Sustainable agriculture is digital 

March 30, 2021 | Images: Agroscope / fenaco / Adobe Stock / Huawai

 

Digitization in agriculture is one of the topics of focus within the Sunrise and Huawei Joint Innovation Center. On the basis of 5G, modern technologies are ensuring that farming is becoming more «smart» and therefore more sustainable and efficient. An array of pilot projects are demonstrating the benefits farmers can expect when data, drones, GPS and similar technologies interact with cattle and plants.  

Diversity is the lifeblood of Swiss agriculture. From the Rhine Valley to Upper Valais, approximately 50,000 agribusinesses are keeping livestock, producing food and maintaining our cultivated land across mountains and valleys. Agriculture is associated with a down-to-earth attitude and being close to nature. But just like our everyday lives and working lives as a whole, Swiss agriculture has become inexorably digitized.  

 

«Do not worry about the harvest, but about the right cultivation of your fields.»
Confucius (551–479 BC) 

 

The «Internet of Things» in support of agriculture 

The Internet of Things generally revolves around digital interconnectivity and the Internet’s applications within the real world. The knowledge we’ve gained from our fitness trackers and navigation systems in our cars is used in Smart Farming and applied to tractors and combine harvesters, farms and stables, and plants and animals. The connected «things» exchange data, which in turn are interlinked and evaluated. Conclusions can be drawn from the data that enable smarter economic management.  

 

Smart_Farming-Sunrise_Glasshaus

Technologies – modern «seeds» 

Powerful telecommunications connections are the foundation of digital interconnectivity. With its extensive fields, remote farmsteads and animals on alpine pastures, digital interconnectivity would be particularly inconceivable within the agricultural sector without mobile communications. This includes the cloud, big data and artificial intelligence, high-resolution image recognition, sensors and robotics as well as drones, satellite technology and GPS. With the introduction of the fifth generation of mobile communications, a veritable paradigm shift is just around the corner. This shift will open up completely new application scenarios that have never been possible before. 

 

5G is ushering in a paradigm shift 

5G delivers wireless connectivity at a high bandwidth, low latency and with an enormous amount of parallel connections. This means that all devices required for the Internet of Things, such as sensors, tracking systems, drones, computers and smartphones, can benefit from high-performance mobile communications at the same time. And that, in turn, means that large quantities of data can be transmitted at breakneck speed with almost no delay. This makes real-time applications possible, such as the Innosuisse-funded innovation project for weed control regarding the so-called bitter dock. Compared to 4G transmission, 5G only needs a third of the energy to transmit the same amount of data. 5G networks are therefore an important component when it comes to ensuring sustainable production in agriculture and achieving the goal of a climate-neutral Switzerland by 2030.

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_5G_Mast

A partner ecosystem for innovation in agriculture 

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Cow_Mast

Sunrise and Huawei have joined forces with agricultural stakeholders to promote the use of 5G and other smart technologies in Swiss agriculture. In a growing ecosystem that includes industry representatives such as Fenaco, research institutions such as the OST (Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences), the Agroscope Swiss center of excellence and innovative startups, solutions are being worked on that are looking at how these technologies can create benefits in Swiss agriculture. Already realized applications, pilot projects and visions for the future are being showcased at the Sunrise and Huawei Joint Innovation Center, which speaks to a close technology and innovation partnership between the two companies.  

Book an appointment on 5G and Smart Farming at the JIC

The vision of Smart Farming – already a reality 

Pilot project 1 – Data-based weed control for clean groundwater 

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Blacken

Until now, weeds in fields have been removed either painstakingly by hand or by using herbicides. A project to combat bitter dock is demonstrating completely new ways in which the weed control process can be digitized and thus made more environmentally friendly, faster and cheaper thanks to 5G: The pasture is photographed in high resolution using drones The images are sent to the cloud in real time, where the dock is identified and localized using image recognition software. Using machine learning based on thousands of images, the program recognizes dock in different stages of growth. A field robot receives the coordinates of the dock that the program has identified and can remove them very precisely via a method known as «Spot Spraying». The vision for the future is an autonomous, GPS-controlled robotic system that will regulate dock using hot water instead of herbicides. Pesticide consumption can be reduced immensely; the pastures will become more productive, the groundwater will be cleaner and the farmer will save time and money. 

 

 

The InnoSuisse project in detail  
 

 


Pilot project 2 – «Connected Cow» for improved animal welfare 

5G-based technologies can help farmers to optimize their cows’ milk production, track their eating habits or monitor the calving process. Connected mobile sensors on the ears, in the collars or on the legs of the cows record biometric information such as walking behavior, feed intake or time lying down. Changes in these parameters allow conclusions to be drawn regarding animal welfare, e.g., when a cow is in heat and it is therefore the most favorable time for insemination. Thanks to high-resolution, real-time data transmission, a farmer can monitor the calving process without having to conduct unnecessary physical checks in person at the barn. The livestock owner can call up information on how their animals are doing at any time via their smartphone. The «Connected Cow» solution has real potential to make animal husbandry more efficient and more species-appropriate.

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Kuehe

Pilot project 3 – «Precision Farming» for precise fertilization 
 

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Drone

One area of Smart Farming is so-called Precision Farming. Precision Farming allows goals that would at first glance appear to be at odds with one another to be brought together: The fertilization required for optimal yields in agriculture has an impact on the environment. An impact that needs to be reduced. As part of this project, drones and satellites gauge the status of plants in the fields, while sensors measure the condition of the soil as well as the soil water’s nitrate content. The data are collected in the cloud and each piece of data is linked to one another. A fertilization map can be programed from the results, which enables the fertilizer to be distributed exclusively on the individual areas where fertilization is necessary, depending on the needs of the plants and the productivity of the soil. This allows the amount of fertilizer to be reduced without sacrificing yield, which results in cost savings for the farmer. The result: Greater nitrogen efficiency and a lower risk of nitrogen loss to the environment. 

Pilot project 4 – Autonomous agricultural vehicles
 

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Landwirtschaftsroboter

Organic farming still requires a lot of manual labor. The vision of the future is for autonomous, collaborative robotic systems to be carrying out tasks such as weed control in pastures and fields, landscape maintenance and sowing and harvesting work. Good connectivity and low latency are required to control and monitor these autonomous vehicles. And these are exactly what 5G provides. Thanks to 5G, it will also be possible for aerial photographs from drones or satellites to be transmitted to the cloud in real time. There, the plants are identified and their condition is analyzed. Thanks to self-learning algorithms (artificial intelligence) and big data analysis, identification and analysis are becoming more and more precise, with cameras being able to differentiate, for example, between lettuce plants and weeds and between healthy lettuces and lettuces affected by disease. The corresponding order to administer any required treatment is also transmitted to the agricultural machine in real time via mobile communications. The agricultural machine is guided to the geolocalized plant via GPS and can treat it to a large extent on a plant-specific basis. 

Summary: Benefits for us all
 

When it comes to potential application scenarios, there are no limits except for the ones we place on our own imagination. Smart irrigation systems that measure soil moisture or water quality and calculate the exact amount of water required are just as possible as systems that monitor pests digitally, with these pests being identified and their number and level of proliferation monitored so that they can be combated precisely and proactively.  

 

The overall result is an agricultural sector that has a lower impact on the environment in terms of pesticides, conserves natural resources, generates higher yields and saves farmers costs. Smart Farming is utilizing and drawing closer to organic farming, resulting in lower expenditure as well as better protection of people and nature.  

 




Interview with Dr. Thomas Anken:

5G has the potential to become the "power socket" of the 21st century.

  • Dr. Thomas Anken conducts research at Agroscope, Switzerland's center of excellence for agricultural research. Agroscope is affiliated with the Federal Office for Agriculture, as well as subordinate to the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research. 
  •  
  • Click here for the interview

 

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise

 Are you interested in your own “Smart Farming” innovations?

We would be happy to advise you individually to find the best business solution for you.

 

*Note: All fields are mandatory

Newsletter
Privacy policy *
Our awards

Contact us

Call us

We are happy to assist you under

0800 555 552

Write to us

We will get back to you as soon as possible

Write a mail

L’agriculture durable sera numérique

30 mars 2021 | Images: Agroscope / fenaco / Adobe Stock / Huawai

 

La numérisation de l’agriculture est l’un des thèmes centraux du Joint Innovation Center de Sunrise et Huawei. En se basant sur la 5G, les technologies modernes participent à l’avènement d’une agriculture intelligente, plus durable et plus efficace. Une série de projets pilotes révèlent le potentiel d’application en faisant interagir données, drones et GPS avec les élevages et les cultures.

L’agriculture suisse prospère grâce à sa diversité. Environ 50 000 exploitations agricoles qui s’étendent de la vallée du Rhin au Haut-Valais élèvent du bétail, produisent des denrées alimentaires et entretiennent des cultures dans les montagnes et les vallées. On associe souvent l’agriculture à l'attachement au terroir et à une proximité avec la nature. Pourtant, comme l’ensemble de notre quotidien et de nos professions, l’agriculture suisse se numérise inexorablement.

 

«Ne te soucie pas de ta récolte, mais plutôt de bien cultiver tes champs.» 
Confucius (551-479 av. J.-C.) 

 

L’«Internet des objets» au service de l’agriculture

Par Internet des objets (IoT), on entend généralement l’interconnexion numérique et les applications d’Internet au quotidien dans le monde tangible. Les mêmes technologies développées pour les montres connectées ou les systèmes de navigation des voitures peuvent être appliquées à l’agriculture intelligente, par exemple aux tracteurs et aux moissonneuses-batteuses, aux fermes et aux étables ainsi qu’aux plantes et aux animaux. Les «objets» interconnectés échangent des données, lesquelles sont à leur tour mises en relation et exploitées. Les données peuvent ensuite être utilisées pour tirer des conclusions en vue d’assurer une gestion plus intelligente des ressources.

 

Smart_Farming-Sunrise_Glasshaus

Technologies: les «semences» du futur

La base de l’interconnexion numérique consiste en des liaisons de télécommunications performantes. De fait, l’agriculture, de par ses vastes cultures, ses fermes reculées ou ses animaux d’alpages, ne se conçoit pas sans réseau mobile. À cela s’ajoutent le cloud, le big data et l’intelligence artificielle, la reconnaissance d’images haute résolution, les capteurs, la robotique, les drones, les satellites et le GPS. Avec l’introduction de la cinquième génération de communications mobiles, un véritable changement de paradigme se profile à l’horizon, qui rendra possibles des scénarios d’application totalement nouveaux.

La 5G inaugure un changement de paradigme

La 5G offre une connectivité sans fil à très haut débit, une faible latence et permet un nombre gigantesque de connexions parallèles. Ainsi, tous les appareils nécessaires à l’Internet des objets tels que les capteurs, les systèmes de suivi, les drones, les ordinateurs ou les smartphones peuvent être connectés simultanément au réseau mobile performant. De gros volumes de données peuvent donc être transmis à très haut débit, de façon quasi immédiate. Cette utilisation des données en temps réel a permis à des projets novateurs de voir le jour, tel que celui financé par Innosuisse pour lutter contre les plantes adventices comme le rumex. Par rapport à la transmission 4G, la 5G ne nécessite qu’un tiers de l’énergie pour transmettre la même quantité de données. Les réseaux 5G jouent donc un rôle clé pour une production agricole durable et pour atteindre l’objectif de la neutralité climatique en Suisse d’ici 2030.

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_5G_Mast

Un écosystème de partenaires pour l’innovation agricole

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Cow_Mast

Sunrise et Huawei se sont associés à des acteurs du monde agricole pour promouvoir l’utilisation de la 5G et d’autres technologies intelligentes dans l’agriculture suisse. Dans un écosystème en pleine expansion intégrant des représentants de l’industrie tels que fenaco, des institutions de recherche telles que la Haute École spécialisée de la Suisse orientale OST, le centre de compétences fédéral Agroscope et des startups innovantes, des solutions sont élaborées pour que ces technologies puissent profiter à l’agriculture suisse. Le Joint Innovation Center de Sunrise et Huawei présente des applications déjà mises en œuvre, des projets pilotes et des idées d’avenir qui témoignent de la collaboration étroite entre technologie et innovation. 

Prenez un rendez-vous sur la 5G et l'agriculture intelligente au JIC.

Le futur de l’agriculture intelligente se conjugue au présent

Projet pilote 1 – Lutter contre les adventices grâce aux données pour protéger les nappes phréatiques

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Blacken

Jusqu’à présent, les plantes adventices dans les champs étaient éliminées soit laborieusement à la main, soit au moyen d’herbicides. Le projet de lutte contre le rumex met en lumière des méthodes totalement nouvelles permettant de numériser en profondeur ce processus grâce à la 5G, ce qui le rend plus écologique, plus rapide et moins coûteux. Le champ est photographié en haute résolution par des drones. Les images sont envoyées en temps réel dans le cloud, où le rumex est identifié et localisé au moyen d’un logiciel de reconnaissance d’images. Grâce à l’apprentissage automatique basé sur des milliers d’images, le programme reconnaît le rumex à différents stades de croissance. Un robot de terrain reçoit les coordonnées du rumex ainsi identifié et l’élimine avec une grande précision par pulvérisation ciblée ou «spot spraying». À l’avenir, il est prévu qu’un système robotisé autonome contrôlé par GPS lutte contre le rumex à l’eau brûlante, sans aucun herbicide. L’utilisation de produits phytosanitaires pourra être considérablement réduite, le rendement des cultures sera plus élevé, les nappes phréatiques seront plus propres et l’agriculteur gagnera du temps et de l’argent. 

 

Le projet Innosuisse en détail
 

 


Projet pilote 2 – Une «vache connectée» pour un meilleur bien-être animal

Les technologies basées sur la 5G peuvent aider les agriculteurs à optimiser la production de lait de leurs vaches, à suivre leur comportement alimentaire ou à surveiller le vêlage. Des capteurs mobiles interconnectés placés dans les colliers, sur les oreilles ou sur les pattes des vaches enregistrent des informations biométriques telles que la façon de marcher, la consommation d’aliments ou les temps de repos. L’évolution de ces paramètres permet de tirer des conclusions sur le bien-être des animaux, par exemple en déterminant le moment où une vache est en chaleur et le moment le plus favorable pour l’insémination. Grâce à une transmission de données en haute résolution et en temps réel, l’agriculteur surveille à distance le processus de vêlage et s’épargne ainsi les contrôles physiques dans l’étable. Il peut obtenir à tout moment sur son smartphone des informations à propos de ses animaux. Le projet «vache connectée» a un réel potentiel pour rendre l’élevage plus efficace et mieux adapté à chaque espèce.

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Kuehe

Projet pilote 3 – «Agriculture de précision» pour une fertilisation ciblée  

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Drone

L’agriculture de précision est un sous-domaine de l’agriculture intelligente. Elle permet de concilier des objectifs à première vue contradictoires: la fertilisation est nécessaire à l’optimisation des rendements agricoles mais a un impact sur l’environnement qu’il convient de diminuer. Dans ce projet, des drones et des satellites mesurent l’état des plantes cultivées et des capteurs analysent l’état du sol et la teneur en nitrates des eaux du sol. Les données sont collectées dans le cloud et mises en relation. Elles servent ensuite à programmer un plan de fumure qui permet de distribuer l’engrais uniquement dans les zones où celui-ci est nécessaire, en fonction des besoins des plantes et du rendement du sol. La quantité d’engrais peut donc être réduite sans que cela n’affecte les rendements, ce qui représente des économies pour l’agriculteur. Cela permet une utilisation plus efficiente de l’azote et réduit les risques liés aux pertes de cet engrais dans l’environnement. 

Projet pilote 4 – Véhicules agricoles autonomes

Smart_Farming_Sunrise_Landwirtschaftsroboter

L’agriculture écologique nécessite encore beaucoup de travail manuel. Dans le futur, des systèmes robotiques autonomes et collaboratifs effectueront des tâches allant du désherbage des prés et des champs à l’entretien des paysages en passant par les semailles et les récoltes. Le pilotage et la surveillance de ces véhicules autonomes nécessitent une bonne connectivité et une faible latence, ce qu’offre la 5G. Grâce à elle, il sera également possible de transmettre en temps réel dans le cloud des images aériennes provenant de drones ou de satellites. Les plantes y seront alors identifiées et leur état sera analysé. Grâce aux algorithmes d’auto-apprentissage (intelligence artificielle) et à l’analyse du big data, l’identification et l’analyse gagnent constamment en précision. La caméra distingue par exemple les plants de laitue des adventices et les salades saines des salades malades. Le traitement requis est également transmis à la machine agricole en temps réel via le réseau mobile. La machine est guidée par GPS vers la plante géolocalisée et peut la traiter de manière très spécifique. 

Conclusion: une technologie bénéfique pour tous
 

La créativité est la seule limite concernant les scénarios d’application de l’agriculture intelligente. Parmi les applications possibles figurent notamment: les systèmes d’irrigation intelligents mesurant l’humidité du sol ou la qualité de l’eau et calculant avec précision la quantité d’eau nécessaire, ou la surveillance numérique des parasites, leur identification et le suivi de leur nombre et de leur prolifération pour un contrôle précis et proactif. 

Dans l’ensemble, il en résulte une agriculture plus respectueuse de l’environnement en raison d’une utilisation réduite des pesticides, et qui préserve les ressources naturelles et génère des rendements plus élevés tout en permettant aux agriculteurs de faire des économies. L’agriculture intelligente s’inspire de l’agriculture biologique et s’en approche, tout en requérant moins d’efforts et en assurant une meilleure protection des personnes et de la nature. 




Interview du Dr Thomas Anken:

La 5G a le potentiel pour devenir la "prise de courant" du 21e siècle.

  • Le Dr Thomas Anken mène des recherches à Agroscope, le centre d'excellence suisse pour la recherche agricole. Agroscope est affilié à l'Office fédéral de l'agriculture, ainsi que subordonné au Département fédéral de l'économie, de la formation et de la recherche. 

  • Cliquez ici pour l'interview
Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise
Nos récompenses

Contactez-nous

Appelez-nous

Nous sommes là pour vous conseiller au

0800 555 552

Écrivez-nous

Nous vous recontacterons rapidement

Envoyer le courrier