Helpful tips

Most recently modified:
  • Deactivating or curbing services

    Manage data-intensive applications or turn them off completely. These could include location services and background updates for certain apps. You can deactivate the automatic synchronization of all your apps in your smartphone's settings.

    Anticipatory download scheduling

    Some services offer an offline feature. It allows you to download and store content on your mobile phone in Switzerland in advance, e.g., your Spotify playlist, or a map showing your vacation destination via Navigon.

    Using apps

    Once an app is installed on a hardware device, it often uses less data than a costly Internet search. Therefore, we recommend that you use special apps for regularly used services, such as for local transportation or restaurant information.

  • If you live close to a national border, it is possible that your mobile phone automatically connects to a foreign mobile network, which leads to roaming costs. You can prevent this by manually selecting the Sunrise mobile network.

    For instructions on manual network selection for the most popular mobile phones, smartphones, and tablets, please go to Hardware Support.

    When you travel abroad, we recommend that you switch back to automatic network selection.

  • Go to your mobile phone's settings to block data roaming. 

    For instructions on data roaming deactivation for the most popular mobile phones, smartphones, and tablets, please go to Hardware Support.

  • Sunrise data alert, the multi-level alert system, is activated by default; it protects you from high charges you might otherwise incur as a result of data traffic abroad. We let you know step by step via SMS of your current data costs; this gives you complete control at any time:

    1. SMS when you reach 50% of your limit
    2. SMS when you reach 100% of your limit.
    When you reach 100% the data traffic will be automatically blocked.

    You can set/change your cost limit for data traffic in the Sunrise Roaming Cockpit in the tab “Settings” in the “Roaming Settings” section. To set/change the limit click “Change” in the section “Cost limit for data roaming”. You can change your limit any time.
  • If you lose your mobile phone abroad, block your SIM card immediately in My Sunrise or call our international hotline at +41 58 777 01 01 (charge applies).
  • Turning off your mailbox

    When you are traveling abroad and you receive a message in your mailbox, you pay for the cost of the incoming call and the cost of forwarding it to your mailbox in Switzerland. This is an international standard. When you retrieve your message, you also incur a charge for calling your mailbox in Switzerland.

    Simply turn off your voice mailbox at any time to make sure that you do not incur these costs: #145#
    When you want to turn on your voice mailbox again: *145#

    You can also adjust the settings in the Sunrise Roaming Cockpit in the tab “Settings” in the “Roaming Settings” section. To avoid costs for call forwarding to your mailbox when abroad check the checkmark “Mailbox forwarding”.

    Retrieving mailbox messages

    When you are abroad and want to retrieve your mailbox messages, dial +41 86 076 + the last seven digits of your phone number.

    If you don't get directly to your voice mailbox, but hear your greeting instead, press pound (#), enter your 4-digit mailbox password and press the pound key (#) again. As a precaution, please memorize your mailbox password. In case you forgot your password, press the star key (*). You will receive your password via SMS shortly.

  • As a MTV mobile prepaid customer, you have similar benefits as subscription customers. Here you find our exciting roaming offers.

Were we able to answer your question?

Help us to improve this support page.

Nützliche Tipps

Zuletzt geändert:
  • Dienste deaktivieren oder drosseln

    Regulieren Sie datenintensive Anwendungen oder schalten Sie diese komplett ab. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel Ortungsdienste und Hintergrundaktualisierungen von Apps. Die automatische Synchronisierung aller Apps können Sie in den Einstellungen Ihres Smartphones deaktivieren.

    Vorausschauend downloaden

    Manche Dienste bieten eine Offline-Funktion an. Laden und speichern Sie deshalb Inhalte schon vorab in der Schweiz auf Ihrem Handy, z.B. Ihre Spotify-Playlist oder eine Landeskarte Ihres Urlaubsziels über Navigon.

    Apps nutzen

    Einmal auf dem Gerät installierte Apps verbrauchen oft weniger Daten als eine aufwendige Suche über den Internetbrowser. Nutzen Sie deshalb für regelmässig benötigte Dienste spezielle Apps, z.B. für den lokalen Nahverkehr oder für Restaurant-Auskünfte.

  • In Grenznähe kann es passieren, dass sich Ihr Handy automatisch mit einem ausländischen Mobilnetz verbindet und dadurch Roamingkosten entstehen. Dies können Sie verhindern indem Sie das Sunrise Mobilnetz manuell auswählen.

    Für die gängigsten Handys, Smartphones und Tablets finden Sie die Anleitung zur manuellen Netzwahl im Hardware Support.

    Wenn Sie ins Ausland reisen, empfehlen wir wieder auf automatische Netzwahl umzustellen.

  • Sie können Datenroaming in den Einstellungen Ihres Handys sperren.

    Für die gängigsten Handys, Smartphones und Tablets finden Sie die Anleitung zur Deaktivierung von Datenroaming im Hardware Support.

  • Sunrise data alert, das mehrstufige Alarmsystem, ist in der Standardeinstellung aktiviert. Es schützt Sie vor hohen Gebühren, die bei Datenverbindungen im Ausland anfallen können. Wir benachrichtigen Sie schrittweise per SMS über den Stand der aufgelaufenen Datengebühren. Damit haben Sie jederzeit die volle Kostenkontrolle:

    1. SMS, wenn Sie 50 % Ihrer Limite erreicht haben
    2. SMS, wenn Sie 100 % Ihrer Limite erreicht haben.
    Wenn 100 % erreicht sind, wird der Datenverkehr automatisch blockiert.

    Sie können die Kostenlimite für den Datenverkehr im Sunrise Roaming Cockpit im Abschnitt «Roaming Einstellungen» auf der Registerkarte «Einstellungen» festlegen bzw. ändern. Um die Limite festzulegen oder zu ändern, tippen Sie im Abschnitt «Kostenschutzlimite für Datenroaming» auf «Ändern». Sie können Ihre Limite jederzeit ändern.
  • Sollte Ihnen Ihr Handy im Ausland abhanden kommen, sperren Sie unverzüglich Ihre SIM Karte in My Sunrise oder rufen Sie unsere internationale Hotline unter +41 58 777 01 01 (kostenpflichtig) an.
  • Sunrise mailbox deaktivieren

    Wenn Sie während Ihrer Auslandreise eine Nachricht auf Ihre mailbox erhalten, tragen Sie die Kosten für den eingehenden Anruf und die Weiterleitung des Anrufs auf Ihre Mailbox in der Schweiz. Das ist internationaler Standard. Wenn Sie Ihre Nachricht abhören, fällt zudem eine Gebühr für den Anruf auf Ihre mailbox in der Schweiz an.

    Um diese Kosten zu vermeiden, können Sie Ihre mailbox jederzeit ganz einfach deaktivieren: #145#
    Um die mailbox wieder zu aktivieren: *145#

    Sie können die Einstellungen auch im Sunrise Roaming Cockpit im Abschnitt «Roaming Einstellungen» auf der Registerkarte «Einstellungen» anpassen. Um Kosten für die Anrufumleitung auf Ihre mailbox bei Auslandreisen zu vermeiden, entfernen Sie das Häkchen beim Punkt «Mailbox-Umleitung».

    Sunrise mailbox abhören

    Um Ihre mailbox im Ausland abzuhören, wählen Sie die Nummer +41 86 076 + die 7 letzten Ziffern Ihrer Telefonnummer.

    Wenn Sie nicht direkt auf Ihre mailbox gelangen, sondern Ihren Begrüssungstext hören, wählen Sie die Rautetaste (#), geben Sie Ihr vierstelliges Mailboxpasswort ein und wählen Sie erneut die Rautetaste (#). Prägen Sie sich vorsichtshalber bitte Ihr mailboxpasswort ein. Sollten Sie Ihr Passwort vergessen haben, wählen Sie Sterntaste (*). Sie erhalten Ihr Passwort in Kürze per SMS.

  • Als MTV mobile Prepaid Kunde geniessen Sie ähnliche Vorteile wie unsere Abokunden. Unsere attraktiven Roaming Angebote finden Sie hier .

Konnten wir Ihre Frage beantworten?

Helfen Sie uns, diese Support-Seite zu verbessern.