Digitisation and innovation

Sunrise lays the foundation for companies to drive technological advances and shape the future in innovative ways. Technologies such as 5G, the Internet of Things (IoT) and AI are ready for use, and they’re opening up plenty of opportunities for innovative companies.

Specialist Sunrise teams are developing new services and products that enable user-friendly, secure, and inclusive digitisation.

In Europe’s first 5G Joint Innovation Hub at Sunrise headquarters in Opfikon, Zurich, 5G and IoT applications for private and business customers are being developed and promoted. The fifth generation of mobile communication and the Internet of Things make completely new customer experiences, automated processes, and new business models possible. The hub promotes the development of a Switzerland-wide 5G ecosystem and allows the visitor to experience innovative applications that either have already been launched or are about to be brought to the market.

In partnership with Caritas, Sunrise promotes digital education for people in Switzerland whose income is low. With this collaboration, Sunrise is committed to ensuring that people in Switzerland living at or below the poverty line have access to digital services, education, and infrastructure. As part of this initiative, two mobile and two Internet subscriptions, as well as a TV product have been subsidised and offered at heavily discounted rates since August 2023.

At the beginning of 2024, the company is also launching a pilot project with Caritas in which people without many digital skills will receive support on digital issues in Sunrise shops. This advice will be provided by Sunrise employees as part of their volunteering efforts.

In 2022, Sunrise became the first company in the world fully to equip its employees with 5G devices. Older-generation laptops are being donated to the Swiss charitable organisation «Wir lernen weiter» (wLw). The devices are professionally refurbished and provided free of charge to disadvantaged people so that they can more easily access the Internet and learn digital skills.

Our targets

Digitalisierung und Innovation

Sunrise legt den Grundstein dafür, dass Unternehmen technologische Fortschritte vorantreiben und die Zukunft auf innovative Weise gestalten können. Technologien wie 5G, Internet der Dinge (IoT) und AI sind einsatzbereit, innovativen Unternehmen eröffnen sich dabei zahlreiche Möglichkeiten.

Spezialisierte Sunrise Teams entwickeln neue Dienstleistungen und Produkte, welche eine benutzerfreundliche, sichere und inklusive Digitalisierung ermöglichen.

Im ersten europäischen 5G Joint Innovation Hub im Sunrise Hauptsitz in Opfikon, Zürich werden 5G- und IoT-Anwendungen im Privat- und Geschäftskundenbereich entwickelt und gefördert. Die fünfte Mobilfunkgeneration und das Internet der Dinge ermöglichen ganz neue Kundenerlebnisse, automatisierte Prozesse und neue Geschäftsmodelle. Das Hub fördert den Aufbau eines schweizweiten 5G Ökosystems und macht innovative Anwendungen erlebbar, die bereits lanciert sind oder kurz vor der Kommerzialisierung stehen.

In einer Partnerschaft mit Caritas, fördert Sunrise die digitale Bildung für Menschen mit knappem Budget in der Schweiz. Mit dieser Zusammenarbeit, engagiert sich Sunrise dafür, dass Menschen, die in der Schweiz an oder unter dem Existenzminimum leben, den Zugang zu digitalen Diensten, Bildung und Infrastruktur erhalten. Als Teil dieses Förderprojekts werden seit August 2023 zwei Mobile- und zwei Internet-Abos sowie ein TV-Produkt subventioniert, und dadurch zu stark vergünstigten Konditionen angeboten.

Anfangs 2024 startet zudem mit Caritas ein Pilotprojekt, wo Menschen mit geringen digitalen Kompetenzen in Sunrise Shops Unterstützung bei digitalen Fragen erhalten. Die Beratungen werden von Sunrise Mitarbeitenden im Rahmen ihrer Volunteering Einsätze geleistet.

Sunrise hat 2022 als weltweit erstes Unternehmen ihre Mitarbeitenden vollständig mit 5G Geräten ausgestattet. Die Laptops der älteren Generation werden an die Schweizer Wohltätigkeitsorganisation «Wir lernen weiter» (wLw) gespendet. Die Geräte werden professionell wiederaufbereitet und an benachteiligte Menschen kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt, um ihnen den Zugang zum Internet und das Erlernen von digitalen Kompetenzen zu erleichtern.

Unsere Ziele