Digital transformation

«We connect all construction sites – data is our foundation»

19. April 2021 | Images: Föllmi AG, Sunrise

 

Feusisberg is humming with the sound of excavators and drilling machines. For now, visitors can only see a big, dusty hole in the ground. At the very edge, there’s a red container: the site office. On the surface, it all seems like a run of the mill construction site. But there’s something more going on here. 

It is a cold winter’s day in Feusisberg. The air is clear, the sun is out and the ground creaks underneath our feet. We are visiting the site together with Barbara Kuriger. Construction is underway for the new headquarters of her company, Föllmi AG. The noise of construction machinery can be heard from a distance, and dust rises from the pit. A mighty, red excavator is digging away. Lorries haul away the material.

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Pfaeffikonerstrasse86

 

The digital future is already upon us today

Barbara Kuriger leads us to a red container towering over the pit. We set foot in the temporary construction site office, where the Head of Administration of Föllmi AG talks enthusiastically of her latest digital project: «We’re equipping all our sites with mobile networks and tablets. This makes us much more flexible and opens up possibilities of mobile collaboration.» 

 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Bauplan-im-Buero

This vision is already a reality at the Feusisberg site. We walk from the office to the pit with foreman Michael Gübeli. Where a heap of excavated material and the first retaining walls are in place, he shows us 3D construction plans on a tablet. Barbara Kuriger explains the massive advantages this brings: «It sometimes takes days for us to get the paper versions on site. Then, the plans are often ruined by water and dirt.» Michael Gübeli adds that the documents are exchanged instantly – in other words, with immediate updates. Mr. Gübeli can always access the latest versions, while quickly responding to any changes and instructing his construction team accordingly. 

Joining by video

The tablets can also be used for live videoconferences. Partners and employees who are not on site can be included in decision-making processes right away. Any changes are discussed in a straightforward manner and approvals obtained quickly. «Live communication allows us to optimize the planning and delivery of material and equipment,» explains Barbara Kuriger. «It makes it easier for us to see what’s missing and identify any changes to, for example, masses or quantities.»

 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_mobile_Antenne-einfach-aktiviert

And that’s not all. Barbara Kuriger is a digital native who sees far greater possibilities still. She has a vision of a digital construction site and has a pragmatic approach to realizing that vision. «We are quickly implementing everything we can do ourselves, without the help of partners or suppliers. Our final goal is completely digitally supported construction, also with the support of so-called building information modeling (BIM).» Ms. Kuriger stipulates that this will still be in the works for some time, because all partners need to digitize their work processes for BIM to function at a site. Today, this is not yet the case. 

 

Virtually simulating construction progress

Föllmi is unfazed by the challenges and keeps investing in digitalization. Among these investments is the training of one employee in various fields of BIM/VDC. «To make sure we are prepared later on,» says Barbara Kuriger with an eye towards the future. Whenever she speaks of the digital future, her excitement is palpable.
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Tabletansicht_3DModelle

IoT will simplify construction logistics

She sees additional digital applications in the Internet of Things (IoT), with machines being connected directly to each other or sensors automatically triggering material or equipment orders whenever they are missing on a site or if something breaks. Augmented reality glasses can expand the various tablet features, for example, by allowing a virtual simulation of construction progress or simplifying quality assurance for construction acceptance.
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Baustelle


5G Joint Innovation Center

Experience innovation live – welcoming inspiration!

  • Experience real 5G and IoT application examples live in the Sunrise UPC and Huawei Joint Innovation Center. Use our pool of experts and the growing ecosystem for your journey of digital transformation and get inspired. We will discuss your first ideas together, without any commitment, and support you in the implementation of innovation projects small and large.
  •  

>> Book a personal tour

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise

A temporary solution for seamless connectivity

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Zusammenarbeit_Baustelle_Tablet

Let’s return to present-day Feusisberg, where foreman Michael Gübeli is looking at the latest plans on the tablet together with his site manager. Barbara Kuriger points to the red container and the small antenna installed there. She proudly says: «This innovation, which we’ve driven together with Sunrise, made working with the tablets possible in the first place.» A quick mobile Internet connection is absolutely indispensable for modern construction sites. 

She points to the red excavator that is crushing a large stone with a large drilling attachment, to illustrate the point she is making: Fixed lines would be damaged again and again. «And installing these is rather cumbersome. We can now save valuable time,» concludes Mr. Kuriger. 

Simple, yet effective

We join our hosts as we make our way out of the pit and back to the construction site office, with the next truck being loaded in the background. Barbara Kuriger points to the antenna attached to a side wall on the outside, and says: «This is what makes efficient work at the site possible in the first place.» Strong magnets affix the mobile antenna to the container, making it very easy to install and disassemble. «It is ready for operation in just 20 minutes – and just like that, our office is set up.» 

Föllmi values this flexibility because, in the future, they are planning to equip all construction sites with Internet access in this way. The journey from a paperless construction office to a completely connected construction site sometimes starts with a very simple yet effective step. 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_mobile_Antenne-schnell-installiert
Smart_Building_FoellmiBusinessConnectivity_Bestellplattform_Webtool

Here’s how company locations are temporarily connected to one another

Every company has its own unique set of needs for perfect internal collaboration. Companies, for example, need to guarantee communication between their various domestic and foreign locations and secure it through a VPN (virtual private network), allowing access to the cloud as well as from the home office. Or, like Föllmi AG, they need to quickly and simply equip their temporary construction sites with a reliable Internet connection. Internet and corporate network services must be private, secure and efficient.

With Business Connectivity, Sunrise offers bespoke services – using fiber optics, copper or mobile communications, depending on the location. Now, this also comprises the ultra-fast 5G network. The necessary tailored services are configured and ordered in just a few clicks using the web tool. New locations are now connected in a matter of days, without weeks or even months of planning ahead. The modular scope of services can be modified or expanded independently at any time, via the Sunrise Business Portal. 

 

More Smart Building Stories

Never miss out on innovation news again 

Would you like to receive regular updates on data-driven innovation? Just register for our newsletter.

 

Salutation
Data privacy *
Our awards
Contact us

Send us an e-mail

We will get back to you as soon as possible

Send e-mail

Transformation digitale

«Les données sont les fondations de nos chantiers connectés»

19 avril 2021 | Images : Föllmi AG, Sunrise 

 

À Feusisberg, on excave et on fore. Seul est visible un gros trou duquel s’échappe de la poussière. En marge du chantier se trouve un conteneur rouge: le bureau. De prime abord tout paraît normal, mais les apparences sont trompeuses. 

Une froide journée d’hiver à Feusisberg: le ciel est clair, le soleil brille, le sol craque sous nos pieds. Nous sommes en route en compagnie de Barbara Kuriger de Föllmi AG vers le chantier où son entreprise construit actuellement son nouveau siège principal. De loin, on entend le bruit des machines de chantier, et la poussière s’élève de la fouille. Une puissante pelle mécanique rouge creuse la terre et travaille à l’excavation, tandis que des camions déblaient le matériel.  

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Pfaeffikonerstrasse86

L’avenir digital se conjugue déjà au présent

Barbara Kuriger nous mène au conteneur rouge qui trône au-dessus de l’excavation. Nous entrons dans le bureau provisoire où la responsable de l’administration de Föllmi AG nous parle de son nouveau projet numérique avec des yeux qui qui pétillent: «Nous équipons tous nos chantiers d’un réseau sans fil et de tablettes, car cela nous permet d’être beaucoup plus flexibles et de  collaborer de manière mobile.»    
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Bauplan-im-Buero

Sur le chantier de Feusisberg, ce projet est déjà une réalité. En compagnie du chef de chantier Michael Gübeli, nous quittons le bureau et nous dirigeons vers la fouille. À l’endroit où ne se trouvent à présent que des matériaux à déblayer et les premiers murs de soutènement, Michel Gübeli nous montre les plans du chantier en 3D sur sa tablette. Il s’agit d’un avantage de taille, comme l’explique Barbara Kuriger: «Il faut parfois plusieurs jours avant que des versions papier à jour n’arrivent sur place. De plus, ces plans finissent bien souvent par être inutilisables, car ils se détériorent à cause de l’eau ou de la saleté.» Michael Gübeli ajoute que l’échange de documents se fait instantanément, c’est-à-dire que les mises à jour peuvent être téléchargées immédiatement. Il travaille donc toujours avec les versions les plus récentes et peut réagir rapidement à toute modification et informer son équipe en conséquence.  

Connectés par vidéo

Les visioconférences sont une autre utilisation possible des tablettes. Elles permettent aux partenaires ou collaborateurs qui ne sont pas sur place de prendre part immédiatement aux décisions. Il est ainsi possible de discuter facilement de toute modification et d’obtenir rapidement l’approbation des personnes impliquées. «Grâce à la communication en direct, nous optimisons également la planification et la livraison des matériaux et des appareils, développe Barbara Kuriger, car nous voyons plus facilement ce qui manque ou si les dimensions ou quantités ont été modifiées.»
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_mobile_Antenne-einfach-aktiviert

Et ce n’est pas tout. Ayant grandi avec les outils numériques, Barbara Kuriger voit bien d’autres possibilités d’application pour cette technologie. L’idée d’un chantier numérique lui trotte dans la tête. Mais elle est consciente que pour concrétiser cette vision, elle doit rester pragmatique. «Tout ce que nous pouvons faire seuls, c’est-à-dire indépendamment de partenaires ou de fournisseurs, nous pouvons l’intégrer rapidement. Notre objectif final est un chantier reposant entièrement sur le numérique grâce notamment au BIM (Building Information Modeling).» Selon Barbara Kuriger, il s’agit d’un projet à plus long terme, car pour que la méthode BIM fonctionne sur un chantier, tous les partenaires impliqués doivent travailler numériquement. Ce n’est pas encore toujours le cas aujourd’hui. 

 

Simuler virtuellement la progression du chantier

L’entreprise Föllmi ne se laisse toutefois pas freiner et continue d’investir dans la numérisation. L’un de ses collaborateurs suit par exemple actuellement une formation continue sur le thème BIM/VDC. «Nous serons prêts le moment venu», prévoit Barbara Kuriger. Son enthousiasme pour le sujet de l’avenir numérique est palpable.
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Tabletansicht_3DModelle

L’IoT pour faciliter la logistique de chantier

Barbara Kuriger voit également dans l’Internet des objets (IoT) d’autres possibilités d’application numériques pour l’avenir. Des machines seront ainsi connectées directement entre elles et des capteurs déclencheront automatiquement des commandes de matériel et d’appareils lorsque ces derniers viendront à manquer sur un chantier ou ne seront plus en état de marche. Les lunettes de réalité augmentée pourraient également élargir certaines fonctionnalités des tablettes, par exemple afin de simuler virtuellement la progression d’un chantier ou de faciliter le contrôle qualité de la réception des travaux. 
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Baustelle



5G Joint Innovation Center

Vivre l’innovation en direct – place à l’inspiration!

  • Découvrez des exemples d’applications réelles de l’IoT et de la 5G au Joint Innovation Center de Sunrise UPC et Huawei. Profitez de notre pool d’experts et de d’un ’écosystème en pleine expansion pour votre transformation numérique et laissez-vous inspirer. Ensemble, nous discuterons sans engagement de vos idées et nous vous soutiendrons dans la mise en œuvre de vos petits et grands projets d’innovation. 
     

>> Réserver une visite personnalisée

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise

Une connectivité complète grâce à une solution temporaire 
 

Smart_Building_Foellmi_Zusammenarbeit_Baustelle_Tablet

Revenons au présent, sur le chantier de Feusisberg, où le chef de chantier Michael Gübeli, accompagné de son contremaître, nous montre les derniers plans sur sa tablette. Barbara Kuriger pointe du doigt une petite antenne installée sur le conteneur rouge. Avec fierté, elle nous explique: «C’est uniquement grâce à cette innovation développée en collaboration avec Sunrise que le travail sur tablette a été rendu possible.» Une connexion Internet mobile rapide est pour elle l’alpha et l’oméga d’un chantier moderne. 

Pour illustrer sa pensée, elle indique la pelle mécanique rouge qui, à l’aide d’une grande tarière, réduit en petit morceaux un bloc de pierre: «Si l’on utilisait des câbles fixes, ils seraient régulièrement endommagés. En outre, leur installation demande un investissement conséquent. Nous gagnons maintenant un temps précieux», affirme-t-elle.

Simple mais efficace

Alors que le chargement des camions se poursuit, nous sortons de la fouille et remontons vers le bureau container. Barbara Kuriger montre l’antenne installée sur l’une des parois latérales: «C’est grâce à elle que nous pouvons travailler aussi efficacement sur le chantier.» De solides aimants maintiennent fermement l’antenne de téléphonie mobile sur le conteneur, facilitant grandement son installation et sa désinstallation. «En seulement 20 minutes, elle est prête à l’emploi, et notre bureau de chantier est configuré.» 

Cette flexibilité est très importante pour Föllmi, car à l’avenir, tous les chantiers devront être équipés d’un accès Internet de cette manière. Le processus pour passer d’un bureau de chantier sans papier à un chantier entièrement connecté commence parfois très simplement, mais se révèle efficace.   

Smart_Building_Foellmi_mobile_Antenne-schnell-installiert
Smart_Building_FoellmiBusinessConnectivity_Bestellplattform_Webtool

L’interconnexion temporaire de sites d’entreprise

Pour garantir une collaboration optimale, il faut répondre à différents besoins au sein d’une entreprise. Par exemple, il faut assurer la communication entre les différents sites en Suisse et à l’étranger et via VPN (Virtual Private Network), rendre possible l’accès au cloud, mais également permettre un accès aux collaborateurs faisant du télétravail. Ou, comme Föllmi AG, équiper rapidement et facilement des dizaines de chantiers temporaires d’un accès fiable à Internet. Les services Internet et de réseau d’entreprise doivent donc être privés, sûrs et puissants.    

Avec Business Connectivity, Sunrise propose des services sur mesure en fonction du site grâce à la fibre optique, au cuivre ou au réseau mobile. Et maintenant, grâce au réseau 5G ultra-rapide. En quelques clics, un outil web permet de configurer et de commander à souhait les services nécessaires. Les nouveaux sites sont connectés en l’espace de quelques jours – plus besoin de planification des semaines ou des mois à l’avance. Il est également possible de modifier ou d’étendre les prestations modulaires à tout moment et de façon indépendante via le Sunrise Business Portal.

 

Plus de Smart Building Stories


Ne manquez plus les news sur l’innovation 

Vous souhaitez être régulièrement informé des innovations basées sur les données?
Il vous suffit pour cela de vous abonner à notre Newsletter.

 

Salutation
Protection des données *
Nos récompenses – faites-nous confiance

Contactez-nous

Écrivez-nous

Nous vous recontacterons rapidement

Envoyer un e-mail