We are living in an incredibly exciting time
An interview with Eliseo Rodriguez



Eliseo Rodriguez is passionately interested in new technologies, both in his free time and professionally. As Head of Connectivity at the Swiss telecommunications provider Sunrise, his most important task is to make sure Sunrise Business customers benefit from the fascinating possibilities offered by the latest developments right down the line. That is because there are currently many rapid developments concerning location networking.

 

When were you engaged for the first time with networking and what memories do you have from it?

My first experiences in telecommunications and connectivity were with TDM technology (Time Division Multiplexing) and SDH (Synchronous Digital Hierarchy) and ATM technology. ATM is in the meantime in fact completely outdated. Connectivity speeds were much lower than today and the transport was based on static channels that connected point-to-point locations.

We all thought traffic between two points happened in predefined, static, and pre-reserved containers. That is not the case anymore.

Which technologies were in use and what has changed since then?

The migration to packet based networking (switched IP) changed the landscape of solutions available for connectivity, and new technologies took the center stage: IP Routing, MPLS, MPLS-TP and others. In parallel the speed that was made available to the end user increased dramatically with new technologies that evolved and continue to evolve which allow high speed connectivity over copper: ADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+, VDSL, VDSL2, G.Fast; and network architectures that have enabled fiber glass infrastructure becoming available to end users: FTTB, FTTS, FTTH.

An additional technology that has changed the telecom world dramatically is of course mobile. Due to the improvements in available bandwidth and capabilities, this technology plays an increasingly important role within the range of possibilities available for connectivity. 5G will further change this landscape and may even fundamentally change the way we perceive mobile interconnectivity.

When did you specialize in networking and why?

I entered the world of telecommunications in 1999, and it has been an exciting ride. I had the chance to be involved in the development of various products used for networking and access, for example MPLS-TP, ADSL2, and FTTH. This gave me the chance to work closely with telco operators as well as large Enterprise customers building their own private networks.

I have experienced and embraced the development of the technologies that keep us connected and also seen how it has changed our lives. In the last 10 years, the possibilities in telecommunications have exploded – and I only expect them to develop faster and faster. The only constant is change. Because I am also a technology fan, the rapid pace of technologies in this market has kept things super interesting.

Why have I stayed a fan? I just think it is an exciting time to be in the telco world, there is something new everyday, and as far as I can see, it is not about to stop, rather it is just starting.

What fascinates you personally about networking possibilities and evolution?

At the moment the range of new technologies available and their development is truly exciting: the decentralization of services to the cloud, software defined networks, and the dramatic increase of technologies that will bring ultra-high speed of connectivity to end users, plus the increasing role of wireless. They will change the way we work, live and enjoy ourselves.

What does it mean for the Sunrise customers? What keeps you occupied at the moment?

At the moment we are in a process of transformation that is critical to keep providing to our customers leading edge technology and best of breed products. We have enlarged our product portfolio with cloud-based services and managed services, which are also integrated, into our processes, and this integration will provide customers with a much faster and much agile way to interact with Sunrise. In addition, SDWAN based services become available as an option to our customers.

We are also leveraging the best mobile network in Switzerland to create new and innovative solutions and creating complementary services for our customers.

What is your vision of the future as far as Connectivity is concerned? Where is it going? What comes after the Cloud?

Cloud based services are already here, and they are here to stay; many more services will migrate to the Cloud. Where do we go from here? Clearly wireless connectivity will become an increasingly important element in the set of options for connectivity. Fiber will continue to be squeezed and more bandwidth will become available to end user. This will enable services like virtual reality, hologram based services, Ultra High definition TV, real time augmented reality, and others still being developed.

But, speed is not all. What will benefit the customers the most in the future will be to have a network that is fully flexible and which automatically adapts to the real time needs of the customers. A network where the customer can decide speed, priorities, and services in real time; and even better, a network that will adapt automatically to customer needs.

Eliseo Rodriguez, Head of Connectivity Products for Business Clients
5G "for people"
Play video

Sunrise has the first 5G antenna in Switzerland
You might also be interested in:
OPTIMALLY CONNECTED Business IP VPN

For secure, private networking of your company locations. A flexible managed service tailored to your individual needs.

FLEXIBLE CONNECTIVITY Business Ethernet Services

The advantages and simplicity of layer 2 net-working according to the guidelines of the Metro Ethernet Forum.

CONNECTIVITY Solutions for location networking

Flexibility to meet all changing needs

Nous vivons une époque incroyablement passionnante
Entretien avec Eliseo Rodriguez



Eliseo Rodriguez est fasciné par les nouvelles technologies - aussi bien dans ses loisirs que dans sa vie professionnelle. En tant que Head of Connectivity chez l’opérateur de télécommunication suisse Sunrise, sa tâche la plus importante est de s’assurer que les clients professionnels de Sunrise bénéficient entièrement des possibilités fascinantes des derniers développements. Et avec la mise en réseau des sites, il se passe vraiment beaucoup de choses en ce moment.


Quand avez-vous travaillé pour la première fois avec des réseaux et quels souvenirs en gardez-vous?

J’ai fait mes premières armes dans les domaines des télécommunications et de la connectivité avec les technologies du multiplexage temporel (Time Division Multiplexing, TDM), de la hiérarchie numérique synchrone (Synchronous Digital Hierarchy, SDH) et du mode de transfert asynchrone (Asynchronous Transfer Mode, ATM). Entre-temps, l’ATM s’est retrouvée totalement obsolète. À cette époque, les connexions étaient bien moins rapides qu’aujourd’hui, et la transmission reposait sur des canaux statiques reliant des emplacements de point à point.

Nous pensions tous que le trafic de point à point prenait place dans des conteneurs prédéfinis, statiques et pré-réservés. Ce n’est plus le cas aujourd’hui.

Quelles étaient les technologies utilisées et qu’est-ce qui a changé depuis?

La transition vers les réseaux basés sur la transmission de paquets (commutation d’IP) a modifié le paysage des solutions offertes pour la connectivité, et de nouvelles technologies ont pris le devant de la scène: routing IP, MPLS, MPLS-TP, et bien d’autres encore. Parallèlement, le débit dont l’utilisateur bénéficiait a sensiblement augmenté grâce à de nouvelles technologies qui ont évolué et qui continuent de le faire aujourd’hui. Cette évolution a donné naissance à des connexions cuivre à haut débit comme l’ADSL, l’ADSL2, l'ADSL2+, le VDSL, le VDSL2 et le G.Fast, ainsi qu’à des infrastructures réseau qui ont permis aux utilisateurs finaux d’accéder à des d’installations de fibre optique comme la FTTB, le FTTS et le FTTH.

La technologie mobile s’ajoute aux technologies qui ont sensiblement modifié le paysage des télécommunications. Du fait des améliorations dont elle a bénéficié en matière de bande passante et de capacités, cette technologie joue un rôle de plus en plus important dans les options qui se prêtent à la connectivité. La 5G est amenée à transformer d’autant plus ce paysage, et il se peut même qu’elle modifie fondamentalement la manière dont nous percevons l’interconnectivité des mobiles.

À quel moment vous êtes-vous spécialisé dans le domaine des réseaux et pourquoi?

J’ai fait mon entrée dans le monde des télécommunications en 1999, et l’expérience s’est avérée très intéressante. J’ai eu la chance de participer au développement de différents produits employés dans les réseaux et les accès, notamment le MPLS-TP, l’ADSL2 et le FTTH. Ces expériences m’ont donné l’occasion de travailler étroitement avec des opérateurs de télécommunications ainsi qu’avec des clients d’entreprises développant leur réseau privé.

J’ai connu et accueilli à bras ouverts le développement des technologies qui nous connectent les uns aux autres. J’ai également vu à quel point cette évolution a changé nos vies. Au cours des 10 dernières années, les possibilités en matière de télécommunications se sont décuplées, et je m’attends à ce qu’elles évoluent toujours plus vite. La seule constante, c’est le changement. En tant que fan de technologies, j’ai été très emballé par l’évolution rapide des technologies de ce secteur.

Pourquoi suis-je toujours enthousiaste? Je pense qu’à l’heure actuelle, il est très intéressant de travailler dans le monde des télécommunications, car chaque jour nous apporte quelque chose de nouveau. À mes yeux, ce phénomène est loin de se terminer; ce n’est que le début.

Qu’est-ce qui vous fascine en matière de possibilités et d’évolution réseau?

Actuellement, ce qui m’intéresse vraiment, c’est la variété des nouvelles technologies disponibles ainsi que le développement de celles-ci: la décentralisation des services sur le Cloud, les réseaux à définition logicielle (Software-Defined Networking, SDN), l’augmentation spectaculaire des technologies qui offriront des débits de connectivité ultra-élevés aux utilisateurs finaux, sans compter l’importance croissante que prennent les connexions sans fil. Cette technologie va changer la manière dont nous travaillons, vivons et nous divertissons.

Qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour les clients de Sunrise? Sur quoi travaillez-vous en ce moment?

Nous réalisons actuellement une transformation cruciale qui permettra de continuer à offrir des technologies de pointe ainsi que les meilleurs produits à nos clients. Nous avons élargi notre portefeuille de produits en y ajoutant des services basés sur le Cloud et des services gérés, qui sont également intégrés à nos processus. Cette intégration donnera aux clients un moyen plus rapide et plus agile d’interagir avec Sunrise. De plus, nos clients auront accès à des services basés sur les réseaux SD-WAN.

Nous nous appuyons également sur le meilleur réseau mobile de Suisse pour mettre au point de nouvelles solutions innovantes et pour créer des services complémentaires destinés à nos clients.

Comment voyez-vous l’avenir en ce qui concerne la connectivité? Quelle direction suit-elle? Qu’allons-nous découvrir après le Cloud?

Les services basés sur le Cloud sont là et vont perdurer; de nombreux autres services vont être transférés sur le Cloud. Quelle est l’étape suivante? Les connexions sans fil vont devenir un élément de plus en plus important dans l’ensemble des options de connectivité. Nous allons continuer de rendre la fibre plus dense, et l’utilisateur final bénéficiera d’une plus grande bande passante. Cela ouvrira la voie à des prestations telles que la réalité virtuelle, les services basés sur des hologrammes, la télévision à ultra-haute définition, la réalité augmentée en temps réel et d’autres technologies qui sont encore en cours de développement.

Mais la vitesse n’est pas tout; ce qui sera le plus avantageux pour les clients à l’avenir, c’est de disposer d’un réseau totalement flexible qui s’adapte automatiquement à leurs besoins ponctuels. Un réseau dans lequel les clients pourront, en temps réel, décider du débit, des priorités et des services. Et mieux encore: un réseau qui s’adaptera automatiquement aux besoins du client.

Eliseo Rodriguez, Head of Connectivity Products for Business Clients
5G "for people"
Regarder la vidéo

Sunrise possède la première antenne 5G de Suisse
Ceci pourrait également vous intéresser:
LA CONNEXION OPTIMALE Business IP VPN

La mise en réseau sécurisée et privée de vos sites d’entreprise. Un service géré par Sunrise, flexible et spécifiquement adapté à vos besoins.

LA CONNECTIVITÉ FLEXIBLE Business Ethernet Services

Les avantages et la simplicité d’une mise en ré-seau layer 2 selon les recommandations du Me-tro Ethernet Forum.

CONNECTIVITY Solutions pour la mise en réseau de sites d’entreprise

Une flexibilité qui répond à tous les besoins