlossen haben, haben ausnahmslos bestanden. Zwei davon gehörten aufgrund ihrer herausragenden Leistungen zu den Besten ihres Jahrgangs.