5G is making our network
more efficient and more flexible

5G can do more – this is the technology behind it

We can expect groundbreaking improvements in all areas of our lives. Besides software and network infrastructure, such changes naturally also require new hardware solutions and construction-related activities. We at Sunrise have already responded to that.

An important feature of the new generation is its individuality and direct response to customer requirements. To accomplish that and to increase capacity, multi-antenna systems, also called massive multiple input multiple output (MiMo), are used. This infrastructure allows what is called "beamforming" – the variable directional alignment with terminal devices. For the individual data transfer, the transmission direction of the antennas is set to allow an optimum signal to arrive at the selected device. This can be done directly if there is a visual connection or indirectly via reflection surfaces in the immediate vicinity.

With the help of MiMo systems, the performance of 5G networks can be noticeably increased. After all, frequencies are the most valuable asset of the mobile data transfer. Currently, multi-antenna systems with up to 200 antenna elements are being developed, and initial tests with 64 x 64 transmission and receiver units are already being done.

  • With 5G, communication in real-time is

  • becoming a reality: The requirement for a digitaol future

  • requirement for a digital future Sustainability through direct networking – 5G is making it possible

The topping principle:
How 4G and 5G supplement each other

Even though the leap into the digital future may appear very large, the transition will still take place gradually and without a break. And if you, as an business owner, ask yourself whether 5G is compatible with the existing 4G architecture and resources, the answer is a clear "Yes."

You can picture the coexistence of the two technologies like the "Topping Principle." Imagine for a moment having a delicious meal brought to the table. It tastes wonderful, but you can imagine it being improved. But without changing its character or brushing aside the chef's creativity. Therefore, you top all of it with a crown - a topping.

This enrichment complements your current taste sensation, and everything melts together in your mouth to provide the perfect overall sensation.

This interplay of aromas equals the interplay of the two technologies. In this case, it supports the 5G network by strengthening the existing LTE network and thus preparing the connectivity of the future. Therefore, we are already giving you faster speeds now, even before the upgrade to the 5G environment. Enjoy this service.

 


You'd like to get more information?

Our specialists are happy to assist

Your expert contact

0800 555 552

Carrier aggregation = channel bundling

The extremely high bandwidth that is needed can be reached technically through carrier aggregation. The concepts of frequency bundling are already being used with 4G/LTE, and 5G has lead to an additional development push.

Through the bundling of a network carrier's mobile frequency ranges (channels in a frequency block), the data rate is noticeably increased by user. Several individual carriers, that is, frequency blocks, are assigned to the user. This increases the maximum data rate per user exactly by the number of these frequency blocks. Although the total data rate per cell also increases due to the optimized use, the high capacity is accompanied by low coverage. This is due to the fact that frequencies with low coverage are also used for bundling.

 

Massive multiple input multiple output (MiMo)
= multi-antenna systems

When capacity increases are important, providers count on larger multi-antenna systems, also called massive multiple input multiple output (MiMo). They allow the use of several transmission and receiver antennas. The technology currently builds upon 4G following the peanut butter principle and can be integrated into existing networks.

Space-time coding uses the time as well as the space dimensions to transfer information, which distinctly improves the quality and data rate – and it does so without using any additional frequencies. This clearly increases the performance of 5G networks with large multi-antenna systems as well. After all, frequencies are the most valuable asset of the mobile data transfer. Currently, multi-antenna systems with up to 200 antenna elements are being developed, and initial tests with 64 x 64 transmission and receiver units are already being done. To find out more about this, go to our world record notification.

 

 

Beamforming = the variable directional adjustment to devices

Beamforming is another technical option within the framework of multi-antennae to supply individual participant devices in a targeted manner. Thanks to bundling of the radio waves, there is a precise directional alignment of the signal in the direction of the receiving device instead of the standard circular dispersion of the signals.

In beamforming, the main transmission direction is aligned in a way that allows individual devices to be addressed with their allotted signal.

Either with direct visual contact or indirectly via reflection areas. The energy requirement in the transmitter is noticeably reduced since the transmission performance is adjusted to the individual applications. The low dispersion of the transmission performance

contributes to the increase in efficiency. Additionally, there are fewer failures. The best results are achieved when there is visual contact.

Also, beamforming provides a clear signal that can be clearly distinguished from the background noise. This allows the simultaneous transfer of data to several mobile devices in the same frequency range.

La 5G rend notre
réseau plus efficace
et plus flexible

La 5G offre plus de possibilités. Quelle est la technologie qui se cache derrière?

Nous pouvons espérer des améliorations révolutionnaires dans tous les domaines de la vie. Il est évident que de tels changements nécessitent de nouvelles solutions matérielles et des mesures de construction, en plus des logiciels et de l’infrastructure réseau. Chez Sunrise, nous avons déjà répondu à ces questions.

Une caractéristique essentielle de la nouvelle génération est l’individualité et la réponse directe aux exigences des clients. Des systèmes à antennes multiples, également appelés Massive Multiple Input Multiple Output/MiMo, sont donc utilisés pour traiter cette problématique ainsi que pour augmenter les capacités. Cette infrastructure permet d’utiliser le beamforming (orientation variable sur des appareils finaux). Pour la transmission individuelle des données, la direction émettrice des antennes est réglée de sorte qu’un signal maximal arrive jusqu’à l’appareil sélectionné. Cela se produit soit directement par liaison visuelle ou indirectement via des surfaces de réflexion situées à proximité immédiate.

Grâce aux systèmes MiMo, la puissance des réseaux 5G peut être considérablement accrue. En effet, les fréquences sont le bien le plus précieux de la transmission de données mobile. Des systèmes à antennes multiples contenant jusqu’à 200 éléments sont actuellement développés. Des premiers tests sont déjà en cours d’exécution avec 64 x 64 unités émettrices et réceptrices.

  • La communication en temps réel devient

  • Réalité grâce à la 5G: la condition requise

  • Pour l’avènement d’un avenir numérique

Le principe du topping,
ou comment la 4G et la 5G se complètent

Si le chemin à parcourir vers l’avenir numérique peut paraître encore long, la transition se passera en douceur et sans rupture. Et si vous vous demandez, en tant qu’entrepreneur, si la 5G est compatible avec l’architecture 4G existante et les ressources, la réponse est «Oui».

La coexistence de deux technologies peut se concevoir comme le «principe du topping». Imaginez que l’on vous dresse un repas somptueux. Vous dégustez des mets délicieux, mais pensez pouvoir les améliorer sans pour autant changer leur caractère ou mettre en doute la créativité du cuisinier. Vous ajoutez votre touche finale, un topping.

Les ingrédients que vous avez ajoutés complètent parfaitement les saveurs du plat initialement cuisiné, ils se mélangent dans votre bouche pour laisser place à une délicieuse sensation gustative.

Ce mélange d’arômes est semblable à celui des technologies. Le réseau 4G soutient la 5G, en renforçant le réseau LTE existant et en préparant le futur de la connectivité. Ainsi, vous disposez déjà de débits plus rapides alors que le passage à l’environnement 5G n’est pas encore effectif. Laissez-vous séduire par ce service.


Vous souhaitez en savoir plus?

Nos experts vous conseillent

Contacter un expert

0800 555 552

Carrier Aggregation = groupage de canaux

 

La bande passante extrêmement élevée nécessaire peut être obtenue sur le plan technique par un groupage de canaux (Carrier Aggregation). Les concepts de groupage de fréquence sont déjà utilisés pour la 4G/LTE, mais la 5G va encore plus loin.

Le groupage de bandes de fréquence radio d’un opérateur de réseau (canaux dans un bloc de fréquences) permet d’augmenter considérablement le débit de données par utilisateur. Plusieurs carriers différents, à savoir les blocs de fréquences, lui sont attribués. Le débit de données maximal par utilisateur augmente en fonction du nombre de ces blocs de fréquences. Si le débit de données global par cellule augmente grâce à une optimisation de l’utilisation, cette capacité élevée s’accompagne d’une faible portée. Cela est dû au fait que des fréquences à faible portée sont utilisées pour le groupage.

 

 

Massive Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO)
= systèmes à antennes multiples

 

 

Pour augmenter la capacité, les opérateurs misent sur des systèmes à antennes multiples, également appelés Massive Multiple Input Multiple Output/MiMo. Cela permet d’utiliser plusieurs antennes émettrices et réceptrices. La technologie s’appuie actuellement sur la 4G et peut être intégrée dans des réseaux existants.

Un Space-Time-Coding utilise aussi bien la dimension temporelle que spatiale pour transmettre l’information, permettant une amélioration considérable de la qualité et du débit des données sans pour autant utiliser plus de fréquences. La puissance des réseaux 5G peut être considérablement accrue grâce à de grands systèmes à antennes multiples. En effet, les fréquences sont le bien le plus précieux de la transmission de données mobile. Des systèmes à antennes multiples contenant jusqu’à 200 éléments d’antennes sont actuellement développés. Des premiers tests sont déjà en cours d’exécution avec 64 x 64 unités émettrices et réceptrices.

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations à ce sujet dans notre article annonçant notre record du monde.

 

 

 

 

Beamforming = orientation variable sur les appareils finaux

Le beamforming est une autre possibilité technique des antennes multiples, qui permet d’approvisionner différents terminaux de manière ciblée. Grâce au groupage des ondes radio, le signal est orienté précisément en direction de l’appareil récepteur au lieu de se propager en forme de cercle.

Lors du beamforming, l’émetteur principal est orienté afin que différents appareils finaux soient touchés par le signal qui leur est attribué,

soit en visée directe ou de manière indirecte via des surfaces de réflexion. Les besoins en énergie de l’émetteur sont nettement réduits, car la puissance d’émission est adaptée aux applications. La diffusion plus limitée de la puissance d’émission

contribue à une efficience accrue et à une diminution de la fréquence des dérangements. Les meilleurs résultats sont obtenus par liaisons directes.

Le beamforming fournit par ailleurs un signal clair, qui se démarque très nettement des bruits de fond. Les données peuvent ainsi être transmises simultanément sur plusieurs appareils mobiles dans la même plage de fréquence.