5G enables an enhanced fan experience in the “Smart Stadium” – and much more

What began at FC Basel 1893 in 2019 with the idea of an enhanced fan experience and the “Smart Stadium” partnership with Sunrise is now entering the active phase. The Sunrise CamCheck is the first innovation in St. Jakob-Park and heralds a new age in entertainment and elite sport. Thanks to the 5G network and Wi-Fi infrastructure from Sunrise, the “Joggeli” is becoming a driver of innovation for FC Basel 1893 and for Swiss football. 




The FC Basel 1893 eliminates missed moments with the Sunrise CamCheck

The fans are chanting cautiously, 67 minutes in, the score is 2:2. The game has slowed, time to hit the bathroom. You’ve just reached the urinal as you hear hammering battle cries and roaring cheers. Shoot... missed the goal! Everyone knows these moments and they can really be frustrating, rightfully so. This annoyance is no more at FC Basel 1893 home games – thanks to CamCheck, the first “Smart Stadium” innovation in Swiss football. 

 

 



Mixed reality worlds advance

Nine out of ten people in Switzerland own a smartphone. Anyone who visits a sporting or entertainment event is looking for experiences that stand out from what they’re used to. Organizers and clubs are increasingly under pressure. The market is mobilized. So it’s only a matter of time as to when and how real and digital worlds will converge. So-called “mixed reality” or immersive applications, to be used with goggles, tablets or smartphones, are finding their way into our entertainment programming – including in major sports stadiums in Switzerland. 

 

 




Gone are the days when fans sat on wooden benches behind the white line and could pat their idols on the back. New forms of fan loyalty are therefore paramount among clubs. FC Basel 1893 recognized this trend early on and has now implemented the first vision of the “Smart Stadium” partnership. Players and fans are getting even closer – digitally.

Using the “CamCheck” for digital success 

Nothing beats the emotions that you can experience together live in the stadium. With the Sunrise CamCheck, FC Basel 1893 is now presenting its fans with a complementary experience in Switzerland's largest stadium. The trick: In the FCB app, every second of the game can be followed live from four different camera settings. Thanks to Instant Replay, app users in the stadium can rewind a few minutes or play scenes in slow motion, allowing them to decide which moments they want to watch again. This turns one’s own smartphone into a personal control room. The CamCheck is available to all spectators in St. Jakob-Park throughout the entire game.

 

 




The starting point was the “Smart Stadium” partnership between FC Basel 1893 and Sunrise, launched in July 2019, a joint vision for new fan experiences and high-performance network technologies from Sunrise. The CamCheck is the first innovation in the traditional club’s digital strategy and forms the cornerstone for further applications in the intelligently integrated stadium. 

In the beginning, there was 5G 

But how can the new 5G cellular standard be used in an entrepreneurial way? The idea of transmitting huge amounts of data with very low latency, i.e., almost in real time, fueled the imagination of both partners. 

 

“The central finding of our innovation team: A stadium offers
incredible potential for data-based applications. This is also
becoming increasingly important for sports clubs. We focus on
new fan-experiences.”

Alexander Lehrmann, Director New Business Development & IoT Sunrise Communications AG

 

One of the largest in-house assets of FCB are the live camera feeds at home games. This creates huge amounts of data that can barely be transmitted with conventional technology. This is an ideal playground for new applications that rely on the best Sunrise network. 

From stadium-only Wi-Fi through 5G to the “Smart Stadium”

The new LAN and Wi-Fi infrastructure in “Joggeli” offers high-speed access in the form of electrical and optical ports, with a speed of up to 10 Gbit/s, to which Ultra HD cameras, screens, sensors and other devices can be connected.

Additionally, 5G indoor coverage will be available throughout the stadium to provide users with seamless, high-quality connectivity while using mobile phones and other end devices. The fact that new collaborative solutions were introduced for the FCB office along the way also simplified project implementation, even under COVID-19 restrictions.

After almost 18 months of development work, 3700 technician hours and a smooth collaborative process, the first of several planned viewer experiences is now ready to digitally enrich the world of sports.

FC Basel 1893 is ready for the football experience of tomorrow

5G enables ultra-fast connections, huge data volumes, zero delays and the ability to serve a very large number of end devices. Ideal for applications such as virtual reality, augmented reality with integrated players and live data displays or live broadcasts of scrimmages without expensive stadium technology. FC Basel 1893's digital drawer is filled to the brim with promising plans and ideas.

 

 

 

The stadium of the future can do even more

The “Smart Stadium” promises endless possibilities for fan loyalty. And a football club relies on economic efficiency too, of course. So the efficient administration of the stadium is another key to success. Self-maintaining fields, automated ordering processes in catering or camera-controlled security systems are just a few examples of new applications.

Food stands use data-based forecast models and not only avoid food waste, but also increase efficiency through automated supply chains. Beer, bratwurst or personalized merchandising items can be paid for and ready to be picked up at the push of a button, for the spectators’ increased convenience.

 

“FC Basel 1893 fans have a lot to look forward to. The first 5G
stadium offers completely new football experiences
around the home games of FC Basel 1893. Football
remains the focus of attention. But technologies like
5G and IoT enable new services with real added
value for our fans. The match day experiences in
St. Jakob Park will be unique and more varied. We 
are working on this together with Sunrise.”

Frank Schaffner, Director Digital FC Basel 1893

 

Novel approaches to the transmission of exclusive content are also conceivable, e.g., through 360° VR streaming. Mobile broadcasting or advertising formats – a kind of Netflix for sporting events – could represent new business opportunities for clubs. If sensor- and camera-based, real-time data is combined with historical information, entry controls can be optimized, which in turn relieves security personnel. IoT-controlled energy supply for lighting, ventilation or heating ensures greater sustainability.

Technologies such as 5G or the Internet of Things (IoT) fuel the prospects of economic success for stadium operators and sports clubs. Some approaches are still only visions for the future. The way there begins, as so often is the case, with the first small steps.

More information on CamCheck can be found here on the FC Basel 1893 website. 

 

 

More topics around innovative technologies​

Our awards – trust us

 Are you interested in your own “Smart Stadium” innovations?

We would be happy to advise you individually to find the best business solution for you.

*Note: All fields are mandatory

Newsletter
Privacy policy *

5G ermöglicht eine erweiterte Fan-Experience im «Smart Stadium» - und noch viel mehr

Was 2019 beim FCB mit einer Idee von erweiterter Fan-Experience und der «Smart Stadium» Partnerschaft mit Sunrise begann, geht nun in die aktive Phase. Der Sunrise CamCheck ist die erste Innovation im St. Jakob-Park und läutet ein neues Zeitalter im Entertainment und Spitzensport ein. Das Joggeli wird dank 5G-Netz und WLAN-Infrastruktur von Sunrise zum Innovationstreiber für den FC Basel 1893 und den Schweizer Fussball. 



Der FC Basel 1893 eliminiert mit dem Sunrise CamCheck die verpassten Momente

Verhaltende Fangesänge, 67. Minute, es steht 2:2. Das Spiel läuft schleppend, Zeit, die gefüllte Blase zu entleeren. Kaum am Pissoir angekommen, bricht tosender Jubel aus. Mist… Tor verpasst! Diese Momente kennt wohl jeder, und wir ärgern uns, so richtig. An den Heimspielen des FC Basel 1893 hat das Ärgern nun ein Ende – dank dem CamCheck, der ersten «Smart Stadium»-Innovation im Schweizer Fussball. 

 

 


Mixed-Reality-Welten auf dem Vormarsch

Neun von zehn Schweizern besitzen ein Smartphone. Wer einen Sport- oder Entertainment-Anlass besucht, der sucht nach Erlebnissen, die sich abheben vom bisher Bekannten. Veranstalter und Clubs stehen zunehmend unter Druck, der Markt ist mobilisiert. Es ist also nur eine Frage der Zeit, wann und wie reale und digitale Welten verschmelzen. Sogenannte „mixed-reality“- oder immersive Anwendungen, die mit Brillen, Tablets oder Smartphones zum Einsatz kommen, halten Einzug in unser Unterhaltungsprogramm – auch in die grossen Sport-Stadien der Schweiz. 

 

 



Vorbei sind die Zeiten, in denen Fans auf Holzbänken hinter der weissen Linie sassen und ihren Idolen auf die Schulter klopfen konnten. Neue Formen der Fanbindung stehen darum bei den Clubs im Vordergrund. Der FC Basel 1893 hat diesen Trend früh erkannt und nun die erste Vision der «Smart-Stadium»-Partnerschaft umgesetzt. Spieler und Fans rücken auf digitale Art und Weise noch enger zusammen.

Mit dem «CamCheck» zum digitalen Erfolg

Nichts geht über die Emotionen, die man gemeinsam live im Stadion erleben kann. Mit dem Sunrise CamCheck präsentiert der FC Basel 1893 seinen Fans nun ein zusätzliches Erlebnis im grössten Stadion der Schweiz. Der Clou: In der FC Basel 1893 App kann jede Spielszene aus vier verschiedenen Kameraeinstellungen live mitverfolgt werden. Dank Instant Replay können die App-Nutzer im Stadion einige Minuten zurückspulen oder in Zeitlupe abspielen und so entscheiden, welche Spielszenen sie noch einmal sehen möchten. Damit wird das eigene Smartphone zur persönlichen Regiezentrale. Der CamCheck steht allen Zuschauern im St. Jakob-Park während des ganzen Spiels zur Verfügung.

 

 



Startpunkt war die im Juli 2019 lancierte «Smart Stadium»-Partnerschaft zwischen dem FC Basel 1893 und Sunrise, eine gemeinsame Vorstellung für neue Fan-Erlebnisse sowie die hochleistungsfähigen Netz-Technologien von Sunrise. Der CamCheck ist die erste Innovation der Digital-Strategie des Traditionsvereins und bildet den Eckstein für weitere Anwendungen im intelligent vernetzten Stadion.

Am Anfang war 5G

Doch wie lässt sich der neue Mobilfunkstandard 5G unternehmerisch sinnvoll nutzen? Die Vorstellung, riesige Datenmengen mit sehr geringer Latenz, also nahezu in Echtzeit, zu übertragen, befeuerte die Fantasie beider Kooperationspartner. 

 

«Zentrale Erkenntnis unseres Innovations-Teams: Ein Stadion
bietet unglaubliches Potenzial für datenbasierte
Anwendungen. Das wird auch für Sportclubs immer wichtiger.
Wir fokussieren uns auf neue Erlebniswelten für die Fans.»

Alexander Lehrmann, Director New Business Development & IoT Sunrise Communications AG

 

Eines der grössten hauseigenen Assets des FCB sind die Live-Kamerabilder an den Heimspielen. Dabei entstehen riesige Datenmengen, die mit herkömmlicher Technologie kaum zu übertragen sind. Die ideale Spielwiese also für neue Anwendungen, die auf das beste Netz von Sunrise setzen.

Vom stadioneigenen WLAN über 5G zum «Smart Stadium»

Die neue LAN- und WiFi-Infrastruktur im Joggeli bietet einen Hochgeschwindigkeitszugang in Form von elektrischen und optischen Ports mit einer Geschwindigkeit von bis zu 10 Gbps, an die Ultra-HD-Kameras, Bildschirme, Sensoren und andere Geräte angeschlossen werden können.

Parallel dazu wird im gesamten Stadion 5G Indoor Coverage zur Verfügung gestellt, um den Benutzern eine nahtlose Konnektivität von Mobiltelefonen und anderen Endgeräten mit bester Qualität zu bieten. Dass ganz nebenbei auch neue Zusammenarbeits-Lösungen für die FCB-Geschäftsstelle eingeführt wurden, vereinfachte die Projektumsetzung selbst unter den Corona-Einschränkungen.

Nach fast 18 Monaten Entwicklungsarbeit, 3700 Technikerstunden und einer reibungslosen Zusammenarbeit ist nun die erste von mehreren geplanten Zuschauererlebnissen einsatzbereit, die Sportwelt auf digitale Art und Weise zu bereichern.

Der FCB ist bereit für die Fussballerlebnisse von morgen

5G ermöglicht ultraschnelle Verbindungen, riesige Datenmengen, null Verzögerungen und die Fähigkeit, eine sehr grosse Anzahl von Endgeräten zu bedienen. Ideal für Anwendungen wie Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality mit vernetzten Spielern und Live-Daten-Einblendungen oder Liveübertragungen von Trainingsspielen ohne teure Stadiontechnik. Die digitale Schublade des FC Basel 1893 ist mit vielversprechenden Plänen und Ideen gefüllt.

 

 

 

Das Stadion der Zukunft kann noch mehr

Das «Smart Stadium» verspricht endlos viele Möglichkeiten für die Fanbindung. Und natürlich setzt ein Fussballclub auch auf Wirtschaftlichkeit. So wird auch die effiziente Verwaltung des Stadions zum Erfolgsfaktor. Sich selbst überwachende Rasenflächen, automatisierte Bestellprozesse im Gastrobereich oder kameragesteuerte Sicherheitssysteme sind nur einige Beispiele für neue Anwendungen.

Food-Stände nutzen datenbasierte Vorhersagemodelle und vermeiden nicht nur Food-Waste, sondern erhöhen auch die Effizienz durch automatisierte Lieferketten. Bier, Bratwurst oder personalisierte Merchandising-Artikel sind per Knopfdruck bezahlt und abholbereit, was für einen erhöhten Komfort beim Zuschauer sorgt. 

 

«Die FC Basel 1893 Fans dürfen sich freuen. Das erste 5G-Stadion bietet
völlig neue Fussball-Erlebnisse rund um die Heimspiele des
FC Basel 1893. Der Fussball steht weiterhin im Mittelpunkt. Doch
Technologien wie 5G und IoT ermöglichen neue Services mit 
echtem Mehrwehrt für unsere Fans. Die Matchtag-Erlebnisse im 
St. Jakob-Park werden einzigartig und abwechslungsreicher. 
Daran arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit Sunrise.»

Frank Schaffner, Director Digital FC Basel 1893

 

Denkbar sind auch neuartige Ansätze zur Übertragung exklusiver Inhalte, z.B. als 360° VR-Streaming. Mobile Broadcasting- oder Werbeformate – eine Art Netflix für Sportevents – könnten neue Geschäftsfelder für Clubs darstellen. Werden sensor- und kamerabasierte Echtzeitdaten mit historischen Informationen kombiniert, können Zutrittskontrollen optimiert werden, was wiederum das Sicherheitspersonal entlastet. Wird die Energieversorgung für Beleuchtung, Lüftung oder Heizung IoT-gesteuert, sorgt das für mehr Nachhaltigkeit.

Technologien wie 5G oder das Internet der Dinge (IoT) befeuern die Aussichten auf wirtschaftlichen Erfolg für Stadionbetreiber und Sportvereine. Einige Ansätze sind noch Zukunftsvisionen. Der Weg dahin beginnt wie so oft mit ersten kleinen Schritten.

Mehr Informationen zum CamCheck gibt’s hier auf der Seite vom FC Basel 1893. 

 

 

Weitere Themen rund um innovative Technologien

Unsere Auszeichnungen

 

 Interesse an eigenen «Smart Stadium» Innovationen?

Gern beraten wir Sie persönlich für Ihre optimale Business-Lösung.

 

*Hinweis: Alle Felder des Formulars sind Pflichtfelder

Newsletter
Datenschutz *