Transparent buildings

Startup in St. Gallen stirs up industry

 

20.5.2021 | Author: Dieter Boller | Images: Sunrise, Builcon

Mixed-reality applications make it possible to considerably ramp up productivity on construction sites and in facility management. The Swiss startup Builcon shows how it’s done – and is setting new standards in the construction industry with augmented reality, building information modeling and 5G.

Lucas Däscher greets us in the 5G Joint Innovation Center (JIC) in Opfikon, run by Sunrise and Huawei, where he is bringing his latest innovation in visualizing building technology to life for potential customers and business partners. 

Däscher is the Founder and Managing Director of Builcon, a St. Gallen-based startup that specializes in sophisticated networked buildings. «In all of our projects, we strive for the highest possible level of comfort and a sensible use of resources», he says. Mr. Däscher has won over architects, developers and investors with his ideas. Aside from his main business – planning construction projects – he regularly likes to take the time to get together with his team, pause for a moment, reflect and pursue innovative projects. «Many small companies are simply chopping wood», says Däscher. «We also take the time to sharpen the axe.»

Lucas-Daescher_Builcon-Portrait2_750x563px

Digital helper for facility management

One of these sessions spawned the idea of augmented reality (AR) for facility management, based on the principle of the «transparent building». With a combination of building information modeling (BIM) data and mixed-reality glasses that enable interactive 3D projections in the immediate environment, facility management should be simplified considerably. The person wearing the glasses can see – essentially through the walls – where the pipes, cable routes and ducts run. The BMI model of the building is stored on a server and can be accessed in real time thanks to 5G. «The glasses use AR to import the sensor data into the facility manager’s field of vision in real time», Däscher explains. To name an example, they can see the location of a defective heating valve in the ceiling and open the nearest ceiling panel to access the source of the problem without much prior knowledge. 

 

Builcon-Testingphase_AR-FM_750x563px

Without this technology, the technical facility manager would first need to dig out the physical plans that are filed away in a binder somewhere. Or they might even have to request the documents from the installer from way back when. If that doesn’t work, they would have to start searching for the source of the problem manually, one ceiling panel at a time.
 

SmartBuilding-AR-BIM-Preview_HoloLens_750x563px

After directly localizing the fault with the mixed-reality glasses, the next step lies in fixing the problem as quickly as possible. In a single gesture, the facility manager can connect with the manufacturer of the product. The expert can directly see what the technical facility manager sees in a video call and adopt the same perspective on the source of the problem. In many cases, these are familiar problems that an expert can identify at first glance, says Däscher. «The specialist gives the in-house technician instructions on how to fix the problem in two or three simple steps. If a part is defective, they can order the material right away with a simple gesture.» 

 

Experten-Videocall-Hololens_750x563px

Greater efficiency and lower costs

Even without specialist knowledge, the use of augmented reality makes it possible to quickly forge ahead to the source of the problem in a targeted manner, with remote assistance saving the costs associated with deploying experts. According to Däscher’s estimates, deployments without AR can easily cost five times as much. 

For companies in construction, increasing efficiency is particularly appealing, says the qualified electrical engineer. «When it comes to digitization, there is still a lot of room for improvement.» In contrast, other industries have a much higher degree of automation. 

 

FM-collaboration-effizient_750x563px

Däscher points out how important it is to incorporate building management into the planning process at an early stage. «The construction phase of a building, which takes about two years, is followed by a 98-year operating phase.» While the investment costs amount to about 20% of the total costs, the operating costs of a building add up to around 80%, he claims. In other words: Optimizing the operating costs is key. «Investors should pay attention to this», Däscher emphasizes. Unfortunately, this mentality is still relatively rare. Many investors prioritize short-term profits, focusing on the construction phase.


Smart Building Special
Sunrise Joint Innovation Days

  • Do you want to take advantage of the opportunities 5G and augmented reality have to offer or find out how this innovative Builcon product can simplify facility management? Then register for the free webinar on Smart Building and get inspired by specific application examples and exciting industry insights. Tap into Switzerland’s innovative ecosystem and discover the possibilities of networked construction sites and smart buildings.
  •  

>> Register for the webinar now

Sunrise Business Connectivity allgemeine Funktionsweise

«Innovation always emerges through experience»

5G and IoT are prerequisites for innovative applications like the one developed by Builcon. There is generally no connectivity on construction sites, and the roofs and basements of completed buildings are no exception either. If you rely on 5G or another appropriate wireless standard for isolated interior rooms, you can count on excellent data transmission. Anytime and anywhere. 

With Sunrise and UPC, Builcon can trust in partners who have devoted themselves to promoting pioneering projects in the areas of 5G and IoT. «It’s great that Sunrise and UPC are willing to advance new digitization projects within the framework of the Joint Innovation Center (JIC).» One can feel the open and casual culture at the telecommunications company, according to Däscher. «This collaboration is inspiring for both sides.»
 

Innovation-Meeting-Builcon-Sunrise_750x563px

«Together with Sunrise and UPC, we came up with the idea of offering live experiences of our AR technology at the JIC», says Däscher. It gives Builcon a great platform. A playground. «Of course, it’s a highlight for us to be allowed to showcase our product at the Joint Innovation Center», he says. After all, innovation always emerges through experience. «If you restrict yourself to developing your ideas on paper, you will never be able to incorporate all aspects.» The young entrepreneur is an advocate of moving on to prototyping early on. One of the many advantages of this approach is that it allows you to get feedback from potential customers and ecosystem partners in the initial stages. «You find out straight away whether or not an idea has potential.»
 

Builcon_Hololense-Lucas-Daescher_750x563px

Around 20% to 30% of construction companies are currently taking advantage of the benefits of BIM. A growing trend. Däscher believes that this number will move towards 100% over the coming years. «At the latest following the generational shift, the digital mentality will be firmly rooted in the minds of everyone involved.»
 


Sunrise and UPC enable digital innovation

Telecommunications form an important component of smart buildings. The number of built-in sensors is growing. More and more BIM applications are integrating information on heating, ventilation, climate, sanitary facilities, electronics and data networks. Sensor data and digital building twins serve as the foundation of mixed-reality applications. And technology standards such as 5G and IoT are prerequisites for the breakthrough of pioneering projects. 

High bandwidths for large quantities of data and fast data transmission in real time considerably boost the development of augmented and virtual reality applications in construction. This benefits both the construction phase as well as the operating phase (facility management). If connectivity is viewed as a holistic, strategic function, comparable to planning water or electrical connections, it is possible to avoid a «proliferation of access technology» and expensive retrofitting. 

Sunrise and UPC help the property industry provide the necessary connectivity and support innovative companies such as Builcon in connecting the digital and the real world. 

 

>> Book a JIC Tour

 

More Smart Building Stories

Never miss out on innovation news again 

Would you like to receive regular updates on data-driven innovation? Just register for our newsletter.

 

Salutation
Data privacy *
Our awards
Contact us

Send us an e-mail

We will get back to you as soon as possible

Send e-mail

Édifices transparents

Une startup de St-Gall change la donne

 

20.5.2021 | Auteur : Dieter Boller | Images : Sunrise, Builcon

Les applications de réalité mixte permettent d’augmenter considérablement la productivité sur les chantiers ainsi que celle du Facility Management. La startup suisse Builcon change la donne dans le secteur de la construction à travers la réalité augmentée, le Building Information Modeling et la 5G.

LLucas Däscher nous accueille au sein du 5G Joint Innovation Center (JIC) de Sunrise et Huawei à Opfikon. Il est sur le point de présenter en direct à de potentiels clients et partenaires commerciaux sa dernière innovation dans le domaine de la visualisation des installations techniques du bâtiment.

Däscher est le fondateur et directeur de Builcon, une startup saint-galloise spécialisée dans les bâtiments intelligemment conçus et connectés. «Dans tous nos projets, nous aspirons à proposer le plus grand confort possible et à utiliser les ressources de manière judicieuse», explique-t-il. Ses idées inspirent les architectes, les constructeurs ainsi que les investisseurs. En plus de son activité principale – la planification de projets de construction –, lui et son équipe prennent parfois le temps de faire une pause, de réfléchir et de faire avancer des projets innovants. «De nombreuses petites entreprises se contentent de couper du bois», déclare Däscher. «Nous prenons également le temps d’aiguiser la hache.»
 

Lucas-Daescher_Builcon-Portrait2_750x563px

Des outils numériques pour le Facility Management

C’est durant l’une de ces sessions qu’est née l’idée d’utiliser la réalité augmentée (Augmented Reality, AR) pour le Facility Management, en misant sur le principe du «bâtiment transparent». En combinant les données issues du Building Information Modeling (BIM) et un casque de réalité mixte affichant des projections 3D interactives dans l’environnement immédiat de l’utilisateur, la gestion des bâtiments peut être considérablement simplifiée. L’utilisateur peut en quelque sorte voir l’emplacement des lignes électriques, des chemins de câbles et des conduits à travers les murs. La modélisation BIM du bâtiment est enregistrée sur un serveur et peut être consultée en temps réel grâce à la 5G. «Grâce au casque, le Facility Manager peut consulter les données des capteurs affichées en temps réel via l’AR dans son champ de vision», explique Däscher. Par exemple, il peut voir à quel endroit du plafond se trouve une vanne de chauffage défectueuse et ainsi ouvrir la dalle de plafond la plus proche, de manière ciblée et sans connaissances préalables afin d’accéder directement à la source du dysfonctionnement. 

Builcon-Testingphase_AR-FM_750x563px

Sans cette technologie, le Facility Manager devrait d’abord retrouver les plans physiques, classés quelque part dans un dossier fédéral, voire peut-être demander les documents à l’installateur qui avait réalisé les travaux. Si cette méthode ne fonctionne pas, il devrait chercher manuellement la source du problème, en retirant une par une toutes les dalles du plafond.
 

SmartBuilding-AR-BIM-Preview_HoloLens_750x563px

Une fois le dysfonctionnement localisé à l’aide du casque de réalité mixte, il est primordial de résoudre le problème le plus rapidement possible. Le Facility Manager peut appeler le fabricant du produit en visioconférence d’un simple geste de la main. Il partage ainsi avec lui son champ de vision: l’expert visualise alors la source du dysfonctionnement du même point de vue que le Facility Manager. Selon Däscher, dans de nombreux cas, il s’agit de problèmes connus qu’un expert peut identifier d’un simple coup d'œil. «Le spécialiste fournit des instructions au technicien du bâtiment afin de résoudre le problème en deux ou trois étapes simples. Si une pièce est défectueuse, le matériel peut être commandé immédiatement avec une simple confirmation manuelle.»  
 

Experten-Videocall-Hololens_750x563px

Efficacité améliorée à moindres coûts

L’utilisation de la réalité augmentée permet, même sans connaissances particulières, d’accéder rapidement et de manière ciblée à la source du dysfonctionnement et, grâce à la Remote Assistance, de s’épargner le recours à des experts. Selon les estimations de Däscher, les interventions sans AR coûtent facilement cinq fois plus cher.  

L’ingénieur électricien soutient que les entreprises du secteur du bâtiment sont particulièrement intéressées par une meilleure efficacité. «Dans ce domaine, nous disposons encore d’une grande marge de manœuvre en matière de numérisation.» Contrairement à d’autres branches, qui sont déjà extrêmement automatisées. 

FM-collaboration-effizient_750x563px

Däscher souligne à quel point il est essentiel d’intégrer la gestion des bâtiments à un stade précoce de la planification. «La phase de construction d’un bâtiment, qui dure environ deux ans, est suivie d’une phase d’exploitation de 98 ans.» Alors que les coûts d’investissement représentent environ 20% des dépenses totales, les coûts d’exploitation d’un bâtiment en constituent environ 80%», poursuit-il. En d’autres termes: l’optimisation doit porter sur les coûts d’exploitation. «Les investisseurs doivent y prêter attention», souligne Däscher. Malheureusement, c’est encore très rarement le cas. Pour de nombreux investisseurs, le profit à court terme, et donc la phase de construction, est au premier plan.
 


Smart Building Special

Sunrise Joint Innovation Days

  • Vous souhaitez également découvrir les avantages de la 5G combinée à la réalité augmentée et de quelle manière l’innovation de Builcon simplifie le Facility Management? Inscrivez-vous au webinaire gratuit Smart Building et laissez-vous inspirer par des exemples d’applications concrets et des informations intéressantes sur ce secteur. Profitez de l'accès à l’écosystème innovant en Suisse et explorez les possibilités en matière de chantiers connectés et de bâtiments intelligents.

>> S’inscrire au webinaire maintenant

Joint Innovation Center Sunrise


«L’innovation naît toujours de l’expérience»

La 5G et l’IoT sont indispensables à la mise en œuvre d’innovations telles que celles de Builcon. Pourtant, on constate souvent l’absence de connectivité sur les chantiers, mais également sur les toits et dans les sous-sols des bâtiments terminés. À l’inverse, quiconque mise sur la 5G ou sur les normes de téléphonie sans fil adaptées aux espaces intérieurs isolés peut compter sur une excellente transmission des données. À tout moment et partout.

Avec Sunrise et UPC, Builcon est soutenue par des partenaires qui se sont engagés à promouvoir des projets pionniers dans le domaine de la 5G et de l’IoT. «C’est formidable que Sunrise et UPC soient prêtes à promouvoir de nouveaux projets de numérisation dans le cadre du Joint Innovation Center (JIC).» Chez cet opérateur, on sent que la culture est ouverte et détendue. «Cette collaboration nous inspire mutuellement.»
 

Innovation-Meeting-Builcon-Sunrise_750x563px

«Aux côtés de Sunrise et UPC, nous avons eu l’idée de rendre tangible notre technologie AR au sein du JIC», explique Däscher. Builcon bénéficie ainsi d’une excellente plateforme.  Un terrain de jeu. «Pouvoir présenter notre innovation au sein du Joint Innovation Center constitue bien entendu un moment fort», dit-il. Après tout, l’innovation ne naît vraiment qu’une fois mise en pratique. «Si vous développez vos idées uniquement sur papier, vous ne pourrez jamais inclure tous les aspects.» Le jeune entrepreneur est convaincu qu’il faut commencer le prototypage le plus tôt possible. L’un des nombreux avantages est que l’on peut ainsi recevoir des retours de la part d’éventuels clients et de partenaires au sein de l’écosystème dès le début. «De cette manière, il est possible de savoir immédiatement si une idée a du potentiel ou non.» 
 

Builcon_Hololense-Lucas-Daescher_750x563px

À l’heure actuelle, environ 20 à 30% des entreprises en bâtiment exploitent les avantages du BIM. Et cette tendance est à la hausse. Däscher estime que cette proportion atteindra 100% dans les années à venir. «Avec le changement de génération, la mentalité numérique sera fermement ancrée dans l’esprit de toutes les parties impliquées.»
 


Sunrise et UPC rendent possibles les innovations numériques

Les télécommunications constituent un élément important des bâtiments intelligents. Le nombre de capteurs intégrés augmente. De plus en plus d’applications BIM intègrent des informations concernant le chauffage, la ventilation, la climatisation, les installations sanitaires et électriques ainsi que les réseaux de données. Les données fournies par les capteurs et les jumeaux numériques de bâtiments constituent la base des applications de réalité mixte. Les normes technologiques telles que la 5G et l’IoT fournissent les conditions nécessaires à l’avènement de projets pionniers. 

Les bandes passantes élevées permettent l’envoi de grandes quantités de données et la transmission rapide de celles-ci en temps réel. Elles donnent un véritable coup de pouce au développement d’applications de réalité augmentée et virtuelle dans le secteur de la construction. Ces technologies présentent de nombreux avantages, tant pour la phase de construction que pour la phase d’exploitation (Facility Management). Si l’on considère la connectivité avec une approche stratégique globale, comparable à la planification des raccordements d’eau ou d’électricité, il est possible d’éviter une «prolifération irraisonnée des technologies d’accès» et des modernisations coûteuses.

Sunrise et UPC aident le secteur immobilier à fournir la connectivité adaptée et permettent aux entreprises innovantes telles que Builcon de relier le numérique au monde réel. 

>> Réservez votre visite du JIC

 

Plus de Smart Building Stories

Ne manquez plus les news sur l’innovation 

Vous souhaitez être régulièrement informé des innovations basées sur les données?
Il vous suffit pour cela de vous abonner à notre Newsletter.

 

Salutation
Protection des données *
Nos récompenses – faites-nous confiance
Contactez-nous

Écrivez-nous

Nous vous recontacterons rapidement

Envoyer un e-mail