Logistics with 5G – as reliable
as if you delivered it yourself

In supply chain management, security always comes first. Security on all transportation routes, and security regarding shipment-related dates and freight integrity. To satisfy this need, 5G is the number one technological choice. It allows us to seamlessly monitor and control every vehicle carrying freight along set antenna routes – culminating in the self-driving vehicle. For example, trucks can be pooled into convoys and controlled jointly by following the platooning principle. This only works with ultra-low latency, however, since the response time has to be reduced to milliseconds to prevent collisions. Also, automatic controls or operators require real-time location information, which, in turn, will result in more and more precise shipment tracking.

Transmitting and assessing large quantities of data from a variety of machines is an inherent part of the operations performed at logistics centers and transshipment facilities at ports. Time is money in this context. To speed up the data transfer, the existing network is "cut into slices" for everyone. These "network slices" address the specific requirements of one type of use case, such as the loading of cranes. If the economical and thus targeted distribution of goods is at stake, the network must operate quickly and without any failures. This is only possible with the speed and latency a 5G network provides.

Many connections play a role here, including everything from the expansion of local logistics at large transshipment hubs to the logistical connection to the recipient via drones. Just-in-time and automated deliveries can only be achieved reliably with the unbeatable advantages of 5G.

The logistics industry in particular will benefit from the Sunrise "Wired-o-wireless transformation" initiative, as most participants in delivery and distribution processes are generally not tied to specific locations. In addition, a lot of the associated data – for example shipment tracking information – needs to be processed more or less instantly. This in turn requires additional bandwidth with low latency and the accommodation of a larger number of users in a single mobile network cell without any need for landline network services.

In this regard, 5G can offer major benefits to logistics companies when it's accompanied by much faster and much more flexible and cost-effective connections to connectivity services, such as Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) VPNs. This will lead to the creation of a platform for all kinds of business applications, such as unified communications, video, data, and the Internet. The data used on such platforms is protected against access by external parties, even though it's not encrypted. That's because all data is transmitted within a special segment of the provider's own access network, which means it's logically separated from the rest of the network. This is very important in terms of security when a large number of logistics companies operate simultaneously at a highly frequented transshipment site.
 

Use Cases – 5G in real life

Here we are showing you potential applications and scenarios that will convey what 5G will mean for us – in a realistic and practice-oriented way. Join us on our discovery tour!

5G – implementing the world of tomorrow together

We are happy to advise you personally for your optimal business solution.
 

*Note: All fields on this form are required fields

La logistique avec la 5G: aussi fiable que si vous vous en chargiez personnellement

Dans la gestion de la chaîne logistique, la sécurité occupe toujours une place centrale: la sécurité sur toutes les voies de transport mais aussi au niveau des délais et de l’intégrité du fret. À cet effet, la 5G est la technologie de référence. Elle permet de surveiller et de contrôler en permanence tous les véhicules de transport de fret le long d’itinéraires d’antenne définis, et même d’envisager la conduite autonome. Par exemple, les camions peuvent être contrôlés en convois selon le principe du platooning (pelotons de camions semi-automatisés). Cela nécessite toutefois une latence minimale. Pour éviter les collisions, le temps de réaction doit en effet être réduit à quelques millisecondes. Pour cela, la commande automatisée ou l’opérateur ont besoin d’informations de localisation en temps réel, ce qui se traduit là encore par un suivi toujours plus précis de la livraison.

Dans les centres logistiques et ports de transbordement, de grands volumes de données provenant de différentes machines doivent être déplacés et évalués de façon naturelle. Toute perte de temps est donc synonyme de perte financière. Pour accélérer le transfert des données, le réseau disponible pour tous est «débité en tranches». Ces «network slices» répondent aux exigences spécifiques d’un type d’application, comme les grues de chargement par exemple. Pour une distribution rentable et ciblée des marchandises, le réseau doit fonctionner rapidement, sans aucune défaillance. Une prestation réalisable uniquement grâce au débit et à la faible latence d’un réseau 5G.

De nombreuses combinaisons entrent en jeu, de l’extension de la logistique locale dans les grands centres de transbordement à la livraison logistique au destinataire par drone. Seuls les avantages incontestables de la 5G permettent d’assurer une livraison automatisée et juste à temps.

Dans ce contexte, l’initiative de Sunrise «Wired to Wireless Transformation» s’avère particulièrement avantageuse pour le secteur de la logistique. Après tout, la plupart des personnes impliquées dans les processus de livraison et de distribution sont mobiles. De plus, de nombreuses données sont collectées et doivent être traitées rapidement, par exemple pour le suivi des expéditions. Il est par conséquent essentiel de pouvoir disposer d’une large bande passante avec un minimum de latence et un nombre d’utilisateurs plus élevé dans une cellule mobile sans fil, indépendante des services de réseau fixe.

La 5G représente dès lors un réel atout pour les prestataires logistiques lorsque la connexion Internet, bien plus rapide, flexible et économique, va de pair avec des services réseau tels que le VPN MPLS (Multiprotocol Label Switching). Ce processus offre une plateforme pour toutes les applications d’entreprise telles que les communications unifiées, les vidéos, les données et Internet. Les données sont ainsi protégées contre les accès depuis l’extérieur, sans cryptage, car elles sont transmises dans un espace qui leur est propre via le réseau d’accès de l’opérateur, et sont donc séparées du reste du réseau. Un véritable plus pour la sécurité lorsque de nombreux prestataires logistiques travaillent simultanément sur un site de transbordement très fréquenté.

 

Cas d’utilisation: la 5G en pratique

Découvrez ici différentes possibilités d’application et des scénarios d’utilisation illustrant les avantages de la 5G – de manière réaliste et orientée vers la pratique. Partez avec nous à la découverte de la 5G!

5G – façonnons ensemble le monde de demain

Nous vous conseillons volontiers personnellement afin de trouver la solution idéale pour votre entreprise.

 

*Remarque: tous les champs du formulaire sont obligatoires.