Energy Strategy

Smart meters pave the way for innovations in energy

19. April 2021 | Author: Oscar Rechou Iglesias | Images: iStock, Sunrise

 

Swiss energy providers are called upon to replace their conventional electricity meters with smart meters. These are an integral component of intelligent distribution networks and open up countless new and data-driven business models. This not only creates opportunities for traditional energy providers, but also for new players. Those companies that wish to secure their market standing in the long term need to invest at an early stage.

As part of the Energy Strategy 2050, the Swiss Federal Government obligated Swiss energy utilities to replace 80 percent of their conventional electricity meters with smart meters by 2027. This strategy has one clear objective: sustainable energy efficiency and securing the supply.

Smart meters are intelligent meters that can store, send and receive data through the mobile network and Internet of Things (IoT). The data are generally collected in 15-minute cycles, to then be transmitted to the data concentrators (DCs) in the transformer stations in an encrypted form, after which they are forwarded directly to the energy utilities. This is how smart meters contribute decisively to greater transparency on actual power consumption. This holds several benefits for all stakeholders in the electricity market.  

 

SmartBuilding_vereinfachtes-Ablesen

Little helpers transmit digital gold for greater (energy) efficiency

Machine readouts of actual energy consumption spares tenants and property owners the effort of future payments to their account and automates billing. This makes the billing process less error prone and reduces the administrative effort on the part of the utilities. Utilities that manage to gain a better understanding of the energy consumption of their customers with intelligent meters and comprehensive monitoring can use these insights to sustainably lower costs and boost customer loyalty with attractive services. By managing grid fluctuations through targeted recommended action and digital energy services, companies can save significantly on network expansions.    

 

SmartBuilding_einfache-Netzverwaltung

Digital service models are up next

Besides the traditional players in the energy market, the possibilities opened up by smart metering can also be leveraged by new competitors with data-driven business models. Competition is getting fiercer. Swisseldex, for example, developed a central data exchange platform that simplifies meter change processes and provides associated services. Swiss telecommunications providers Sunrise and UPC are currently working on an energy solution that will open up new business models for all market participants. Investing in data visualization and IoT-based services at an early stage pays off, as does the decision to enter digital ecosystems. 

 

SmartBuilding_smart home heating

The liberalized electricity market drives autarkic energy supply

Besides the applications previously mentioned, smart meters have another crucial function: Being connected with both intelligent control modules (gateways) and a digital transformer station, they lay the foundation for an intelligent distribution network – the smart grid. In digital transformer stations, the current can flow in both directions. Energy providers can not only supply end consumers with their electricity, but also collect the solar power generated on roofs of private household. 

SmartBuilding_Solarenergie-einspeisen_

This solves one of the current challenges facing sustainable energy: a large number of building owners are generating power for private use, but are confronted with inefficient private storage solutions, with limited options for distributing their electricity to other consumers. If the surplus electricity runs through the digital transformer stations, it can be collected in large joint storage systems, to also supply other consumers with electricity whenever necessary. All this stimulates the approach of autarkic energy supply, which will grow significantly more important with the upcoming liberalization of the electricity market.
 

SmartBuilding__Ablesen

IoT connectivity is required

SmartBuilding_iot-ready-building

As data sources for new electricity applications or integral components of smart grids – smart meters hold great potential for the energy industry. However, to be able to benefit from digital meters in the first place, they must communicate with both the data concentrators as well as utilities. Smart meters therefore depend on reliable communication networks and the Internet of Things.

Mobile communication standards such as 5G have one clear advantage: they do not require investments in network expansion. However, building insulation can be an obstacle to these mobile communications technologies. Smart meters are often installed in basements, which is why Narrowband IoT (NB-IoT) or Cat-M1 are suitable alternatives. These wireless standards can also penetrate thick walls. These are so-called low-power wide-area technologies with excellent energy efficiency.  



5G Joint Innovation Center

Experience innovation live – welcoming inspiration!

  • Experience real 5G and IoT application examples live in the Sunrise and UPC and Huawei Joint Innovation Center. Use our pool of experts and the growing ecosystem for your journey of digital transformation and get inspired. We will discuss your first ideas together, without any commitment, and support you in the implementation of innovation projects small and large.
  •  

>> Book a personal tour

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise

Ready for the transition or do you have any questions?

Then don't hesitate and contact Oscar Rechou without obligation and free of charge via form or phone.

Ich freue mich schon Ihnen zu antworten.​

+41 76 777 25 25

Termin vereinbaren
More Smart Building Stories
Our awards
Contact us

Send us an e-mail

We will get back to you as soon as possible

Send e-mail

Stratégie énergétique

Smart Meters: l’innovation du secteur énergétique

19 avril 2021 | Auteur: Oscar Rechou Iglesias | Images: iStock, Sunrise

 

Les fournisseurs d’électricité suisses sont tenus de remplacer leur compteurs électriques conventionnels par des compteurs intelligents. Ces derniers sont une composante importante des réseaux de distribution intelligents et permettent de créer nombre de nouveaux modèles d’affaires basés sur les données. Pour les fournisseurs d’électricité traditionnels tout comme pour les nouveaux prestataires, c’est là l’occasion de se démarquer. Pour s’assurer une bonne position à long terme sur le marché, ils ont intérêt à investir le plus tôt possible.

Dans le cadre de la stratégie énergétique 2050, la Confédération demande aux entreprises suisses d’approvisionnement en énergie (EAE) de remplacer 80% de leurs compteurs électriques conventionnels par des compteurs intelligents d’ici 2027. Objectif final de cette stratégie: assurer une efficacité énergétique durable et la sécurité de l’approvisionnement.

Les Smart Meters sont des compteurs pouvant enregistrer, envoyer et recevoir des données grâce au réseau mobile et à l’Internet des objets (IoT). Les données sont en règle générale saisies à une cadence de 15 minutes et transmises de manière sécurisée aux concentrateurs de données (DC) dans les postes de transformation puis aux fournisseurs d’électricité. Les compteurs intelligents contribuent donc grandement à la transparence de la consommation électrique réelle. Cela comporte de multiples avantages pour tous les acteurs du marché de l’électricité. 

 

SmartBuilding_vereinfachtes-Ablesen

De l’or numérique pour plus d’efficacité (énergétique)

La lecture automatique de la consommation électrique effective épargnera à l’avenir aux locataires et aux propriétaires de faire des acomptes et automatisera la facturation. Cela permettra également de réduire le nombre d’erreurs dans le processus de facturation et de minimiser la charge administrative des EAE. Des fournisseurs qui comprennent mieux la consommation énergétique de leurs clients grâce à des compteurs intelligents peuvent aussi baisser leurs tarifs de façon durable et améliorer leur relation client grâce à des services attractifs. En maîtrisant les fluctuations de la demande grâce à des recommandations ciblées et des services énergétiques numériques, il est possible de réaliser des économies considérables sur le développement de son réseau.

 

SmartBuilding_einfache-Netzverwaltung

De nouveaux modèles de service numériques

Outre les acteurs traditionnels du secteur de l’énergie, les possibilités créées par les compteurs intelligents attirent également de nouveaux concurrents ayant pour perspective le déploiement de modèles d’affaires basés sur les données. La pression concurrentielle augmente. Swisseldex a ainsi développé une plateforme centrale d’échange de données permettant de simplifier les processus d’échange et de fournir des services connexes. Parallèlement, les fournisseurs de télécommunications suisses Sunrise et UPC travaillent sur une solution énergétique qui permettra à tous les acteurs du marché d’adopter de nouveaux modèles d’affaires. Il vaut donc la peine d’investir tôt dans la visualisation des données et les services basés sur l’IoT et de s’insérer dans les écosystèmes numériques.

 

SmartBuilding_smart home heating

La libéralisation du marché de l’électricité favorise l’autonomie énergétique

En plus des domaines d’utilisation déjà mentionnés, les compteurs intelligents ont une autre fonction éminemment importante: connectés à des modules de commande intelligents (passerelles) et à d’autres compteurs grâce à une station de transformation numérique, ils constituent la base d’un réseau de distribution intelligent, le Smart Grid. Les stations de transformation numérique permettent au courant électrique de circuler dans les deux directions. Cela signifie que les fournisseurs d’énergie peuvent non seulement fournir leur électricité au consommateur final, mais également collecter l’énergie photovoltaïque produite par des particuliers sur les toits de leurs maisons. 

SmartBuilding_Solarenergie-einspeisen_

L’un des défis actuels des énergies renouvelables trouve ainsi une réponse: de nombreux propriétaires immobiliers produisent de l’électricité pour leur propre consommation. Cependant, les solutions de stockage privées sont encore peu efficaces et n’offrent que des possibilités limitées pour la redistribution électrique à d’autres consommateurs. Cependant, si l’électricité excédentaire passe par les stations de transformation numériques, elle peut être collectée dans de grands systèmes de stockage communs pour alimenter d’autres consommateurs au besoin. Cela renforce le concept d’autonomie énergétique, qui prendra bientôt de l’ampleur avec la libéralisation du marché de l’électricité.
 

SmartBuilding__Ablesen

Un réseau IoT, une condition nécessaire

SmartBuilding_iot-ready-building

En tant que source de données pour de nouvelles applications énergétiques ou en tant que composant essentiel des futurs Smart Grids, les compteurs intelligents ont beaucoup de potentiel pour le secteur de l’énergie. Néanmoins, pour que les compteurs électriques numériques soient vraiment utiles, ils doivent pouvoir communiquer à la fois avec les concentrateurs de données et avec les fournisseurs d’énergie. Les compteurs intelligents dépendent donc de la fiabilité des réseaux de communication et de l’Internet des objets. 

Les standards de réseau mobile tels que la 5G présentent l’avantage de ne pas nécessiter d’investissements élevés pour l’extension du réseau. Cependant, l’isolation des bâtiments constitue dans certains cas un obstacle pour ces technologies mobiles. Pour les compteurs intelligents, souvent installés dans les caves, l’utilisation de la Narrowband IoT (NB-IoT) ou de la Cat-M1 est donc préférable. Ces standards de réseau sont en mesure de traverser les murs épais. Il s’agit de technologies longue portée à faible consommation (Low Power Wide Area), très efficaces sur le plan énergétique.



5G Joint Innovation Center

Vivre l’innovation en direct – place à l’inspiration!

  • Découvrez des exemples d’applications réelles de l’IoT et de la 5G au Joint Innovation Center de Sunrise et UPC et Huawei. Profitez de notre pool d’experts et de d’un ’écosystème en pleine expansion pour votre transformation numérique et laissez-vous inspirer. Ensemble, nous discuterons sans engagement de vos idées et nous vous soutiendrons dans la mise en œuvre de vos petits et grands projets d’innovation. 
     

>> Réserver une visite personnalisée

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise

Vous êtes prêt pour le changement ou vous avez des questions??​

N'hésitez pas à contacter Oscar Rechou sans engagement et gratuitement via le formulaire ou le téléphone.

J'ai hâte de vous répondre.

+41 76 777 25 25

Fixer un rendez-vous

Salutation
Protection des données
Plus de Smart Building Stories
Nos récompenses – faites-nous confiance

Contactez-nous

Écrivez-nous

Nous vous recontacterons rapidement

Envoyer un e-mail