Sustainable agriculture is digital 

March 30, 2021 | Images: Agroscope / fenaco / Adobe Stock / Huawai

 

Digitization in agriculture is one of the topics of focus within the Sunrise and Huawei Joint Innovation Center. On the basis of 5G, modern technologies are ensuring that farming is becoming more «smart» and therefore more sustainable and efficient. An array of pilot projects are demonstrating the benefits farmers can expect when data, drones, GPS and similar technologies interact with cattle and plants.  

Diversity is the lifeblood of Swiss agriculture. From the Rhine Valley to Upper Valais, approximately 50,000 agribusinesses are keeping livestock, producing food and maintaining our cultivated land across mountains and valleys. Agriculture is associated with a down-to-earth attitude and being close to nature. But just like our everyday lives and working lives as a whole, Swiss agriculture has become inexorably digitized.  

 

«Do not worry about the harvest, but about the right cultivation of your fields.»
Confucius (551–479 BC) 

 

The «Internet of Things» in support of agriculture 

The Internet of Things generally revolves around digital interconnectivity and the Internet’s applications within the real world. The knowledge we’ve gained from our fitness trackers and navigation systems in our cars is used in Smart Farming and applied to tractors and combine harvesters, farms and stables, and plants and animals. The connected «things» exchange data, which in turn are interlinked and evaluated. Conclusions can be drawn from the data that enable smarter economic management.  

 

Smart_Farming-Sunrise_Glasshaus

Technologies – modern «seeds» 

Powerful telecommunications connections are the foundation of digital interconnectivity. With its extensive fields, remote farmsteads and animals on alpine pastures, digital interconnectivity would be particularly inconceivable within the agricultural sector without mobile communications. This includes the cloud, big data and artificial intelligence, high-resolution image recognition, sensors and robotics as well as drones, satellite technology and GPS. With the introduction of the fifth generation of mobile communications, a veritable paradigm shift is just around the corner. This shift will open up completely new application scenarios that have never been possible before. 

 

5G is ushering in a paradigm shift 

5G delivers wireless connectivity at a high bandwidth, low latency and with an enormous amount of parallel connections. This means that all devices required for the Internet of Things, such as sensors, tracking systems, drones, computers and smartphones, can benefit from high-performance mobile communications at the same time. And that, in turn, means that large quantities of data can be transmitted at breakneck speed with almost no delay. This makes real-time applications possible, such as the Innosuisse-funded innovation project for weed control regarding the so-called bitter dock. Compared to 4G transmission, 5G only needs a third of the energy to transmit the same amount of data. 5G networks are therefore an important component when it comes to ensuring sustainable production in agriculture and achieving the goal of a climate-neutral Switzerland by 2030.

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_5G_Mast

A partner ecosystem for innovation in agriculture 

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Cow_Mast

Sunrise and Huawei have joined forces with agricultural stakeholders to promote the use of 5G and other smart technologies in Swiss agriculture. In a growing ecosystem that includes industry representatives such as Fenaco, research institutions such as the OST (Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences), the Agroscope Swiss center of excellence and innovative startups, solutions are being worked on that are looking at how these technologies can create benefits in Swiss agriculture. Already realized applications, pilot projects and visions for the future are being showcased at the Sunrise and Huawei Joint Innovation Center, which speaks to a close technology and innovation partnership between the two companies.  

Book an appointment on 5G and Smart Farming at the JIC

The vision of Smart Farming – already a reality 

Pilot project 1 – Data-based weed control for clean groundwater 

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Blacken

Until now, weeds in fields have been removed either painstakingly by hand or by using herbicides. A project to combat bitter dock is demonstrating completely new ways in which the weed control process can be digitized and thus made more environmentally friendly, faster and cheaper thanks to 5G: The pasture is photographed in high resolution using drones The images are sent to the cloud in real time, where the dock is identified and localized using image recognition software. Using machine learning based on thousands of images, the program recognizes dock in different stages of growth. A field robot receives the coordinates of the dock that the program has identified and can remove them very precisely via a method known as «Spot Spraying». The vision for the future is an autonomous, GPS-controlled robotic system that will regulate dock using hot water instead of herbicides. Pesticide consumption can be reduced immensely; the pastures will become more productive, the groundwater will be cleaner and the farmer will save time and money. 

 

 

The InnoSuisse project in detail  
 

 


Pilot project 2 – «Connected Cow» for improved animal welfare 

5G-based technologies can help farmers to optimize their cows’ milk production, track their eating habits or monitor the calving process. Connected mobile sensors on the ears, in the collars or on the legs of the cows record biometric information such as walking behavior, feed intake or time lying down. Changes in these parameters allow conclusions to be drawn regarding animal welfare, e.g., when a cow is in heat and it is therefore the most favorable time for insemination. Thanks to high-resolution, real-time data transmission, a farmer can monitor the calving process without having to conduct unnecessary physical checks in person at the barn. The livestock owner can call up information on how their animals are doing at any time via their smartphone. The «Connected Cow» solution has real potential to make animal husbandry more efficient and more species-appropriate.

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Kuehe

Pilot project 3 – «Precision Farming» for precise fertilization 
 

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Drone

One area of Smart Farming is so-called Precision Farming. Precision Farming allows goals that would at first glance appear to be at odds with one another to be brought together: The fertilization required for optimal yields in agriculture has an impact on the environment. An impact that needs to be reduced. As part of this project, drones and satellites gauge the status of plants in the fields, while sensors measure the condition of the soil as well as the soil water’s nitrate content. The data are collected in the cloud and each piece of data is linked to one another. A fertilization map can be programed from the results, which enables the fertilizer to be distributed exclusively on the individual areas where fertilization is necessary, depending on the needs of the plants and the productivity of the soil. This allows the amount of fertilizer to be reduced without sacrificing yield, which results in cost savings for the farmer. The result: Greater nitrogen efficiency and a lower risk of nitrogen loss to the environment. 

Pilot project 4 – Autonomous agricultural vehicles
 

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Landwirtschaftsroboter

Organic farming still requires a lot of manual labor. The vision of the future is for autonomous, collaborative robotic systems to be carrying out tasks such as weed control in pastures and fields, landscape maintenance and sowing and harvesting work. Good connectivity and low latency are required to control and monitor these autonomous vehicles. And these are exactly what 5G provides. Thanks to 5G, it will also be possible for aerial photographs from drones or satellites to be transmitted to the cloud in real time. There, the plants are identified and their condition is analyzed. Thanks to self-learning algorithms (artificial intelligence) and big data analysis, identification and analysis are becoming more and more precise, with cameras being able to differentiate, for example, between lettuce plants and weeds and between healthy lettuces and lettuces affected by disease. The corresponding order to administer any required treatment is also transmitted to the agricultural machine in real time via mobile communications. The agricultural machine is guided to the geolocalized plant via GPS and can treat it to a large extent on a plant-specific basis. 

Summary: Benefits for us all
 

When it comes to potential application scenarios, there are no limits except for the ones we place on our own imagination. Smart irrigation systems that measure soil moisture or water quality and calculate the exact amount of water required are just as possible as systems that monitor pests digitally, with these pests being identified and their number and level of proliferation monitored so that they can be combated precisely and proactively.  

 

The overall result is an agricultural sector that has a lower impact on the environment in terms of pesticides, conserves natural resources, generates higher yields and saves farmers costs. Smart Farming is utilizing and drawing closer to organic farming, resulting in lower expenditure as well as better protection of people and nature.  

 




Interview with Dr. Thomas Anken:

5G has the potential to become the "power socket" of the 21st century.

  • Dr. Thomas Anken conducts research at Agroscope, Switzerland's center of excellence for agricultural research. Agroscope is affiliated with the Federal Office for Agriculture, as well as subordinate to the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research. 
  •  
  • Click here for the interview

 

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise

 Are you interested in your own “Smart Farming” innovations?

We would be happy to advise you individually to find the best business solution for you.

 

*Note: All fields are mandatory

Newsletter
Privacy policy *
Our awards

Contact us

Call us

We are happy to assist you under

0800 555 552

Write to us

We will get back to you as soon as possible

Write a mail

Nachhaltige Landwirtschaft ist digital

30. März 2021 | Bilder: Agroscope / fenaco / Adobe Stock / Huawai

 

Die Digitalisierung in der Landwirtschaft ist eines der Fokusthemen im Joint Innovation Center von Sunrise und Huawei. Basierend auf 5G sorgen moderne Technologien dafür, dass Farming smart und damit nachhaltiger und effizienter wird. Eine Reihe von Pilotprojekten zeigt das Potenzial auf, wenn Daten, Drohnen, GPS & Co. mit Vieh und Pflanze interagieren. 

Die Schweizer Landwirtschaft lebt von ihrer Vielfalt. In rund 50'000 landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben vom Rheintal bis ins Oberwallis werden Nutztiere gehalten, Nahrungsmittel produziert und unser Kulturland zu Berg und Tal gepflegt. Landwirtschaft wird mit Bodenständigkeit und Nähe zur Natur assoziiert. Doch wie auch unser gesamter Lebens- und Berufsalltag digitalisiert sich die Schweizer Landwirtschaft unaufhaltsam. 

 

«Sorge Dich nicht um die Ernte, sondern um die richtige Bestellung der Felder.»
Konfuzius (551-479 v. Chr.)

 

Das «Internet der Dinge» im Dienste der Landwirtschaft

Beim Internet der Dinge geht es ganz generell um digitale Vernetzung und um die Übertragung des Internets in die reale Welt. Was wir von unseren Fitnesstrackern oder Navigationssystemen im Auto her kennen, wird beim Smart Farming auf Traktoren und Mähdrescher, auf Hof und Stall wie auch auf Pflanzen und Tiere angewendet. Die vernetzten «Dinge» tauschen Daten aus, die wiederum miteinander verknüpft und ausgewertet werden. Aus den Daten können Rückschlüsse gezogen werden, die ein smarteres Wirtschaften ermöglichen. 

 

Smart_Farming-Sunrise_Glasshaus

Technologien – das moderne «Saatgut»

Das Fundament der digitalen Vernetzung sind leistungsstarke Telekommunikationsverbindungen. Gerade in der Landwirtschaft mit ihren weitläufigen Feldern, entlegenen Gehöften oder Tieren auf der Alm ist das ohne Mobilfunk nicht denkbar. Hinzu kommen die Cloud, Big Data und Künstliche Intelligenz, hochauflösende Bilderkennung, Sensorik und Robotik sowie auch Drohnen, Satellitentechnik und GPS. Mit der Einführung der fünften Mobilfunkgeneration steht ein veritabler Paradigmenwechsel an, der völlig neue Anwendungsszenarien möglich macht.

 

5G leitet Paradigmenwechsel ein

5G schafft drahtlose Konnektivität mit hoher Bandbreite, niedriger Latenz und einer gigantischen Menge an parallelen Verbindungen. Damit können alle für das Internet der Dinge erforderlichen Geräte wie Sensoren, Tracking-Systeme, Drohnen, Computer oder Smartphones gleichzeitig mit hochleistungsfähigem Mobilfunk versorgt werden. Und das bedeutet: Grosse Datenmengen können in rasanter Geschwindigkeit fast ohne Verzögerung übertragen werden. Hierdurch werden Echtzeitanwendungen möglich wie etwa das das von Innosuisse geförderte Innovationsprojekt zur Unkrautbekämpfung der so genannten Blacken.  Im Vergleich zu einer 4G-Übertragung benötigt 5G für die gleiche Datenmenge nur ein Drittel der Energie. Für eine nachhaltige Produktion in der Landwirtschaft und das Ziel einer klimaneutralen Schweiz bis 2030 sind 5G-Netze daher ein wichtiger Baustein.

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_5G_Mast

Ein Partner-Ökosystem für Innovation in der Landwirtschaft

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Cow_Mast

Sunrise und Huawei haben sich mit landwirtschaftlichen Akteuren im Anliegen zusammengeschlossen, den Einsatz von 5G und weiteren smarten Technologien für die Schweizer Landwirtschaft voranzutreiben. In einem wachsenden Ökosystem, das Branchenvertreter wie Fenaco, Forschungseinrichtungen wie die Fachhochschule OST, das Kompetenzzentrum des Bundes Agroscope und innovative Startups umfasst, wird an Lösungen gearbeitet, wie diese Technologien in der Schweizer Landwirtschaft Nutzen stiften können. Im Joint Innovation Center (JIC) von Sunrise und Huawei werden bereits realisierte Anwendungen, Pilotprojekte und künftige Visionen präsentiert, die von enger Technologie- und Innovationspartnerschaft zeugen. 

Buchen Sie einen Termin zu 5G und Smart Farming im JIC

Die Vision von Smart Farming – bereits in der Realität angekommen

Pilotprojekt 1 – Datenbasierte Unkrautbekämpfung für sauberes Grundwasser

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Blacken

Unkraut auf den Feldern wird bis anhin entweder aufwändig von Hand oder durch Herbizide beseitigt. Ein Projekt zur Bekämpfung der Blacken (einer Ampferart) zeigt völlig neue Wege auf, wie der Prozess dank 5G durchdigitalisiert werden kann und so umweltschonender, schneller und kostengünstiger wird: Die Wiese wird mit Drohnen hochauflösend fotografiert. Die Bilder gelangen in Echtzeit in die Cloud, wo die Blacken anhand einer Bilderkennungssoftware identifiziert und lokalisiert werden. Durch maschinelles Lernen anhand Tausender von Bilder erkennt das Programm Blacken in verschiedenen Wachstumsstadien. Ein Feldroboter empfängt die Koordinaten der so identifizierten Blacken und kann sie sehr präzise durch so genanntes «Spot Spraying» beseitigen. Die Zukunftsvision ist ein GPS-gesteuertes autonomes Robotiksystem, das künftig die Blacken mit Heisswasser reguliert, ganz ohne Herbizide. Der Verbrauch von Pflanzenschutzmitteln kann immens reduziert werden; die Wiesen werden produktiver, das Grundwasser sauberer und der Landwirt spart Zeit und Geld. 

 

 

Das InnoSuisse-Projekt im Detail 
 

Pilotprojekt 2 - «Connected Cow» für mehr Tierwohl
 

Technologien auf Basis von 5G können den Landwirten helfen, die Milchproduktion ihrer Kühe zu optimieren, deren Fressverhalten zu verfolgen oder das Kalben zu überwachen. Mobil vernetzte Sensoren in den Halsbändern an den Ohren oder am Bein der Kühe zeichnen die biometrischen Informationen wie das Gehverhalten, die Futteraufnahme oder die Liegezeiten auf. Veränderungen dieser Parameter lassen Rückschlüsse auf das Tierwohl zu, beispielsweise wann eine Kuh brünstig und der günstigste Zeitpunkt für die Besamung ist. Dank hochauflösender Datenübertragung in Echtzeit kann ein Landwirt den Abkalbeprozess  überwachen, was unnötige physische Kontrollen im Stall erspart. Der Tierhalter kann per Smartphone jederzeit abrufen, wie es seinen Tieren geht. Die «connected-cow»-Lösung hat echtes Potenzial, die Tierhaltung effizienter und artgerechter zu gestalten.

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Kuehe

Pilotprojekt 3 - «Precision Farming» für punktgenaue Düngung
 

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Drone

Ein Teilbereich des Smart Farming ist das so genannte Precision Farming. Damit können scheinbar konfliktäre Ziele miteinander vereint werden: Die erforderliche Düngung in der Landwirtschaft für optimale Erträge hat Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt, die es zu mindern gilt. Im Projekt messen Drohnen und Satelliten den Status der Pflanzen auf dem Feld und Sensoren den Zustand des Bodens sowie den Nitratgehalt des Bodenwassers. Die Daten werden in der Cloud gesammelt und miteinander verknüpft. Daraus lässt sich eine Düngekarte programmieren, die es erlaubt, den Dünger je nach Bedarf der Pflanzen und der Ertragsfähigkeit des Bodens nur auf den Teilflächen zu verteilen, wo dies notwendig ist. Damit kann die Düngemenge ohne Ertragseinbusse reduziert werden, was in Kosteneinsparungen für den Landwirt resultiert. Dies verbessert die Stickstoffeffizienz und reduziert das Risiko von Stickstoffverlusten in die Umwelt. 

Pilotprojekt 4 – Autonome Landwirtschaftsfahrzeuge
 

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Landwirtschaftsroboter

Noch erfordert ökologischer Landbau einen hohen manuellen Arbeitsaufwand. Die Zukunftsvision ist, dass autonome, kollaborative Robotiksysteme Aufgaben wie Unkrautregulierung auf Wiese und Acker oder Landschaftspflege bis hin zu Saat und Erntearbeiten ausführen. Die Steuerung und Überwachung dieser autonomen Fahrzeuge bedingen eine gute Konnektivität und geringe Latenz. Dies bietet 5G. Dank 5G wird es auch möglich, dass die Luftaufnahmen von Drohne oder Satellit in Echtzeit in die Cloud übermittelt werden. Dort werden die Pflanzen identifiziert und ihr Zustand analysiert. Dank selbstlernenden Algorithmen (künstlicher Intelligenz) und Big-Data-Analyse werden Identifikation und Analyse stetig präziser. Die Kamera unterscheidet somit beispielsweise Salatpflanzen von Unkraut und gesunden Salat von einem mit Krankheit befallenen. Ebenso in Echtzeit wird per Mobilfunk der Auftrag für die entsprechend erforderliche Behandlung auf die Landmaschine übertragen. Die Landmaschine wird per GPS zur geolokalisierten Pflanze geführt und kann sie in hohem Masse einzelpflanzenspezifisch bearbeiten. 

Fazit: Nutzen für uns alle
 

Der Fantasie in den Anwendungsszenarien sind keine Grenzen gesetzt. Smarte Bewässerungssysteme durch Messung der Bodenfeuchtigkeit oder der Wasserqualität und die exakte Berechnung der notwendigen Wassermenge sind ebenso möglich wie ein digitales Monitoring von Schädlingen, die identifiziert und in ihrer Anzahl und Vermehrung überwacht werden, damit sie präzise und vorausschauend bekämpft werden können. 

Insgesamt resultiert eine Landwirtschaft, die die Umwelt wesentlich weniger durch Pestizide belastet, die natürlichen Ressourcen schont, höhere Erträge erwirtschaftet und den Landwirten Kosten erspart. Smart Farming nützt und nähert sich der biologischen Landwirtschaft, mit weniger Aufwand und besserem Schutz von Mensch und Natur. 

 




Interview mit Dr. Thomas Anken:

5G hat das Potenzial, zur «Steckdose» des 21. Jahrhunderts zu werden

  • Dr. Thomas Anken forscht bei Agroscope, dem Kompetenzzentrum der Schweiz für landwirtschaftliche Forschung. Agroscope ist dem Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft angegliedert sowie dem Eidgenössischen Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung untergeordnet. 

Hier geht es zum Interview

 

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise
Unsere Auszeichnungen

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Rufen Sie uns an

Wir beraten Sie gerne unter

0800 555 552

Schreiben Sie uns an

Wir melden uns schnell zurück

Email schreiben