5G enables an enhanced fan experience in the “Smart Stadium” – and much more

What began at FC Basel 1893 in 2019 with the idea of an enhanced fan experience and the “Smart Stadium” partnership with Sunrise is now entering the active phase. The Sunrise CamCheck is the first innovation in St. Jakob-Park and heralds a new age in entertainment and elite sport. Thanks to the 5G network and Wi-Fi infrastructure from Sunrise, the “Joggeli” is becoming a driver of innovation for FC Basel 1893 and for Swiss football. 




The FC Basel 1893 eliminates missed moments with the Sunrise CamCheck

The fans are chanting cautiously, 67 minutes in, the score is 2:2. The game has slowed, time to hit the bathroom. You’ve just reached the urinal as you hear hammering battle cries and roaring cheers. Shoot... missed the goal! Everyone knows these moments and they can really be frustrating, rightfully so. This annoyance is no more at FC Basel 1893 home games – thanks to CamCheck, the first “Smart Stadium” innovation in Swiss football. 

 

 



Mixed reality worlds advance

Nine out of ten people in Switzerland own a smartphone. Anyone who visits a sporting or entertainment event is looking for experiences that stand out from what they’re used to. Organizers and clubs are increasingly under pressure. The market is mobilized. So it’s only a matter of time as to when and how real and digital worlds will converge. So-called “mixed reality” or immersive applications, to be used with goggles, tablets or smartphones, are finding their way into our entertainment programming – including in major sports stadiums in Switzerland. 

 

 




Gone are the days when fans sat on wooden benches behind the white line and could pat their idols on the back. New forms of fan loyalty are therefore paramount among clubs. FC Basel 1893 recognized this trend early on and has now implemented the first vision of the “Smart Stadium” partnership. Players and fans are getting even closer – digitally.

Using the “CamCheck” for digital success 

Nothing beats the emotions that you can experience together live in the stadium. With the Sunrise CamCheck, FC Basel 1893 is now presenting its fans with a complementary experience in Switzerland's largest stadium. The trick: In the FCB app, every second of the game can be followed live from four different camera settings. Thanks to Instant Replay, app users in the stadium can rewind a few minutes or play scenes in slow motion, allowing them to decide which moments they want to watch again. This turns one’s own smartphone into a personal control room. The CamCheck is available to all spectators in St. Jakob-Park throughout the entire game.

 

 




The starting point was the “Smart Stadium” partnership between FC Basel 1893 and Sunrise, launched in July 2019, a joint vision for new fan experiences and high-performance network technologies from Sunrise. The CamCheck is the first innovation in the traditional club’s digital strategy and forms the cornerstone for further applications in the intelligently integrated stadium. 

In the beginning, there was 5G 

But how can the new 5G cellular standard be used in an entrepreneurial way? The idea of transmitting huge amounts of data with very low latency, i.e., almost in real time, fueled the imagination of both partners. 

 

“The central finding of our innovation team: A stadium offers
incredible potential for data-based applications. This is also
becoming increasingly important for sports clubs. We focus on
new fan-experiences.”

Alexander Lehrmann, Director New Business Development & IoT Sunrise Communications AG

 

One of the largest in-house assets of FCB are the live camera feeds at home games. This creates huge amounts of data that can barely be transmitted with conventional technology. This is an ideal playground for new applications that rely on the best Sunrise network. 

From stadium-only Wi-Fi through 5G to the “Smart Stadium”

The new LAN and Wi-Fi infrastructure in “Joggeli” offers high-speed access in the form of electrical and optical ports, with a speed of up to 10 Gbit/s, to which Ultra HD cameras, screens, sensors and other devices can be connected.

Additionally, 5G indoor coverage will be available throughout the stadium to provide users with seamless, high-quality connectivity while using mobile phones and other end devices. The fact that new collaborative solutions were introduced for the FCB office along the way also simplified project implementation, even under COVID-19 restrictions.

After almost 18 months of development work, 3700 technician hours and a smooth collaborative process, the first of several planned viewer experiences is now ready to digitally enrich the world of sports.

FC Basel 1893 is ready for the football experience of tomorrow

5G enables ultra-fast connections, huge data volumes, zero delays and the ability to serve a very large number of end devices. Ideal for applications such as virtual reality, augmented reality with integrated players and live data displays or live broadcasts of scrimmages without expensive stadium technology. FC Basel 1893's digital drawer is filled to the brim with promising plans and ideas.

 

 

 

The stadium of the future can do even more

The “Smart Stadium” promises endless possibilities for fan loyalty. And a football club relies on economic efficiency too, of course. So the efficient administration of the stadium is another key to success. Self-maintaining fields, automated ordering processes in catering or camera-controlled security systems are just a few examples of new applications.

Food stands use data-based forecast models and not only avoid food waste, but also increase efficiency through automated supply chains. Beer, bratwurst or personalized merchandising items can be paid for and ready to be picked up at the push of a button, for the spectators’ increased convenience.

 

“FC Basel 1893 fans have a lot to look forward to. The first 5G
stadium offers completely new football experiences
around the home games of FC Basel 1893. Football
remains the focus of attention. But technologies like
5G and IoT enable new services with real added
value for our fans. The match day experiences in
St. Jakob Park will be unique and more varied. We 
are working on this together with Sunrise.”

Frank Schaffner, Director Digital FC Basel 1893

 

Novel approaches to the transmission of exclusive content are also conceivable, e.g., through 360° VR streaming. Mobile broadcasting or advertising formats – a kind of Netflix for sporting events – could represent new business opportunities for clubs. If sensor- and camera-based, real-time data is combined with historical information, entry controls can be optimized, which in turn relieves security personnel. IoT-controlled energy supply for lighting, ventilation or heating ensures greater sustainability.

Technologies such as 5G or the Internet of Things (IoT) fuel the prospects of economic success for stadium operators and sports clubs. Some approaches are still only visions for the future. The way there begins, as so often is the case, with the first small steps.

More information on CamCheck can be found here on the FC Basel 1893 website. 

 

 

More topics around innovative technologies​

Our awards – trust us

 Are you interested in your own “Smart Stadium” innovations?

We would be happy to advise you individually to find the best business solution for you.

*Note: All fields are mandatory

Newsletter
Privacy policy *

La 5G permet de diversifier l’expérience des fans dans le «Smart Stadium» - et bien plus encore

Le projet lancé en 2019 par FC Basel 1893 avec l'idée d'améliorer l'expérience des fans et de créer un partenariat «Smart Stadium» avec Sunrise entre maintenant dans sa phase active. Le CamCheck de Sunrise est la première innovation au Parc Saint-Jacques et annonce une nouvelle ère dans le domaine du divertissement et du sport de haut niveau. Grâce au réseau 5G et à l’infrastructure Wi-Fi de Sunrise, le Parc Saint-Jacques, surnommé «Joggeli», va devenir un moteur d’innovation pour le FC Basel 1893 et le football suisse. 




Avec le CamCheck de Sunrise, ne manquez plus aucun moment fort du FC Basel 1893

Chants de fans en sourdine, 67e minute, le score est de 2:2. Le jeu patine. C’est le bon moment pour se soulager. À peine arrivé à l’urinoir, les cris s’intensifient, bientôt remplacés par des acclamations tonitruantes. Mince... J’ai raté un but! Tout le monde connaît ces moments très énervants. Heureusement, ce n’est désormais plus qu’un mauvais souvenir et l’on peut profiter tranquillement des matchs à domicile du FC Basel 1893, grâce au CamCheck, la première innovation «Smart Stadium» dans le football suisse.

 

 



La progression de l’univers «mixed reality»

Neuf Suisses sur dix possèdent un smartphone. Toute personne qui assiste à un événement sportif ou de divertissement est à la recherche de nouvelles expériences. Les prestataires et les clubs sont soumis à une pression croissante, le marché est mobilisé. Ce n’est donc qu’une question de temps pour savoir quand et comment les mondes réel et numérique vont fusionner. Les applications dites de réalité mixte («mixed reality»), ou immersives, qui sont utilisées avec des lunettes, des tablettes ou des smartphones, trouvent leur place dans notre programme de divertissement – également dans les grands stades en Suisse. 

 

 




L’époque où les fans pouvaient s’asseoir sur des bancs en bois derrière la ligne blanche et tapoter l’épaule de leurs idoles est révolue. Les nouvelles formes de fidélisation des supporters sont donc une priorité pour les clubs. Le FC Basel 1893 a rapidement identifié cette tendance et a concrétisé sa vision initiale du partenariat «Smart Stadium». Les joueurs et les fans deviennent ainsi encore plus proches grâce au numérique.
 

Le succès numérique avec le CamCheck 

Rien ne vaut les émotions que l’on peut partager avec les autres spectateurs, en direct dans le stade. Avec le CamCheck de Sunrise, le FC Basel 1893 offre désormais à ses fans une expérience supplémentaire dans le plus grand stade de Suisse. Le summum: dans l’app FCB, chaque scène du match jeu peut être suivie en direct sous quatre angles de caméra différents. Grâce à la fonction Instant Replay, les utilisateurs de l’app présents dans le stade peuvent revenir en arrière de quelques minutes ou visionner au ralenti et décider quelles occasions de jeu ils veulent revoir. Votre smartphone devient alors votre centre de contrôle personnel. Le CamCheck est disponible pour tous les spectateurs au Parc Saint-Jacques pendant toute la durée du match.

 

 




Le point de départ a été le partenariat «Smart Stadium» lancé en juillet 2019 entre le FCB et Sunrise, une vision commune qui associe de nouvelles expériences pour les fans avec les technologies de réseau haute performance de Sunrise. Le CamCheck est la première innovation dans la stratégie numérique du club traditionnel et constitue une étape clé pour d’autres applications dans le stade intelligent et connecté. 
 

Au commencement était la 5G 

Comment la nouvelle génération de communication mobile 5G peut-elle être exploitée dans le monde de l’entreprise? L’idée de transmettre d’énormes quantités de données avec une très faible latence, c’est-à-dire presque en temps réel, a enflammé l’imagination des deux partenaires. 

 

«Le constat de notre équipe d’innovation: un stade offre un
potentiel incroyable pour exploiter les
données. Cela devient également de plus en plus important
pour les clubs sportifs. Nous nous concentrons sur de nouveaux
mondes d'expérience pour les fans.»

Alexander Lehrmann, Director New Business Development & IoT Sunrise Communications AG

 

L’un des plus grands atouts internes du FC Basel 1893 sont les diffusions en direct des matchs à domicile. Il en résulte d’énormes quantités de données qui peuvent difficilement être transférées avec des technologies conventionnelles. C’est donc le terrain de jeu idéal pour les nouvelles applications qui utilisent le meilleur réseau de Sunrise. 
 

«Smart Stadium»: Wi-Fi dans le stade et 5G

La nouvelle infrastructure LAN et Wi-Fi du «Joggeli» offre un accès haut débit sous la forme de ports électriques et optiques avec des débits allant jusqu’à 10 Gbit/s auxquels peuvent être connectés des caméras, moniteurs, capteurs et autres appareils Ultra HD. 

En parallèle, la solution de couverture 5G indoor sera disponible dans tout le stade afin de fournir aux utilisateurs une connectivité fluide à partir des téléphones mobiles et autres terminaux avec la meilleure qualité possible. Par ailleurs, les nouvelles solutions de collaboration introduites pour le siège du FCB ont simplifié la mise en œuvre des projets malgré les restrictions dues au coronavirus.

Après presque 18 mois de développement, 3700 heures de support technique et une coopération efficace, la première de nombreuses autres nouveautés prévues pour les spectateurs est maintenant prête à enrichir le monde du sport grâce aux technologies numériques.
 

Le FC Basel 1893 est prêt pour les expériences de football de demain

La 5G permet des connexions ultra-rapides, la transmission d’énormes quantités de données avec des temps de latence hyper-courts et la possibilité de desservir un très grand nombre de terminaux. Idéale pour des applications telles que la réalité virtuelle, la réalité augmentée avec des joueurs en réseau et l’insertion de données en direct ou la diffusion en direct de matchs d’entraînement sans devoir utiliser l’équipement coûteux du stade. Et dans les tiroirs du FC Basel 1893, il y a encore beaucoup d’autres idées et projets prometteurs.

 

 

Le stade du futur peut faire encore plus 

Le «Smart Stadium» promet des possibilités infinies de fidélisation des supporters. Et bien sûr, un club de football met aussi l’accent sur la rentabilité. L’efficacité de la gestion du stade est donc également un facteur de réussite. Les pelouses autosurveillées, les processus de commande automatisés dans le secteur de la restauration ou les systèmes de sécurité contrôlés par caméra ne sont que quelques exemples de nouvelles applications.

Les stands de nourriture utilisent des modèles de prévision basés sur des données et permettent non seulement d’éviter le gaspillage alimentaire, mais aussi d’accroître l’efficacité grâce à des chaînes d’approvisionnement automatisées. Bières, saucisses ou articles de merchandising personnalisés peuvent être payés par simple pression d’un bouton et n’ont plus qu’à être collectés, ce qui est plus pratique pour le spectateur.

 

«Les fans du FC Basel 1893 peuvent se réjouir. Le premier stade
5G offre des expériences footballistiques totalement
nouvelles autour des matchs à domicile du
FC Basel 1893. Le football reste au centre de l'attention. Mais
des technologies comme la 5G et l'IdO permettent de
nouveaux services avec une réelle valeur ajoutée
pour nos fans. Les expériences des jours de match
dans le Parc Saint-Jacques seront uniques et plus
variées. Nous y travaillons avec Sunrise.»

Frank Schaffner, Director Digital du FC Basel 1893

 

On peut également imaginer de nouvelles approches pour la transmission de contenus exclusifs, par exemple sous forme de streaming VR 360°. La diffusion mobiles d’émissions et de publicité – une sorte de Netflix pour les événements sportifs – pourraient offrir de nouvelles opportunités commerciales aux clubs. En combinant des données en temps réel provenant de capteurs et de caméras avec des informations historiques, les contrôles d’accès peuvent être optimisés, ce qui réduit la charge de travail du personnel de sécurité. En contrôlant au moyen de l’IoT l’alimentation énergétique pour l’éclairage, la ventilation ou le chauffage, on contribue à une gestion durable des ressources. 

Les technologies telles que la 5G ou l’Internet des objets (IoT) alimentent les perspectives de succès économique des exploitants de stades et des clubs sportifs. Beaucoup de projets sont encore en phase de gestation, mais comme souvent, le chemin vers de grands accomplissements commence par des petits pas.

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations sur le CamCheck ici sur le site du FC Basel 1893. 

 

 

Autres thèmes concernant les technologies innovantes

Nos récompenses – faites-nous confiance

 

 Vous aimeriez lancer vos propres innovations «Smart Stadium»?

Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous conseiller personnellement pour une solution Business optimale.

 

*Note : Tous les champs du formulaire sont obligatoires

Newsletter
Privacy policy *