Transparent buildings

Startup in St. Gallen stirs up industry

 

20.5.2021 | Author: Dieter Boller | Images: Sunrise, Builcon

Mixed-reality applications make it possible to considerably ramp up productivity on construction sites and in facility management. The Swiss startup Builcon shows how it’s done – and is setting new standards in the construction industry with augmented reality, building information modeling and 5G.

Lucas Däscher greets us in the 5G Joint Innovation Center (JIC) in Opfikon, run by Sunrise and Huawei, where he is bringing his latest innovation in visualizing building technology to life for potential customers and business partners. 

Däscher is the Founder and Managing Director of Builcon, a St. Gallen-based startup that specializes in sophisticated networked buildings. «In all of our projects, we strive for the highest possible level of comfort and a sensible use of resources», he says. Mr. Däscher has won over architects, developers and investors with his ideas. Aside from his main business – planning construction projects – he regularly likes to take the time to get together with his team, pause for a moment, reflect and pursue innovative projects. «Many small companies are simply chopping wood», says Däscher. «We also take the time to sharpen the axe.»

Lucas-Daescher_Builcon-Portrait2_750x563px

Digital helper for facility management

One of these sessions spawned the idea of augmented reality (AR) for facility management, based on the principle of the «transparent building». With a combination of building information modeling (BIM) data and mixed-reality glasses that enable interactive 3D projections in the immediate environment, facility management should be simplified considerably. The person wearing the glasses can see – essentially through the walls – where the pipes, cable routes and ducts run. The BMI model of the building is stored on a server and can be accessed in real time thanks to 5G. «The glasses use AR to import the sensor data into the facility manager’s field of vision in real time», Däscher explains. To name an example, they can see the location of a defective heating valve in the ceiling and open the nearest ceiling panel to access the source of the problem without much prior knowledge. 

 

Builcon-Testingphase_AR-FM_750x563px

Without this technology, the technical facility manager would first need to dig out the physical plans that are filed away in a binder somewhere. Or they might even have to request the documents from the installer from way back when. If that doesn’t work, they would have to start searching for the source of the problem manually, one ceiling panel at a time.
 

SmartBuilding-AR-BIM-Preview_HoloLens_750x563px

After directly localizing the fault with the mixed-reality glasses, the next step lies in fixing the problem as quickly as possible. In a single gesture, the facility manager can connect with the manufacturer of the product. The expert can directly see what the technical facility manager sees in a video call and adopt the same perspective on the source of the problem. In many cases, these are familiar problems that an expert can identify at first glance, says Däscher. «The specialist gives the in-house technician instructions on how to fix the problem in two or three simple steps. If a part is defective, they can order the material right away with a simple gesture.» 

 

Experten-Videocall-Hololens_750x563px

Greater efficiency and lower costs

Even without specialist knowledge, the use of augmented reality makes it possible to quickly forge ahead to the source of the problem in a targeted manner, with remote assistance saving the costs associated with deploying experts. According to Däscher’s estimates, deployments without AR can easily cost five times as much. 

For companies in construction, increasing efficiency is particularly appealing, says the qualified electrical engineer. «When it comes to digitization, there is still a lot of room for improvement.» In contrast, other industries have a much higher degree of automation. 

 

FM-collaboration-effizient_750x563px

Däscher points out how important it is to incorporate building management into the planning process at an early stage. «The construction phase of a building, which takes about two years, is followed by a 98-year operating phase.» While the investment costs amount to about 20% of the total costs, the operating costs of a building add up to around 80%, he claims. In other words: Optimizing the operating costs is key. «Investors should pay attention to this», Däscher emphasizes. Unfortunately, this mentality is still relatively rare. Many investors prioritize short-term profits, focusing on the construction phase.


Smart Building Special
Sunrise Joint Innovation Days

  • Do you want to take advantage of the opportunities 5G and augmented reality have to offer or find out how this innovative Builcon product can simplify facility management? Then register for the free webinar on Smart Building and get inspired by specific application examples and exciting industry insights. Tap into Switzerland’s innovative ecosystem and discover the possibilities of networked construction sites and smart buildings.
  •  

>> Register for the webinar now

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise

«Innovation always emerges through experience»

5G and IoT are prerequisites for innovative applications like the one developed by Builcon. There is generally no connectivity on construction sites, and the roofs and basements of completed buildings are no exception either. If you rely on 5G or another appropriate wireless standard for isolated interior rooms, you can count on excellent data transmission. Anytime and anywhere. 

With Sunrise and UPC, Builcon can trust in partners who have devoted themselves to promoting pioneering projects in the areas of 5G and IoT. «It’s great that Sunrise and UPC are willing to advance new digitization projects within the framework of the Joint Innovation Center (JIC).» One can feel the open and casual culture at the telecommunications company, according to Däscher. «This collaboration is inspiring for both sides.»
 

Innovation-Meeting-Builcon-Sunrise_750x563px

«Together with Sunrise and UPC, we came up with the idea of offering live experiences of our AR technology at the JIC», says Däscher. It gives Builcon a great platform. A playground. «Of course, it’s a highlight for us to be allowed to showcase our product at the Joint Innovation Center», he says. After all, innovation always emerges through experience. «If you restrict yourself to developing your ideas on paper, you will never be able to incorporate all aspects.» The young entrepreneur is an advocate of moving on to prototyping early on. One of the many advantages of this approach is that it allows you to get feedback from potential customers and ecosystem partners in the initial stages. «You find out straight away whether or not an idea has potential.»
 

Builcon_Hololense-Lucas-Daescher_750x563px

Around 20% to 30% of construction companies are currently taking advantage of the benefits of BIM. A growing trend. Däscher believes that this number will move towards 100% over the coming years. «At the latest following the generational shift, the digital mentality will be firmly rooted in the minds of everyone involved.»
 


Sunrise and UPC enable digital innovation

Telecommunications form an important component of smart buildings. The number of built-in sensors is growing. More and more BIM applications are integrating information on heating, ventilation, climate, sanitary facilities, electronics and data networks. Sensor data and digital building twins serve as the foundation of mixed-reality applications. And technology standards such as 5G and IoT are prerequisites for the breakthrough of pioneering projects. 

High bandwidths for large quantities of data and fast data transmission in real time considerably boost the development of augmented and virtual reality applications in construction. This benefits both the construction phase as well as the operating phase (facility management). If connectivity is viewed as a holistic, strategic function, comparable to planning water or electrical connections, it is possible to avoid a «proliferation of access technology» and expensive retrofitting. 

Sunrise and UPC help the property industry provide the necessary connectivity and support innovative companies such as Builcon in connecting the digital and the real world. 

 

>> Book a JIC Tour

 

More Smart Building Stories

Never miss out on innovation news again 

Would you like to receive regular updates on data-driven innovation? Just register for our newsletter.

 

Salutation
Data privacy *
Our awards
Contact us

Send us an e-mail

We will get back to you as soon as possible

Send e-mail

Gläserne Gebäude

St. Galler Start-up mischt Baubranche auf

 

20.5.2021 | Autor: Dieter Boller | Bilder: Sunrise, Builcon

 

Mixed-Reality-Anwendungen machen es möglich, die Produktivität auf Baustellen und beim Facility Management um ein Vielfaches zu steigern. Das Schweizer Start-up Builcon zeigt, wie es geht – und setzt mit Augmented Reality, Building Information Modeling und 5G neue Massstäbe in der Baubranche. 

Lucas Däscher empfängt uns im 5G Joint Innovation Center (JIC) von Sunrise und Huawei in Opfikon, wo er gerade im Begriff ist, seine jüngste Innovation im Bereich Visualisierung von Gebäudetechnik für potenzielle Kunden und Geschäftspartner live erlebbar zu machen. 

Däscher ist Gründer und Geschäftsführer von Builcon, einem St. Galler Start-up, das sich auf durchdachte, vernetze Gebäude spezialisiert hat. «Wir streben bei all unseren Projekten nach höchstmöglichem Komfort und sinnvollem Ressourceneinsatz», sagt er. Seine Ideen begeistern Architekten, Bauherren und Investoren gleichermassen. Neben seinem Hauptgeschäft, der Planung von Bauprojekten, nimmt er sich gemeinsam mit seinem Team zwischendurch immer wieder Zeit, innezuhalten, zu reflektieren und innovative Projekte voranzutreiben. «Viele Kleinunternehmen sind nur am Holzhacken», sagt Däscher. «Wir nehmen uns auch Zeit, um die Axt zu schärfen.»  

Lucas-Daescher_Builcon-Portrait2_750x563px

Digitale Helfer für das Facility Management 

In einer dieser Sessions ist die Idee des Augmented Reality (AR) für Facility Managements entstanden, das auf dem Grundsatz des «gläsernen Gebäudes» basiert. Mit einer Kombination aus Building Information Modeling (BIM) Daten und einer Mixed-Reality-Brille, die es erlaubt, interaktive 3D-Projektionen in der direkten Umgebung darzustellen, wird das Gebäudemanagement entscheidend vereinfacht. Wer sie trägt, sieht – gewissermassen durch die Wände hindurch –, wo genau die Leitungen, Kabeltrassen und Kanäle verlaufen. Das BIM-Modell des Gebäudes steht auf einem Server bereit und ist dank 5G in Echtzeit abrufbar. «Durch die Brille bekommt der Facility Manager die Sensordaten via AR in sein Sichtfeld in Echtzeit eingespielt», erklärt Däscher. Er sieht zum Beispiel, an welcher Stelle an der Decke sich ein defektes Heizventil befindet und kann gezielt und ohne grosses Vorwissen die nächstgelegene Deckenplatte öffnen, um zur Fehlerquelle zu gelangen.
 

Builcon-Testingphase_AR-FM_750x563px

Ohne diese Technologie müsste der Technische Facility Manager zuerst einmal die physischen Pläne hervorkramen, die irgendwo in einem Bundesordner abgelegt wurden. Oder die Unterlagen vielleicht sogar beim damaligen Installateur einfordern. Klappt das nicht, müsste er die Suche nach der Fehlerquelle Deckenplatte für Deckenplatte manuell in Angriff nehmen.
 

SmartBuilding-AR-BIM-Preview_HoloLens_750x563px

Nach direkter Lokalisierung des Defekts mittels Mixed-Reality-Brille gilt es, den Fehler schnellstmöglich zu beheben. Mit einer Handbewegung verbindet sich der Facility Manager mit dem Hersteller des Produktes. Der Experte wird im Rahmen eines Videocalls direkt ins Sichtfeld integriert und erhält seinerseits dieselbe Perspektive auf die Fehlerquelle wie der Technische Facility Manager. In vielen Fällen seien es bekannte Probleme, die ein Experte mit einem Blick sofort erkenne, meint Däscher. «Der Fachmann gibt dem Haustechniker Anweisungen, wie das Problem mit zwei, drei einfachen Handgriffen zu beheben ist. Sollte ein Teil defekt sein, kann mit einer einfachen Handbestätigung das Material gleich bestellt werden.» 
 

Experten-Videocall-Hololens_750x563px

Mehr Effizienz und weniger Kosten 

Der Einsatz von Augmented Reality ermöglicht es auch ohne spezielle Kenntnisse, schnell und gezielt zur Fehlerquelle vorzustossen und dank Remote Assistance den Aufwand extra aufgebotener Experten einzusparen. Einsätze ohne AR kosten gemäss Schätzungen Däschers schnell einmal das Fünffache. 

Effizienzsteigerung sei für Unternehmen der Baubranche besonders interessant, meint der studierte Elektroingenieur. «Hier gibt es bei der Digitalisierung einfach noch sehr viel Luft nach oben.» Im Gegensatz zu anderen Branchen, die bereits hoch automatisiert seien. 
 

FM-collaboration-effizient_750x563px

Däscher zeigt auf, wie wichtig der frühzeitige Miteinbezug der Gebäudebewirtschaftung bei der Planung ist. «Auf die Bauphase eines Gebäudes von ca. zwei Jahren folgt die 98-jährige Betriebsphase.» Während die Investitionskosten rund 20 Prozent der Gesamtausgaben betrügen, lägen die Betriebskosten eines Gebäudes bei rund 80 Prozent, meint er. In anderen Worten: Es sind die Betriebskosten, die es zu optimieren gilt. «Darauf sollten Investoren achten», betont Däscher. Leider sei diese Haltung noch wenig verbreitet. Bei vielen Investoren stehe der kurzfristige Gewinn, und damit der Fokus auf die Bauphase, im Vordergrund.


Smart Building Special

Joint Innovation Days

  • Wollen auch Sie die Chancen von 5G und Augmented Reality nutzen oder erfahren, wie die Innovation von Builcon das Facility Management vereinfacht? Dann melden Sie sich zum kostenlosen Smart Building Webinar an und lassen Sie sich inspirieren von konkreten Anwendungsbeispielen und spannenden Branchen-Insights. Nutzen Sie den Zugang zum innovativen Ökosystem der Schweiz und entdecken Sie die Möglichkeiten vernetzter Baustellen und intelligenter Gebäude.
     

>> Zur Webinar-Serie

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise

«Innovation entsteht immer erst durch das Erlebnis»

5G und IoT bilden die Voraussetzung für innovative Anwendungen wie jene von Builcon. Denn auf Baustellen, aber auch auf Dächern und in Kellern fertiggestellter Gebäude, ist meist keine Konnektivität vorhanden. Wer hier auf 5G oder die passenden Funkstandards für abgeschirmte Innenräume setzt, kann auf hervorragende Datenübertragung zählen. Immer und überall. 

Mit Sunrise und UPC stehen Builcon Partner zur Seite, die sich der Förderung von Pionierprojekten im 5G- und IoT-Bereich verschrieben haben. «Es ist genial, dass Sunrise und UPC bereit sind, im Rahmen des Joint Innovation Centers (JIC) neue Digitalisierungs-Projekte voranzutreiben.» Bei der Telekomanbieterin sei eine offene, lockere Kultur spürbar. «Es ist eine Zusammenarbeit, die uns gegenseitig beflügelt.»
 

Innovation-Meeting-Builcon-Sunrise_750x563px

«Gemeinsam mit Sunrise und UPC entstand die Idee, unsere AR-Technologie im JIC live erlebbar zu machen», sagt Däscher. Builcon erhalte hier eine tolle Plattform. Eine Spielwiese. «Es ist natürlich ein Highlight, dass wir im Joint Innovation Center unseren Case zeigen dürfen», meint er. Innovation entstehe schliesslich immer erst durch das Erlebnis. «Wer es nur auf dem Papier betreibt, kann nie alle Aspekte miteinbeziehen.» Der Jungunternehmer ist ein Verfechter davon, möglichst früh ins Prototyping zu gehen. Einer der vielen Vorteile dabei sei, dass man auf diese Weise bei potenziellen Kunden und Ökosystempartnern bereits im Anfangsstadium Feedback einholen könne. «Somit weisst du sofort, ob eine Idee Potenzial hat oder nicht.»

Builcon_Hololense-Lucas-Daescher_750x563px

Rund 20 bis 30 Prozent der Bauunternehmen nutzen aktuell die Vorteile von BIM. Tendenz: steigend. Däscher glaubt, dass sich dieser Wert in den kommenden Jahren in Richtung 100 Prozent bewegen werde. «Spätestens mit dem Generationenwechsel wird das digitale Mindset in den Köpfen aller Beteiligten fest verankert sein.»


Sunrise und UPC ermöglichen digitale Innovationen

Telekommunikation ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil von intelligenten Gebäuden. Die Anzahl verbauter Sensoren wächst. Immer mehr BIM-Anwendungen integrieren Informationen zu Heizung, Lüftung, Klima, Sanitär, Elektrik und Datennetzen. Sensor-Daten und digitale Gebäude-Zwillinge sind die Grundlage für Mixed-Reality-Anwendungen. Technologiestandards wie 5G und IoT schaffen dabei die Voraussetzungen für den Durchbruch von Pionierprojekten. 

Hohe Bandbreiten für grosse Datenmengen und schnelle Datenübertragung in Echtzeit verleihen der Entwicklung von Augmented- und Virtual-Reality-Anwendungen im Bausektor gehörig Schub. Davon profitiert sowohl die Bauphase als auch die Betriebsphase (Facility Management). Wird Konnektivität als ganzheitliche, strategische Aufgabe gesehen, vergleichbar mit der Planung von Wasser- oder Elektroanschlüssen, kann ein «Access-Technologie-Wildwuchs» und teure Nachrüstungen vermieden werden. 

Sunrise und UPC helfen der Immobilienbranche, die passende Konnektivität bereitzustellen und  unterstützen innovative Unternehmen wie Builcon dabei, die digitale mit der realen Welt zu verknüpfen.

>> Jetzt JIC Tour buchen

Mehr Smart Building Stories

Verpassen Sie keine Innovations-News und abonnieren Sie
unseren Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig über die datengetriebene Innovationen informiert werden? Dann
abonnieren Sie hier unseren Newsletter

 

Anrede
Datenschutz *
Unsere Auszeichnungen

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Schreiben Sie uns an

Wir melden uns schnell zurück

Email schreiben