Digital transformation

«We connect all construction sites – data is our foundation»

19. April 2021 | Images: Föllmi AG, Sunrise

 

Feusisberg is humming with the sound of excavators and drilling machines. For now, visitors can only see a big, dusty hole in the ground. At the very edge, there’s a red container: the site office. On the surface, it all seems like a run of the mill construction site. But there’s something more going on here. 

It is a cold winter’s day in Feusisberg. The air is clear, the sun is out and the ground creaks underneath our feet. We are visiting the site together with Barbara Kuriger. Construction is underway for the new headquarters of her company, Föllmi AG. The noise of construction machinery can be heard from a distance, and dust rises from the pit. A mighty, red excavator is digging away. Lorries haul away the material.

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Pfaeffikonerstrasse86

 

The digital future is already upon us today

Barbara Kuriger leads us to a red container towering over the pit. We set foot in the temporary construction site office, where the Head of Administration of Föllmi AG talks enthusiastically of her latest digital project: «We’re equipping all our sites with mobile networks and tablets. This makes us much more flexible and opens up possibilities of mobile collaboration.» 

 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Bauplan-im-Buero

This vision is already a reality at the Feusisberg site. We walk from the office to the pit with foreman Michael Gübeli. Where a heap of excavated material and the first retaining walls are in place, he shows us 3D construction plans on a tablet. Barbara Kuriger explains the massive advantages this brings: «It sometimes takes days for us to get the paper versions on site. Then, the plans are often ruined by water and dirt.» Michael Gübeli adds that the documents are exchanged instantly – in other words, with immediate updates. Mr. Gübeli can always access the latest versions, while quickly responding to any changes and instructing his construction team accordingly. 

Joining by video

The tablets can also be used for live videoconferences. Partners and employees who are not on site can be included in decision-making processes right away. Any changes are discussed in a straightforward manner and approvals obtained quickly. «Live communication allows us to optimize the planning and delivery of material and equipment,» explains Barbara Kuriger. «It makes it easier for us to see what’s missing and identify any changes to, for example, masses or quantities.»

 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_mobile_Antenne-einfach-aktiviert

And that’s not all. Barbara Kuriger is a digital native who sees far greater possibilities still. She has a vision of a digital construction site and has a pragmatic approach to realizing that vision. «We are quickly implementing everything we can do ourselves, without the help of partners or suppliers. Our final goal is completely digitally supported construction, also with the support of so-called building information modeling (BIM).» Ms. Kuriger stipulates that this will still be in the works for some time, because all partners need to digitize their work processes for BIM to function at a site. Today, this is not yet the case. 

 

Virtually simulating construction progress

Föllmi is unfazed by the challenges and keeps investing in digitalization. Among these investments is the training of one employee in various fields of BIM/VDC. «To make sure we are prepared later on,» says Barbara Kuriger with an eye towards the future. Whenever she speaks of the digital future, her excitement is palpable.
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Tabletansicht_3DModelle

IoT will simplify construction logistics

She sees additional digital applications in the Internet of Things (IoT), with machines being connected directly to each other or sensors automatically triggering material or equipment orders whenever they are missing on a site or if something breaks. Augmented reality glasses can expand the various tablet features, for example, by allowing a virtual simulation of construction progress or simplifying quality assurance for construction acceptance.
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Baustelle


5G Joint Innovation Center

Experience innovation live – welcoming inspiration!

  • Experience real 5G and IoT application examples live in the Sunrise UPC and Huawei Joint Innovation Center. Use our pool of experts and the growing ecosystem for your journey of digital transformation and get inspired. We will discuss your first ideas together, without any commitment, and support you in the implementation of innovation projects small and large.
  •  

>> Book a personal tour

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise

A temporary solution for seamless connectivity

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Zusammenarbeit_Baustelle_Tablet

Let’s return to present-day Feusisberg, where foreman Michael Gübeli is looking at the latest plans on the tablet together with his site manager. Barbara Kuriger points to the red container and the small antenna installed there. She proudly says: «This innovation, which we’ve driven together with Sunrise, made working with the tablets possible in the first place.» A quick mobile Internet connection is absolutely indispensable for modern construction sites. 

She points to the red excavator that is crushing a large stone with a large drilling attachment, to illustrate the point she is making: Fixed lines would be damaged again and again. «And installing these is rather cumbersome. We can now save valuable time,» concludes Mr. Kuriger. 

Simple, yet effective

We join our hosts as we make our way out of the pit and back to the construction site office, with the next truck being loaded in the background. Barbara Kuriger points to the antenna attached to a side wall on the outside, and says: «This is what makes efficient work at the site possible in the first place.» Strong magnets affix the mobile antenna to the container, making it very easy to install and disassemble. «It is ready for operation in just 20 minutes – and just like that, our office is set up.» 

Föllmi values this flexibility because, in the future, they are planning to equip all construction sites with Internet access in this way. The journey from a paperless construction office to a completely connected construction site sometimes starts with a very simple yet effective step. 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_mobile_Antenne-schnell-installiert
Smart_Building_FoellmiBusinessConnectivity_Bestellplattform_Webtool

Here’s how company locations are temporarily connected to one another

Every company has its own unique set of needs for perfect internal collaboration. Companies, for example, need to guarantee communication between their various domestic and foreign locations and secure it through a VPN (virtual private network), allowing access to the cloud as well as from the home office. Or, like Föllmi AG, they need to quickly and simply equip their temporary construction sites with a reliable Internet connection. Internet and corporate network services must be private, secure and efficient.

With Business Connectivity, Sunrise offers bespoke services – using fiber optics, copper or mobile communications, depending on the location. Now, this also comprises the ultra-fast 5G network. The necessary tailored services are configured and ordered in just a few clicks using the web tool. New locations are now connected in a matter of days, without weeks or even months of planning ahead. The modular scope of services can be modified or expanded independently at any time, via the Sunrise Business Portal. 

 

More Smart Building Stories

Never miss out on innovation news again 

Would you like to receive regular updates on data-driven innovation? Just register for our newsletter.

 

Salutation
Data privacy *
Our awards
Contact us

Send us an e-mail

We will get back to you as soon as possible

Send e-mail

Digitale Transformation

«Wir vernetzen alle Baustellen, Daten sind unser Fundament»


19. April 2021 | Bilder: Föllmi AG, Sunrise


 

In Feusisberg wird gebaggert und gebohrt. Noch ist nur ein grosses Loch zu sehen, aus dem es staubt. Ganz am Rande davon steht ein roter Container: das Baustellenbüro. Alles scheint ganz normal, wie auf jeder grösseren Baustelle. Doch das täuscht. 

Es ist ein kalter Wintertag in Feusisberg. Die Luft ist klar, die Sonne scheint, unter den Füssen klirrt es beim Gehen. Wir sind zusammen mit Barbara Kuriger von der Föllmi AG unterwegs zu der Baustelle, auf der ihr Unternehmen derzeit seinen neuen Hauptsitz baut. Von weitem ist der Lärm der Baumaschinen zu hören und Staub steigt aus der Baugrube auf. Ein mächtiger roter Bagger gräbt hier das Erdreich um und arbeitet am Aushub. Lastwagen karren das Material weg. 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Pfaeffikonerstrasse86

Die digitale Zukunft hat längst begonnen

Barbara Kuriger führt uns zum roten Container, der über der Baugrube thront. Wir betreten das temporäre Baustellenbüro, wo uns die Leiterin Administration der Föllmi AG mit leuchtenden Augen von ihrem neuesten Digitalprojekt erzählt: „Wir rüsten alle unsere Baustellen mit mobilen Funknetzen und Tablets aus, weil wir damit viel flexibler sind und mobil zusammenarbeiten können.“    
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Bauplan-im-Buero

Auf der Baustelle Feusisberg ist dies schon Realität. Zusammen mit dem Bauführer Michael Gübeli verlassen wir das Büro und begeben uns Richtung Baugrube. Wo derzeit noch Aushubmaterial lagert und erste Stützmauern stehen, zeigt er uns auf dem Tablett in 3D-Qualität die Baupläne. Ein Riesenvorteil, wie Barbara Kuriger erklärt: „Bis aktuelle Papier-Versionen jeweils vor Ort sind, vergehen teils mehrere Tage.

Zudem gehen die Pläne häufig kaputt, weil sie durch Wasser oder Schmutz beschädigt werden.“ Michael Gübeli ergänzt, dass der Austausch von Dokumenten ‚instant‘ erfolgt, sprich Updates sofort geladen werden können. So arbeite er jeweils mit der neuesten Version und könne rasch auf Änderungen reagieren und sein Bauteam entsprechend instruieren.

Per Video zugeschaltet

Eine weitere Einsatz-Möglichkeit der Tablets sind Live- Videokonferenzen. Diese erlauben es, auch Partner oder Mitarbeiter, die nicht vor Ort sind, sofort in Entscheidungen einzubinden. Auf diese Weise werden Änderungen unkompliziert besprochen und Genehmigungen rasch eingeholt. „Dank der Live-Kommunikation optimieren wir auch die Planung und Lieferung von Material und Geräten“, erklärt Barbara Kuriger, „denn wir sehen besser, was fehlt oder wenn es beispielsweise Änderungen bei den Massen oder Stückzahlen gibt.“
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_mobile_Antenne-einfach-aktiviert

Damit nicht genug. Barbara Kuriger ist eine sogenannte Digital Native und sieht noch viel mehr Möglichkeiten. Ihr schwebt die digitale Baustelle vor. Auf dem Weg dorthin geht sie pragmatisch vor. „Alles, was wir selbst, das heisst unabhängig von Partnern oder Lieferanten machen können, führen wir rasch ein. Unser Endziel ist das komplett digital unterstützte Bauen, auch mit Hilfe des sogenannten Building Information Modelling (BIM).“ Gemäss Kuriger ist dies aber ein längerfristiges Vorhaben, denn damit BIM auf einer Baustelle funktioniert, müssen alle involvierten Partner digital arbeiten. Dies ist heute noch nicht immer der Fall. 

 

Den Baufortschritt virtuell simulieren

Föllmi AG lässt sich davon nicht abschrecken und investiert weiter in die Digitalisierung. Unter anderem absolviert derzeit ein Mitarbeiter verschiedene Weiterbildungen im Bereich BIM/VDC. „Damit wir schon mal bereit sind“, blickt Barbara Kuriger voraus. Wenn sie über die digitale Zukunft spricht, spürt man ihre Begeisterung für das Thema.
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Tabletansicht_3DModelle

IoT wird die Baulogistik vereinfachen

Weitere künftige digitale Anwendungsmöglichkeiten sieht sie im Internet of Things (IoT), wo auch Maschinen direkt miteinander verbunden sind oder Sensoren automatisch Material- und Gerätebestellungen auslösen, wenn diese auf einer Baustelle fehlen oder etwas kaputt gegangen ist. Eine Erweiterung verschiedener Tablet- Funktionalitäten könnten auch Augmented Reality Brillen bieten, die es beispielsweise erlauben, den Baufortschritt virtuell zu simulieren oder die Qualitätssicherung für die Bauabnahme zu vereinfachen. 
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Baustelle



Smart Building Special

Sunrise Joint Innovation Days – Die Eventserie für die Bau- und Immobilienwirtschaft

  • Wollen auch Sie die Chancen von vernetzten Baustellen nutzen oder erfahren, wie Föllmi AG verschiedene Firmenstandorte rasch und unkompliziert mit schnellem Internet ausgerüstet hat, auch in abgelegenen Gebieten, und so ihre digitale Transformation vorantreibt? Oder möchten Sie weitere Innovationen entdecken, die Dank 5G und IoT die Digitalisierung der Bau- und Immobilienbranche vorantreiben? Dann treffen Sie unsere Smart Building Experten und melden Sie sich jetzt für die kostenlose Webinar-Serie an.
     

>> Zur Webinar-Serie

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise

Durchgängige Konnektivität dank temporärer Lösung 
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Zusammenarbeit_Baustelle_Tablet

Doch zurück zur Gegenwart auf der Baustelle in Feusisberg, wo Bauführer Michael Gübeli die neusten Pläne mit seinem Polier auf dem Tablett anschaut. Barbara Kuriger zeigt dabei auf den roten Container und eine kleine Antenne, die dort angebracht ist. Stolz sagt sie: „Dank dieser Innovation, die wir zusammen mit Sunrise vorangetrieben haben, ist das Arbeiten mit den Tablets überhaupt erst möglich geworden.“ Eine schnelle mobile Internetverbindung sei das A und O auf der modernen Baustelle. 

Sie zeigt auf den roten Bagger, der mit einem grossen Bohraufsatz einen Steinbrocken zerkleinert, um zu veranschaulichen, was sie damit meint: Fix installierte Leitungen würden immer wieder einmal beschädigt. „Ausserdem ist es aufwändig, diese zu installieren. Jetzt sparen wir wertvolle Zeit.“, weiss Kuriger.   

Simpel, aber effektiv

Während der nächste Lastwagen beladen wird, steigen wir zusammen aus der Baugrube hinauf und gehen zurück zum Büorcontainer. Barbara Kuriger zeigt auf die Antenne, die aussen an einer Seitenwand angebracht ist und sagt: „Sie ermöglicht uns erst das effiziente Arbeiten auf der Baustelle.“ Starke Magnete halten die Mobilfunkantenne am Container fest. Das macht die Installation und Deinstallation sehr einfach. „In nur 20 Minuten ist sie betriebsbereit und unser Baustellenbüro ist eingerichtet.“ 

Diese Flexibilität ist für Föllmi AG wichtig, denn in Zukunft sollen alle Baustellen auf diese Weise mit einem Internetzugang ausgerüstet werden. Der Weg vom papierlosen Baubüro hin zur komplett vernetzten Baustelle beginnt manchmal sehr simpel, aber effektiv. 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_mobile_Antenne-schnell-installiert
Smart_Building_FoellmiBusinessConnectivity_Bestellplattform_Webtool

So werden Firmenstandorte temporär vernetzt

Die Bedürfnisse innerhalb eines Unternehmens für eine optimale Zusammenarbeit sind vielfältig. Es gilt zum Beispiel, die Kommunikation zwischen verschiedenen Standorten im In- und Ausland sicherzustellen und über VPN (Virtual Private Network) zu sichern, den Zugang in die Cloud zu ermöglichen, aber auch Zugang vom Home-Office zuzulassen. Oder, wie die Föllmi AG, duzende von temporären Baustellen mit einem zuverlässigen Internetzugang schnell und einfach auszurüsten. Internet- und Standortvernetzungs-Services müssen dabei privat, sicher und leistungsstark sein. 

Mit Business Connectivity bietet Sunrise passgenaue Services - je nach Standort über Glasfaser, Kupfer oder Mobilfunk an. Neu auch über das ultraschnelle 5G-Netz. Mit wenigen Mausklicks sind die benötigten Services über ein Webtool beliebig konfiguriert und bestellt. Anstatt Wochen oder Monate vorausplanen zu müssen, sind neue Standorte innerhalb weniger Tage verbunden. Anpassungen oder Erweiterungen des modularen Leistungsumfang sind jederzeit selbständig über das Sunrise Business Portal möglich.  

 

Mehr Smart Building Stories


Verpassen Sie keine Innovations-News und abonnieren Sie
unseren Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig über die datengetriebene Innovationen informiert werden? Dann
abonnieren Sie hier unseren Newsletter

 

Anrede
Datenschutz *
Unsere Auszeichnungen

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Schreiben Sie uns an

Wir melden uns schnell zurück

Email schreiben